??!
1 photo
Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series

Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter RKR Series

CS/CU-Z12RKR (3.5kW), CS/CU-Z15RKR (4.2kW), CS/CU-Z9RKR (2.5kW), CS/CU-Z18RKR (5kW), CS/CU-Z21RKR (6kW) and 2 more
4.2 from 145 reviews

Very quiet, works efficently, great product

Installation was not a problem by our experienced tech, aircon works fantastic - usually use it only on cold during the hotter months, system is very impressive and super quiet. I'm super impressed with this system and have purchased another two for other areas.

Purchased in October 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
1 comment
Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive review and great feedback on your air conditioner.

Works perfectly in Winter not used in Summer yet!

We bought our unit last year and used for winter to keep use cool. It takes a few minutes to warm up every time and makes our living room warm very quickly. I haven’t tried the cooking yet as I realised my apartment doesn’t need cooling because the old bricks apartment.
The internal unit doesn’t have much noises but the outdoor unit creates some noises when operating.
Purchased in Goodguys when it was on cash back offer! Good value, highly recommend!

Purchased in July 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Not Insulated
Room Type Living/Dining Area
1 comment
Thanks DDP for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide the feedback on your air conditioner.

Quiet, cool, easy to use

Nice and cool for the size we've purchased
Easy to use
Quiet
Inverter is not overly loud
We've done a lot of research before purchasing this model and in the past we've just gone with Fujitsu which is still very reliable but for this price and reviews done, can't go wrong with this one.

1 comment
Hi MonkeyBaby, thank you for taking the time to provide your 5 star review. We do appreciate the feedback and your review.

Great for cooling not so good for heating

I like this 3.5kw system for cooling in summer its great and economical but doesnt heat up in winter properly would probably recommend it if your just going to use it for summer

Purchased in March 2015 at Harvey Norman for $1,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Living/Dining Area
1 comment
Hi Andrew thanks for the feedback, please contact our customer service team on 132600 who will try some options over the phone with you to ensure there are no issues with your air con with the heating result you mention.

Avoid tis model

Heap of junk, when it’s on cooling after a couple of hours starts to creek and crack,when it’s on heating you can’t even sleep makes that much creeking noise you have to turn it off.I have a 7kw model just as bad, have had new fan replacement was out balance there’s a fault with that model, avoid Panasonic.

Purchased in September 2016 at Harvey Norman for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
1 comment
Hi John, sorry to hear about your air conditioner, please contact us further to resolve this for you. 132600.

Efficiency and quiet

Love our air conditioner. Have it installed in our bedroom, run smoothly , very quiet, warm up or cool down the room very quick and not cost us a lot of electricity to run. Highly recommend

Purchased in August 2018 at Domayne NSW, Warrawong for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom
1 comment
Hi Hannah, thank you for your very positive review on your air conditioner. It is great to see you are so happy with the features and are seeing the benefits of the low power consumption of the unit.

Great air con

This A/C works great. It effectively cools the living room, kitchen and bedroom. It works nicely in extremely hot weather. The timer feature is good. It's powerful and so far it has no faults.

Purchased in October 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom and Living/Dining Area
1 comment
Hi Alugra thank you for taking the time to provide your very positive review. Hopefully your air con will also keep you nice and warm with this winter!

Nanoe-G has started making a squealing noise. Purchased from HarveyNorman 3 months ago, minimal use, quiet and effective

Aircon has been used for cooling only and nearly always when it has been running, we use the lowest fan speed as it cools our room very quickly, quietly and effectively.

The indoor unit has just started making a squealing/ bad squeaking noise and has got progressively louder (when running the unit two evenings in a row). However once the nanoe-G is switched off the noise completely stops, so this is obviously the problem.

This has been the first issue with the unit, but is definitely not a nice sound and feel this shouldn’t have happened when the unit has had so little use.

Apart from this, it is easy to use and the two separate off timer options are a handy feature.

Purchased in December 2018 at Harvey Norman for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Good
Room Type Small Bedroom

Super Quiet

Love this Air con, super quiet sometimes forget it is on. Very simple to use, heats well as well as cools very fast. Sometimes in the middle of winter the heating takes a little to start I think this is the way it should work. Installation was a half a day process. Best air con I have owned.

