??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband NBN 100 (Speed Pack 4)

Optus Broadband NBN 100 (Speed Pack 4)

1.7 from 43 reviews

Reviews

1.7

43 reviews
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(32)
  • Value for Money
    1.9 (39)
  • Transparency
    1.8 (38)
  • Customer Service
    1.5 (40)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (45%) · No (55%)
Previous
Next

Do not go with Optus

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers
N.Smith

N.SmithPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Getting good speeds and customer service was excellent recently

published

Checked my NBN speed recently and my 100Mbps NBN service was getting 110Mbps. Other checks showing 105Mbps. I also had an issue with my Fetch box and Optus very promptly sent me a replacement unit. My old Fetch box got deactivated a bit prematurely but that was because the courier only delivered one part of the new Fetch box package and marked the delivery of new Fetch box as complete so Optus deactivated the old Fetch box expecting me to connect up new Fetch box. Cannot blame Optus. I have been overall pleasantly surprised with the positive experience.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Billy

BillyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Hopeless all round. Avoid

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateJanuary 2016
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband NBN 100 (Speed Pack 4) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ray

RaySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Advertised speeds and price are better than competitors. But the 4g backup doesn't work

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJune 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
Leah

LeahMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Do not go with Optus!!

published

The worst customer service i have ever experienced!!!!!! We recently moved house and requested relocation of our NBN connection, however a month in our new place and the internet is NOT working!!

We have called Optus multiple times. Every time i call no one knows anything about my request, they repeatedly stuff up the request, tell me they will send a technician (who never comes) and i end up spending half my time on hold while Optus try and come up with some crap excuse, yet claim they do value their customers. The vicious cycle never ends - DO NOT go with Optus! I wish there was an option for no star, because a one star is far too generous.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
See all answers

Worst people I have had to deal with

published

It took 4 months to get NBN installed as they kept cancelling and sending the wrong information. No one called me. I was constantly chasing them and put on to multiple representatives. A lot of them dont have the knowledge and at one point I had to help a sales person navigate their own website as they couldn't find the plan i wanted. I had it for 1 week and had nothing but problems.
They put me on NBN 50 when i requested NBN 100.
NBN 100 had 400+ping in peak times and some nights had download speeds of 25Mbps. I wasn't able to live stream or play any games online. I had to contact the ombudsmen regularly.

Joke of a company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJuly 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
I used to Belong

I used to BelongSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

It's 2020 and there's no Spam filter on Optusnet email accounts

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateDecember 2006
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Michael000

Michael000

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Poorest Customer Service

published

I have had Optus internet now for many years and have to say, their customer service is by far the worst of any service supplier I have dealt with. Truly broken

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Reliable NBN (HFC).

published

In this working from home environment I upgraded my plan from Speed pack 3 (NBN50) to Speed pack 4 (NBN100) which I've been on for 3 weeks.

I test my connection regularly (odd habit) and speed has gone from 47/19 to 93/37, pretty much all day every day. The NBN modem has been reset once in the past 2 years (turned out Optus had a major outage). I find Optus NBN very reliable other than some slower upload speeds during the height of COVID19.

I've been with Optus for over 20yrs on cable and now NBN and would only consider moving for a higher speed plan that Optus doesn't offer. Support can be a bit slow sometimes but I find using the online chat the best way to get things done.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateJanuary 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband NBN 100 (Speed Pack 4) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

If only there was a 0 star

published

(1) Connection was never active, and no technician ever contacted/came to connect the service
(2) Sent me a bill for $500 for connection and service
(3) Tried to resolve multiple ways (phone, email, messaging, fb messenger) with no success, only 2 hour wait times and ghosting

Enough said.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
See all answers
Mira

Mira

  • 2 reviews

SO BAD AND CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HORRIBLE

published

Connection is bad and we were ripped off with our deal. I stated inititally that we wanted NBN100 and then the guy signed us up to NBN 50 with fetch mighty. Optus didnt let us to change so I had to pay more to NBN100. Money scammers. Fetchy mighty also has taken 2 months to arrive and Optus does not want to reimburse us for the two months of no fetch mighty.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateMarch 2020
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Adam L.

Adam L.

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

PAID FOR NBN 100, NO UPGRADE RECEIVED

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Mike

Mike

  • 3 reviews

CUSTOMER SERVICE - A DISGRACE

published

It's actually an UNDERSTATEMENT. It's really a waste of everything detailing the events, let alone writing about it. This review (which I strongly believe the friggin company doesn't care about) is for other people who are searching about the company. Honestly, they should change the name to OpOUT. If ever you still decide to join in, pray that you don't encounter problems with your service.

Customer Service
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Richard Eastwood

Richard EastwoodGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Pathetic

published

We converted to the NBN with Optus 3 months ago (we were customers with them prior to conversion). The number of drop outs we have had since converting is ridiculous. Not sure what is going on but all we want is connectivity, all we get is drop our! What the hell is going on?

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Kaija

KaijaMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews

Worst part of moving alongside Origin

published

What a terrible experience. No customer service what so ever. No care and no commitment to delivering on time. We tried to connect nbn at our new build property 2 weeks ago. No matter how hard we’ve tried we still have gone without a connection for a week. I was told the modem was delayed due to the fact the company was hacked. I can’t believe you’d tell customers this! I work in communications and would never admit to this. So one week in our new home and still no connection. I’m currently on the phone - took 20mins to get through. I went with you due to bad experiences with Telstra but this is equally bad. You’re fortunate there’s a duopoly in this country. Avoid at all costs.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers
1 comment
Kaija
Kaija

And still no connection.. ridiculous. Or any response. Technician just didn’t show up and I get a text saying it’s rebooked for next week. Completely unacceptable.

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Optus Broadband NBN 100 (Speed Pack 4) compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Optus is horrendous

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateFebruary 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Optus leaves a bad taste in my mouth everytime.

published

You would think such a large company would have the resources to hand over privacy details to different departments, whether it's offshore call centers or not, so that valued customers don't have to repeat themselves several times when their patience is already running thin. A network outage leaves me (I work from home) with an option to go an collect a 50GB dongle from the nearest shop front but when they run out of allocated dongles (3 in stock usually by what the store person has told me) all they can offer me is a paid dongle stick which I would then be left to chase Optus for reimbursement and let's be realistic, they will probably try and force a credit instead. Would never recommend Optus to a friend or family.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateSeptember 2018
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Jake W.

Jake W.Hobart, TAS

speed pack is a rip off

published

Optus sold me a speed pack with the idea that i would have faster internet. as my NBN in into the node my speed pack should not have been sold to me.
Optus is a rip off. cant wait till my contract is over.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJuly 2018
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers

Useless and they don't care

published

Optus locked us in for a 2 year contract. Boy were we suckers. Signed up to a fetch tv deal, that they sent to the wrong address... Twice. Whoever received it activated it and Optus has tried to charge us ever since. It's been going on for 10 months and I make a call at lease once a month that results in promises of rectifying what should be an easy issue to resolve... The last call I made they cancelled the fetch tv box I am using and left the one at the wrong address activated. After I stated 'do not cancel serial number XXXX' several times. Still an ongoing issue. Couple that with the useless modem we got and it's safe to say we will never use Optus again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
Start DateJanuary 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Bernd

BerndSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Customer Support Disaster

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Start DateMay 2019
See all answers
Page 1 of 3
See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Optus Broadband NBN 100 (Speed Pack 4) but you can read 35 questions about Optus Broadband.

Get an answer from our members

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(447)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(410)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,327)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,116)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(65)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(58)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(363)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.