??!
1 photo
Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series

Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series

CS/CU-Z9RKR (2.5kW), CS/CU-Z12RKR (3.5kW), CS/CU-Z24RKR (7kW), etc...
4.2 from 150 reviews

Reviews

4.2

150 reviews
5
(82)
4
(41)
3
(11)
2
(4)
1
(12)
Previous
Next
TDD

TDD

  • 2 reviews

Faulty and Poor Service from Panasonic

published

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
Katie

KatieMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 6 reviews

Everything is great except the control

published

The heating is great with the fact that it heats outside before blowing hot air into the room eliminating being blasted by cold air in winter and the cooling is great! What annoys me is I have to reach up to the unit with the control to change it even with fresh batteries, my mothers unit did this too so maybe a control receiving panel issue idk

Purchased in March 2016 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$1,800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Katie. Thanks for taking the time to provide the feedback. Your remote should work. Please contact our customer service team on 132600 for further assistance.

JesseR

JesseRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

Low running costs excellent unit

published

Very pleased with my airconditioner. I set it to 24degrees and its effective, low running costs and looks good.
Im very pleased overall in the three years Ive owned mine. Excellent in everyway.

Purchased in August 2016 at private contractor for A$1,650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Jesse thank you for the great feedback and taking the time to let us know about how great your air con is after 3 years of use.

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Danny.i

Danny.iSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 12 reviews

Best Air conditioner I've owned

published

Could leave it on all night and all day and won't have any problems.
Would cool my apartment in under 4 minutes and would cool the immeadiate area instantly.
In any conditions this airconditioner would work well and the heat cycle worked great too.

Purchased in August 2017 at The Good Guys for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Poor
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Right and thank you for your positive feedback, we do appreciate you taking the time to share your review.

Thomas W.

Thomas W.Far North Queensland, QLD

Pumps cold air out

published

Such a fantastic air conditioner and so very quiet. I really love the anti-bacterial filter it has and it's a blessing to set the timer on before I wake up.

Purchased in September 2017 at Aspen Air for A$2,999.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Thomas, thank you for the feedback and taking the time to provide your positive review.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

J60913

J60913South East Queensland, QLD

  • 30 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very quiet, works efficently, great product

published

Installation was not a problem by our experienced tech, aircon works fantastic - usually use it only on cold during the hotter months, system is very impressive and super quiet. I'm super impressed with this system and have purchased another two for other areas.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive review and great feedback on your air conditioner.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

DDP

DDPGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 17 reviews

Works perfectly in Winter not used in Summer yet!

published

We bought our unit last year and used for winter to keep use cool. It takes a few minutes to warm up every time and makes our living room warm very quickly. I haven’t tried the cooking yet as I realised my apartment doesn’t need cooling because the old bricks apartment.
The internal unit doesn’t have much noises but the outdoor unit creates some noises when operating.
Purchased in Goodguys when it was on cash back offer! Good value, highly recommend!

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Thanks DDP for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide the feedback on your air conditioner.

MonkeyBaby

MonkeyBabyPerth, WA

  • 56 reviews

Quiet, cool, easy to use

published

Nice and cool for the size we've purchased
Easy to use
Quiet
Inverter is not overly loud
We've done a lot of research before purchasing this model and in the past we've just gone with Fujitsu which is still very reliable but for this price and reviews done, can't go wrong with this one.

1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi MonkeyBaby, thank you for taking the time to provide your 5 star review. We do appreciate the feedback and your review.

Andrew

AndrewPerth, WA

  • 10 reviews

Great for cooling not so good for heating

published

I like this 3.5kw system for cooling in summer its great and economical but doesnt heat up in winter properly would probably recommend it if your just going to use it for summer

Purchased in March 2015 at Harvey Norman for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Andrew thanks for the feedback, please contact our customer service team on 132600 who will try some options over the phone with you to ensure there are no issues with your air con with the heating result you mention.

Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John H.

John H.South East Queensland, QLD

Avoid tis model

published

Heap of junk, when it’s on cooling after a couple of hours starts to creek and crack,when it’s on heating you can’t even sleep makes that much creeking noise you have to turn it off.I have a 7kw model just as bad, have had new fan replacement was out balance there’s a fault with that model, avoid Panasonic.

Purchased in September 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi John, sorry to hear about your air conditioner, please contact us further to resolve this for you. 132600.

Hannah vu

Hannah vuIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Efficiency and quiet

published

Love our air conditioner. Have it installed in our bedroom, run smoothly , very quiet, warm up or cool down the room very quick and not cost us a lot of electricity to run. Highly recommend

Purchased in August 2018 at Domayne NSW, Warrawong for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Hannah, thank you for your very positive review on your air conditioner. It is great to see you are so happy with the features and are seeing the benefits of the low power consumption of the unit.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Alugra Drones

Alugra DronesSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Great air con

published

This A/C works great. It effectively cools the living room, kitchen and bedroom. It works nicely in extremely hot weather. The timer feature is good. It's powerful and so far it has no faults.

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
See all answers
1 comment
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Alugra thank you for taking the time to provide your very positive review. Hopefully your air con will also keep you nice and warm with this winter!

HaydenC

HaydenCPerth, WA

Nanoe-G has started making a squealing noise. Purchased from HarveyNorman 3 months ago, minimal use, quiet and effective

published

Aircon has been used for cooling only and nearly always when it has been running, we use the lowest fan speed as it cools our room very quickly, quietly and effectively.

The indoor unit has just started making a squealing/ bad squeaking noise and has got progressively louder (when running the unit two evenings in a row). However once the nanoe-G is switched off the noise completely stops, so this is obviously the problem.

This has been the first issue with the unit, but is definitely not a nice sound and feel this shouldn’t have happened when the unit has had so little use.

Apart from this, it is easy to use and the two separate off timer options are a handy feature.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$750.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
Brad Mc

Brad Mcsydney

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Super Quiet

published

Love this Air con, super quiet sometimes forget it is on. Very simple to use, heats well as well as cools very fast. Sometimes in the middle of winter the heating takes a little to start I think this is the way it should work. Installation was a half a day process. Best air con I have owned.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Melza

Melza

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great system

published

No complaints, works well, has an area of 3.5m x 11m to cover (open plan lounge-dining-kitchen). Im not a fan of the summer heat, so this thing is cranked up non-stop all day and all evening late into the night (sometimes if it's real hot, we leave it running all night too). Once you turn it on, it heats/cools quite quickly.
Easy to use, mum has a Panasonic too which is why i went for the same brand (hers is 18yo with no issues yet). Would definitely recommend it with a big thumbs up.

Date PurchasedSep 2013
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ryan N.

Ryan N.Melbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent AC!

published

We have installed this AC in our bedroom for about 1.5 years so far, using both in winter for heating and cooling in summer. This is a very quiet AC and works well. Heating and cooling both happens quickly, even our bedroom is fairly big. It's also very cost efficient. I don't have any negative thing to say about it!

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Mayday

MaydayNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Happy with my decision

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Trinity

TrinityBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Works perfectly

published

It's a good quality product and works really well! Can be just slightly noisy at night when you're trying to sleep but the sound doesn't bother anyone too much. Takes a reasonable amount of time to heat up or cool down the room. Purchased for many years and it has never malfunctioned. Works extremely well and Panasonic is a reliable brand.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Crappy Service from Panasonic

published

This was a good product till it works, Mine broke after 1 year from install and panasonic doesn't have parts locally, and they don't know when the parts arrives to Australia, their customer service is really crappy and never received call back though they promise to give updates.
I would never buy panasonic air conditioner.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
T West

T WestPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable and efficient

published

This air conditioner is reliable and efficient. I heat a one bedroom apartment within half an hour to a pleasant temperature. In summer, it is efficient to cool the apartment. Electricity bills do not increase drastically when I use the air conditioner for a few hours at a time during the cold or hot months.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Gina

Ginaasked

ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z18RKR (5kW)

Could you please advise why in heat mode, at times the unit doesn't respond to the remote? For example, I will have the unit running at 21 degrees on powerful mode. The room will heat up quickly, so I turn powerful mode off, expecting the unit to continue at my selected settings to maintain heat. I notice the system then blows out very low warm air and the room temperature drops below 21 (I bought a temperature gauge to check). I then turn the remote heat up to 23 but the unit just continues to blow low warm air. The remote will respond to all functions but the fan speed. The unit just continues to blow very light warm air.
To get the unit to respond, I have to either restart the unit or turn the heat up to 25 plus and then it seems to kick in and respond again. Once responding, the room temperature goes up and matches the unit
I am not sure what is going on and would love to know!
Thanks
Gina

1 answer
Katie
Katie

All I can advise is maybe your response panel needs fixing. That’s a part in the unit that takes the response from the control

Shotang

Shotangasked

ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series

Hello, I have the Z12RKR and the Z09RKR installed in the kids bedrooms 3 years ago. The first nights we used them they would not cool consistently. It would start off at a correct temp, then warm up over the night. We followed the instructions carefully. They were on cool mode, econavi off and fan on auto. After trying multiple combinations we were never able to get the rooms to stay at a constant temp. We rang the installer who advised that we shouldn't use auto, as it doesn't keep the room consistency cool, but to use a low fan setting. Which we have been successfully using since.

The other day I was cleaning the filters and noticed huge amounts of mould growing inside the unit. The last clean and service was conducted 15 months ago. I rang the installer who stated using low fan settings typically contributes to mould growing, and seemed to think it just needed a clean and service.

I feel like this is a no win situation if I follow what has been advised. What settings should I realistically be using to keep the unit clean and actually cooling at night? Has anyone else encountered this?
I feel auto at night should work when econovi is off?

I understand all units need regular servicing. However I cannot believe this amount of mould would grow in such a short amount of time unless something is wrong. None of our other brand of air conditioners we have purchased in our properties over the years have behaved like this. Thank-you.

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Shotang, thank you for your query. Mould build up is due to the environment. Running the unit on any particular mode will not add to this or remove it. We would recommend frequent cleaning of the filters, but also of the whole unit.
Auto will detect the temperature and the unit will ramp down accordingly, and when the temperature rises, turn back on. This is why it would have been suggested to use the product in manual mode, to have the unit consistently running the whole night.

We would recommend at the end of each summer running the unit on a heating cycle (if it isn't used on heat in winter) to dry up any stored moisture within the unit.

Keith

Keithasked

ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z12RKR (3.5kW)

Where to buy and price and who to install and how much?

1 answer
Panasonic
Panasonic Australia C.Panasonic

Hi Keith, thank you for your enquiry, the model you have mentioned is no longer available on the market, but we have a newer generation with many great functions and features. Please see all of the details here, including where you can purchase this unit. We also have a great app to ensure you are getting the right size air conditioner for the room, we highly recommend this prior to purchase of the unit. If you have any questions please reach out to our team on 132600 for further assistance.
https://www.panasonic.com/au/air-conditioning/residential/single-room-air-conditioning/premium-reverse-cycle-wall-mounted-split-system.html

Get an answer from our members and Panasonic representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.