Date PurchasedMar 2015

Great system

No complaints, works well, has an area of 3.5m x 11m to cover (open plan lounge-dining-kitchen). Im not a fan of the summer heat, so this thing is cranked up non-stop all day and all evening late into the night (sometimes if it's real hot, we leave it running all night too). Once you turn it on, it heats/cools quite quickly.
Easy to use, mum has a Panasonic too which is why i went for the same brand (hers is 18yo with no issues yet). Would definitely recommend it with a big thumbs up.

Date PurchasedSep 2013

Excellent AC!

We have installed this AC in our bedroom for about 1.5 years so far, using both in winter for heating and cooling in summer. This is a very quiet AC and works well. Heating and cooling both happens quickly, even our bedroom is fairly big. It's also very cost efficient. I don't have any negative thing to say about it!

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Happy with my decision

My unit is quiet. It is quick to both heat and cool. It has great star ratings. It installed quickly and easily into same place as other branded air con was with no install issues. Easy to use however i wish they had a sleep timer. Not really an issue but i always found it convenient to set my last air con for an hr to cool before going to sleep and if i woke up through the night too hot or cold could just press sleep knowing it will switch off but with this one you have to select an off time, not easy to do in the dark. Not a major issue but it would be a nice option. I set both on and off times for when i think i will need it and that works for me. As i said it is quick to cool, i live in a climate where geckos get into outdoor units and often destroy air conditioners, i have been advised the panasonic have overcome this by coating the components with silicone for protection. I have yet to find out if it works but was told this by a retailer and the installer, price wise its in the same category as other brands, all seem to have specials and i got mine through the installer, but as it turned out i could have got it cheaper through retail store. At this stage I will be replacing my others when required with panasonic as i feel i can rely on them. My other branded ones have all had warranty issues and then break down again, i have replaced them all with the same brand as i felt they were a good brand but i feel they are failing me now and the brand reputation isnt as good now so i am giving panasonic a go now. So far so good.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Works perfectly

It's a good quality product and works really well! Can be just slightly noisy at night when you're trying to sleep but the sound doesn't bother anyone too much. Takes a reasonable amount of time to heat up or cool down the room. Purchased for many years and it has never malfunctioned. Works extremely well and Panasonic is a reliable brand.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Crappy Service from Panasonic

This was a good product till it works, Mine broke after 1 year from install and panasonic doesn't have parts locally, and they don't know when the parts arrives to Australia, their customer service is really crappy and never received call back though they promise to give updates.
I would never buy panasonic air conditioner.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Reliable and efficient

This air conditioner is reliable and efficient. I heat a one bedroom apartment within half an hour to a pleasant temperature. In summer, it is efficient to cool the apartment. Electricity bills do not increase drastically when I use the air conditioner for a few hours at a time during the cold or hot months.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Fantastic air conditioner

Such a fantastic air conditioner and so very quiet. I really love the anti-bacterial filter it has and it's a blessing to set the timer on before I wake up. It heats up very quickly that I really don't need to have it running for very long. Great AC, highly recommend!

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Quiet AC

This is a fantastic AC. Is very quiet and works very well. Heating and cooling is great and comes on quick. Like all things the product is only half the battle. Get yourself a Air Conditioner installer and not an electrician that slaps in split systems, and you won't have any dramas.

Date PurchasedAug 2015

Avoid Panasonic Air Condition - Very noisy

The indoor unit makes cracking noises when operating in heat mode even when the unit is switched off! it seems like it is caused by expansion/contraction and due to low quality parts inside the unit it makes the sound as long as 20minutes after the unit is switched off!

I even asked for Panasonic service to check it out and they acknowledged that there isn't any thing they can do with that kind of sound.

I wouldn't suggest Panasonic air condition units to anybody.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Excellent Aircon

Made a right choice by choosing this aircon. It is quick in cooling with excellent energy saving ratings. Cooling is super fast as well as very comfortable and easy to use. The sleek design and beautiful make adds to the beauty of the house. Easy to clean, with many option on remote control to choose from.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Outdoor unit far too noisy

