??!
1 photo
Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover

Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover

4.1 from 153 reviews

Reviews

(105)
(13)
(2)
(6)
(27)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (85)
  • Transparency
    4.0 (79)
  • Customer Service
    4.1 (85)

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Very impressed!

published

After finding out our puppy needed operations on both of her elbows we were very stressed about how much it was all going to cost. Luckily we were with PIA and they covered 80% of the costs. Thank you PIA!

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Reet for taking the time to review PIA. I hope your precious pup made a full recovery from her operations. Have a great weekend.

Very easy to deal with claims

published

Our cat was quite ill and there were several rounds of vet procedures and medication. Once everything was done our vet gave us the records needed to file a claim, and PIA was able to process it without any back-and-forth for more records. I'm very happy with the process, and the overall outcome now that the cat is better!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Dan for your review. That's great news that your cat has made a full recovery. Have a wonderful weekend.

Trevor

TrevorSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Really Impressed - Not only once - But twice!

published

We have had two pets covered under Pet Insurance Australia, and both times my claims experience (which is actually what's important!) was brilliant. We claimed for a major operation for our dog, and also for the emergency treatment for our puppy who ate a bone.
Id unreservedly recommend these guys as incredible - the claims process takes 2-4 weeks for resolution, but easily able to say i have been unexpectedly pleasantly surprised. also - being able to buy online and claim online etc is a plus.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Trevor for your feedback and review. I hope your dogs are doing well and both recovered? Sending a big PIA cuddle to them both. Have a great weekend.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Remus

RemusWheatbelt, WA

No fuss

published

What an easy claiming procedure. Just follow the laid down steps and if you satisfy your coverage requirements then the claiming procedure is a quick with no fuss. Extremely happy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Remus for your review on PIA. I'll be sure to pass this over to my claims team. Have a great weekend.

Best pet insurance!!

published

PIA have been great when we made our first claim! They were helpful and quick to respond with our claim processed within days. Highly recommended for pet insurance!! Don't waste your time with other companies.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Martin for your lovely words and review. I hope your precious pet is doing well? Have a great day.

Michelle

MichelleSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic Would be lost without it

published

I have made numerous claims, and all have been approved easily with no fuss
Have used the GAP process for lots of the claims and would be lost without it.
No more outlaying large amounts of dollars

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Michelle. that's so wonderful to hear that the GapOnly service is working so well for our customers. Have a wonderful day.

Howard

HowardWestern Australia

Pet Insurance Claim

published

The Vet actually lodged this claim for us. The process was quick and easy and there were no issues. Great value and good service. Having canvassed many options I would recommend to anyone.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Howard for your review and high recommendation. Have a great day.

Tanya W.

Tanya W.Western District, VIC

Very reliable, I would highly recommend.

published

PIA have been amazing. I would highly recommend this company.
We had our fair share of health issues with our pup and they came through every time, except for pre-exisiting, so I would suggest when you buy a pup, you buy pet insurance from the beginning.
The claim process can be done online and also lodged through your vet.
It generally takes a couple of weeks to receive payment. You can choose how much cover you want and adjust the premium accordingly.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Tanya for taking the time to review PIA. I hope your pup is doing well? Have a wonderful day.

caliahmiie

caliahmiieSydney, NSW

Good insurance for your little pawchild

published

Been very happy with their customer service and claims process is so easy and simple. I dont have to do anything! My poor girl has had a couple operations and PIA has been there to help with anything needed.

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Caliahmiie for your review on PIA. I hope your wee girl is doing well? Sending her a big PIA cuddle from the team. Have a lovely day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil

PhilPerth, WA

The most reliable and effective insurance policy I've ever held.

published

I can't speak highly enough of PIA. They are quick to pay on claims, have a great policy that covers so much, online portal is simple and effective, customer service is great. I'm typically skeptical of insurance, but PIA is 100% reliable.

They also provided some flexibility and waived some policy fees for me as a loyal customer with 2 x policies during the COVID-19 outbreak, major credit for that and a great way to build loyalty.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Phil for sharing your PIA experience with Product Review. I'll be sure to pass this over to the pet-loving customer service team to brighten their day. Have a wonderful week.

Great care and customer service

published

Excellent service and follow up for our dogs issues.
Very convenient that we pay only the difference in our bill at our chosen vets practice. would recommend to all pet owners.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks David for your review and high recommendation. Have a great week.

Fantastic service.

published

Have claimed various times over the past years with nil concerns. Uploaded required documentation for my claims and payment received in days. Highly recommend. Easy to use online and will continue with my cover.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Marcia for sharing your PIA experience. Have a great week.

lynda

lyndaMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Outstanding!

published

I am delighted with my PIA policy! It was simple to set up. All claims lodged have been acknowledged very promptly and claims paid equally promptly. I have been with PIA for approximately six years and have made numerous claims. It has certainly removed anxiety regarding our dog's (Wilbur's) health care. I have genuinely and enthusiastically recommended PIA to friends and other dog owners Wilbur and I come across and chat to on our daily walks. Highly impressed!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Lynda for sharing your PIA story. I hope Wilbur is doing well. Have a wonderful week.

Samgal

SamgalGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Claim issue

published

We put a claim in which I thought would be simple process, they requested I upload the medical report which I did, then 3 weeks later I received a letter asking for our dogs complete medical history. I'm sure this is a tactic to delay paying the claim or they hope that we will forget about it and put it in the to hard basket. The medical report I submitted should have been sufficient as the pup is only 6 months old. We are now looking for another provider.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
2 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Samgal. I'm sorry to hear of your frustrations with your claim process and I'd like to get a supervisor to take a look and reach out asap. Can I please grab your policy number? