??!
1 photo
Optus Broadband NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)

Optus Broadband NBN 50 (Speed Pack 3)

1.4 from 90 reviews

See the Best Internet Service Providers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
3
4 star
4
3 star
4
2 star
7
1 star
72

Never buy Optus NBN or IINET NBN

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
See all answers

Decent speeds, bad customer service

published

Took 3 months to work after install but was nbns problem. A few issues early on but over all speed was good. Not many drop outs. Customer service sucks though

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
See all answers
Lennard ST

Lennard STPerth, WA

DO NOT USE OPTUS

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
See all answers

How is this company operating when it is a complete sham?

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2017
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers

Sonni

SonniMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

No stars

published

Have been a loyal customer for over 25yrs.. mobiles, landline and internet. Recently we have been forced to change to NBN.. waited a month for NBN tech, he was great hooked it all up and tested, everything was fine. Told us Optus will activate in around 24 hrs. Rang 24hrs later to be told there was an error in activation and will have to start again, another 48hrs.. waited 72 hrs and rang Optus again who tried to activate it remotely, no go. Have spent 3 hrs on the phone in 2 phone calls. Now we have to wait another 8 days for NBN to return, what a joke. Guessing they will arrive and fob it back to Optus, talk about being on the merry go round.. Wish I had read reviews before we started on this debacle :(

Connection TypeHFC (Cable)

vlceptor

vlceptorMelb, Victoria

  • 31 reviews
  • 33 likes

Service stinks, constantly slow, looking for another provider

published

Constant drop outs, upgraded to 50mb speed pack usually get close to 30mbs DL. Use a lot at night/early morning. It's 2am and my speed is usually at 2-8mbs DL + 15mb UP. Concentrate on DL speed, I rather have DL @ 40-45mb and 5mb UP.

Currently looking to change ISP, as I've been dealing with this crap since I've had NBN. I've been a Optus customer for over 20 years. I think it's time to change.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

KachinaA

KachinaASouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Never even got online

published

The in-store representatives will say anything for a sale. In the end Optus failed to deliver the modem and customer service would not help. Don't waste your time. Go with a more trustworthy company. It will be cheaper and better!

Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)

Peter

PeterGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

The worse network Optus never use it

published

I was a user of Optus. Optus is cheating with their cumstomer and not provide a better service like the others network ex.Lebara or Vodafone provide to their customers.
Optus network issues
1. V expensive and low data plans
2. V bad customers service
3. 28 days expires
000000000000 STAR for Optus

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeCapped Data
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers
chris2456

chris2456Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews

Good for everyday use and affordable

published

If you want a decent everyday NBN connection that doesn't cost the earth, then Optus is great. But if you are one to use it frequently with multiple users and do a lot of streaming, then invest in a decent connection otherwise you will hate it.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
See all answers
Adrien B.

Adrien B.Sydney, NSW

Optus: never ever again

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateOctober 2017
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

Danie G

Danie GGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Good consistent speed

published

Can’t complain. Good consistent speed. I don’t understand all the other one star reviews. I migrated from ADSL to the NBN in March this year. ADSL was terrible, dropped out consistently, unacceptable speed. NBN50 delivers it’s promised speed. Optus have always sorted out my issues in a timely manner.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2015
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
See all answers

Harbour over optus

Harbour over optusGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Crap service and no fix

published

Inability to understand english. 2 hour phone calls with 1.5 hours of shit music and 7 different people. Have issues go to the TIO. Typically useless. Change from optus inability to fix, understand and communicate other than polished scripted replies.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeCapped Data
Connection TypeWireless
See all answers

rajib k.

rajib k.Sydney, NSW

What a shameless service and company.

published

We are asking for NBN connection for our Perth office from June 2019, We have received a Router from Optus on 20th of June 2019. However, it's 9th of September 2019 but still no connection has been made yet.
After 2 month of follow up they said that there is no NBN connection for our office location.
Which is why, they offer us available business ADSL to connect. However, after spending hours in phone with Optus technical team still can't get our line connected.
They keep putting us in the hold for hours long and hang up for no reason.
So frustrating..
What a shameless service and company.
Extremely disappointing.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type12-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
See all answers

wayne

wayneperth

  • 11 reviews

Poor customer service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateMay 2016
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers
Surya N.

Surya N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Subpar modem

published

Optus advertised that they will give premium modem but they gave sagemcom modem which I never heard of. It is been just 8 days since I got connected and the modem frozen. Called technical support and they told me to reset the modem but it wouldn't reset. Finally he told that it is an issue with NBN and booked in a technician visit. But when I plugged in the Ethernet cable from nbn box to my laptop I got the internet.

Start DateAugust 2019
Adequate Speeds Yes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
See all answers
Mr L

Mr L

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Tired twice but went to tpg

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

Gaz

GazSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Absolute scam, one star to many

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers
1 comment
Gaz
Gaz

I chose Fibre to Node as connection type but i am not sure that is right, I do know that the connection from my house is Copper and that goes to the end of my street, if there was an Optic Fibre link there I am not aware of it.


Zero stars is too many

published

Please, in the name of all that is precious to you, please learn from my misfortune and use someone, anyone else. Do yourselves this small mercy and use any other provider and avoid Optus NBN at all costs.

Bad service, misinformation, lack of communication, ignoring of explicit requirements/requests and delay are just some of the qualities that have been displayed today by this organisation.

I gave them one star only because zero stars wasn’t possible. Please don’t think I’m exaggerating, I’m not. If anything I’m understating. Don’t make the mistake I did. Save yourselves, there is still time.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTC (Fibre to the Curb)
See all answers

The worst service in my entire life

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Start DateJuly 2019
Adequate Speeds No
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
See all answers

Helen

HelenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Rubbish ! Slow speeds and agents lie !

published

Plan state 50mbls download, get between 9-19; was informed by the tech support agent that it was because my bill was overdue by 2 days.
Then advised that 20 is a avg speed which in no way does a 50 plan make 20mbps acceptable
Now to wait 48 hrs for it to be fixed

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Adequate Speeds No
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
Connection TypeI don't know
See all answers

Page 1 of 5

See all Optus Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

BobB

BobBasked

Anyone out there with INDEPENDENT advice about 4G Home Broadband as compared with NBN?

No answers

BobB

BobBasked

Is it not true to say that nearly all the terrible reviews about NBN are the fault of NBN Co., not so much of the Service Providers (in this case Optus) ? In reading most reviews, it seems that the rollout of the NBN is just another example of a Labor Government's disasters, such as the "pink batts" debacle and the enormously wasteful "Building Education Revolution" (BER).

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Optus representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.