This model is one of the first series using R32 as refrigerant. I've been told by one aircon mechanic that the permanent 'mechanical' noise coming from the compressor is related to that. Measuring with my dB meter on one a very quiet night, the sound pressure (dB(A) level was about 7 dB higher than in the spec sheet (on quiet mode). Heating is worse than cooling. Even allowing for 2dB(A) tolerence, it's still far too high.Mind, 3dB difference is a doubling of the noise.
Panasonic (and the shop) were okay at first, sending someone to re-gas the units (I have a 5kW and a 2.5kW unit), but nothing changed. My request for a removal and refund, or exchange for a unit that meets the advertised specs fell on deaf ears. I'm not happy, and won't buy Panasonic again. I also consider action in the Fair Trading tribunal. Air conditioners from friends (e.g. Daikin, Mitsubishi, even Haier) I've being able to listen to are much quieter. Panasonic seems to have gone one step too far in making their products cheaper and cheaper.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

I have the 5kw and the unit takes 10 minutes to warm up (apparently normal) but the real frustration is that after blowing warm air for approx. 30 minutes the unit goes into some sort of sleep mode with a whirring/gurgling noise. Nothing I do gets the unit to start heating again - ive changes the modes and increased the temp but it just continues blowing the faintest amount of warm air out for over 1.5 hours while the room gets cold. Panasonic technician has come and said this is all “normal” including the ridiculously loud unit outside. Does anyone else think this sounds normal? Thanks Sam
1 answer
No, it's certainly not. 5 minutes warm-up would be (just) normal, certainly not that is stops heating after 30 minutes. This sounds much worse than my unit. It suggests to me that Panasonic has had a problem with early R32 units and won't admit to it. Since your case appears to be much more clear-cut than mine, I'll suggest to take it to Fair Trading and the tribunal if it has to be. If what you write is true, you'll win your case. Please keep me posted, I'm happy to toe your line in regards to noise issues.

I have the 8kw unit and am finding it slow to respond when switching to heat mode in the morning. It takes at least 10minutes to fire up. My previous model Panasonic is almost instant. Also some features such as the air swing are not activating and it seems to hunt around the set temperature. The unit was just installed. Any suggestions?
1 answer
It won't start until the air coming out of it is pretty warm, so perhaps your external unit is in a very cold place in the morning? You should check what settings you have turned on, as well, cos the Econavi and iAutoX are designed to adapt the temperature based on light/movement/... . The air swing should work as soon as air is flowing. If it isn't and you definitely have it set to Auto, then perhaps the unit is faulty.

How much does it cost to install?
2 answers
Was here when we bought the house sorryfrom Harvey norman geppx cross, quote 400 special, but I need extra 2 meter pipe (200) and plastic stand of 50, so 650.

Details

Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z12RKR (3.5kW)Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z15RKR (4.2kW)Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z9RKR (2.5kW)Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z18RKR (5kW)Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z21RKR (6kW)Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z24RKR (7kW)Panasonic ECONAVI Reverse Cycle Inverter CS/CU-Z28RKR (8kW)
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $1,949$2,149$1,699$2,649$2,899$3,249$4,199
Features Dehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control Dehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control Dehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control Dehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control Dehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control Dehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control Dehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Capacity3.5 kW4.2 kW2.5 kW5 kW6 kW7 kW8 kW
Heating Capacity 3.7 kW5.5 kW3.2 kW6 kW7.2 kW8 kW9 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 4 stars3 stars5 stars4 stars3 stars2.5 stars2 stars
Heating Energy Rating 5 stars2.5 stars5.5 stars4 stars3.5 stars3 stars2.5 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling 5 to 465 to 465 to 465 to 465 to 465 to 465 to 46
Operating Temperature for Heating -15 to +24-15 to +24-15 to +24-15 to +24-15 to +24-15 to +24-15 to +24
Indoor Unit Dimensions 296 x 870 x 236 mm296 x 870 x 236 mm296 x 870 x 236 mm296 x 1070 x 241 mm296 x 1070 x 241 mm296 x 1070 x 241 mm296 x 1070 x 241 mm
Indoor Weight9 kg9 kg9 kg12 kg12 kg12 kg12 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level46 dB47 dB42 dB44 dB47 dB49 dB50 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 542 x 780 x 289 mm695 x 875 x 320 mm542 x 780 x 289 mm695 x 875 x 320 mm695 x 875 x 320 mm695 x 875 x 320 mm999 x 940 x 340 mm
Outdoor Weight 33 kg46 kg33 kg49 kg53 kg53 kg70 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level65 dB62 dB62 dB62 dB67 dB68 dB73 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.