??!
1 photo
PD Comprehensive Car Insurance

PD Comprehensive Car Insurance

1.2 from 24 reviews

Car Insurance Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of car insurance would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

1.2

24 reviews
5
(1)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(22)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (19)
  • Transparency
    1.5 (13)
  • Customer Service
    1.4 (19)
Previous
Next
bretann

bretannMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 34 reviews

PD surely must be joking!

published

Not having heard of this company before their TV advert I thought I would get a Comprehensive Car Insurance quote for my BMW to compare it to the company I am with. Using the same criteria the results were truly UNBELIEVABLE.
PD quoted an eye-watering $1478.47 DEARER!!
The lesson here is to please shop around before committing

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelBMW X3 G01
See all answers
Justin M

Justin MSouth East Queensland, QLD

Customer Service Needs To Up Their Game - Perhaps Some Training On How To Speak To Customers

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Do not trust them

Do not trust themSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don’t ever use this insurance company

published

This company is not helpful at all in the event of you their client needing to make a claim. Received notification from another company of a small fender bender ( not my fault). No damage to my vehicle even but damage to theirs. Had to pay insurance excess up front obtain and provide license history and claims information up front or they won’t action anything. Still waiting on outcome but indications are won’t get my excess money back. Frustrating time consuming and treated like a criminal for stopping and rendering assistance on a not at fault bump.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Car Insurance

Find out how PD Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

What's the point of this company?

published

They don't help you. It seems like they make their customers do all the work that they should be doing. Would not recommend. Definitely worth spending a dew extra dollars to get actual cover.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Gay

GayCentral, SA

Policy cancelled

published

Policy was cancelled after making a claim when we hit a kangaroo
At first they said ok get windscreen repaired which we did then they told us that they were not informed of a provisional licence and cancelled all policies on 4 cars we had insured with them
Had to pay for winscreen repair ourselves and didnt bother to repair other panels
They did refund the policy value which had only just been renewed
Then they totally stuffed up and reimbursed us for the previous years policy too
Ah you win some and lose some

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelHolden Rodeo RA (2003-2008)
See all answers
Abbey-marie S.

Abbey-marie S.Far North Queensland, QLD

Beware of these animals

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Never again

Never againSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst organisation experience ever

published

Claim made against me in I am not at fault accident. Spent 5 hours so far dealing with processing and I have to pay excess up front for claim from a third party to be processed. No damage to my vehicle at all. I am supposed to be their customer/ client and they should be representing me. Probably won’t be my excess back now they have money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Adam S.

Adam S.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

Used to be with them, thought I’d perhaps give them another go

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMazda 6
See all answers
MTMS

MTMSGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

LIVING NIGHTMARE

published

Horrible horrible horrible! This company takes your money and the minute you make a claim they spend more time investigating reasons to not cover you than worrying about your safety and helping get your car in the shop. Not at fault claim over a month ago and they have been the most terrifying to deal with. HORRIFIC customer service, especially claims they are so horrible and unprofessional and very difficult to deal with. I’ll be contacting the ombudsman and then I cannot wait to leave this so called insurance company.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how PD Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bloh

Bloh

  • 2 reviews

Lacks customer service and support

published

Was sideswiped by a truck and so the accident wasn't my fault. Called PD to help push the process along with the third party insurer (other person had put forward a claim) and to be honest - the woman who answered couldn't have been less interested or nonchalent in the situation. Responded later than the stated 48hrs return time and just overall unhelpful. I've ended up just directly dealing with the 3rd party because PD just don't seem to think it's worth their time.

Anyway, I switched to PD on price so the faults really on me. If you're looking for customer support or help, this is not the insurance company for you.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Mark S

Mark SSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

not happy JAN

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Terrible! They will charge you more if you rent your home

published

Was quoted $928 for comprehensive annually, I compared on iSelect came back with $716, when asked why the discrepancy, I was told it's because you are renting! If you are renting do not use this company, this is highly discriminatory for no reason. There is no additional risk to them if the car owner is renting or a home owner. Disgusting reprehensible behaviour!

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo

The worst insurance company.

published

Took 2 months to completely settle a claim that I wasn't at fault for. Had to follow up multiple timed and got lied to everytime. Rubbish customer service were rude, and had no transparency in their process. They deleted all my honest reviews and comments on Facebook and ended up disabling reviews because of all the negative reviews.
Honestly would give them a minus star review if I could.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Let me keep it simple, do not deal with this insurance company. They will make you pay when it comes to making a claim.

published

I have been with PD for several years. When it came to making a claim, they tried every excuse under the sun of why they can't fix all that was damaged in an accident.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Steve

SteveCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Dodgy pricing

published

Checked insurance quotes on behalf of my wife on Compare the market for Volkswagon Golf we are about to purchase, PD Insurance quote came up for $462.07 but when it directed me to their site I filled in the details & the quote came to $898.46.
We are rating 1 drivers with no claims, no lost points on our licences, no age constraints & current comprehensive insurance.
I can only suspect that this is a scam or a lure to get you on their site & possibly buy a policy, but why would you as it turned out they had the most expensive policy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how PD Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marina 42

Marina 42Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Couldn't even get a quote

published

I tried to obtain an online quote. New X5 BMW and their system would not let me put in a value within their suggested range. I gave up. Hopeless system which says a lot for the Company

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Greg Perry

Greg PerrySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

My experience dealing with PD has been excellent.

published

PD's premiums have always been much lower than the competition, and I always compare at renewal time. But the real test of an insurance company is their performance when you need to make a claim. A few weeks ago I was tail-ended by an uninsured driver while waiting in traffic. The impact wrote off my car. I phoned PD from the crash scene and they organised a tow-truck immediately. My car was assessed, the claim paid out, and I was in a new car within two weeks. The consultants at PD were always polite and kept me informed at every stage. My experience with PD over the years has been excellent.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMitsubishi ASX XB
See all answers

Worst insurance agent ever

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

If you like your car..... insure it with someone else!

published

I lodged a claim after hitting a kangaroo, after over a month waiting for PD Insurance to approve the assessment from the smash repairers, and after lots of calls following up from me, they denied the claim based on a previous claim I didn't tell them about...…. a no excess payable windscreen repair (I didn't even know this counted as a claim on my history) from my previous insurer. End of the day if you want to have your car covered go with someone else...… this looks to be over a $20 000 mistake on my behalf.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Just hopeless!

published

Slow response, didn’t want to offer any help being a not at fault claim they were always passing the buck to the someone else, another department or the other insurer

Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelMazda 3
See all answers
Page 1 of 2
See all PD Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about PD Comprehensive Car Insurance but you can read 5 questions about PD Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and PD Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.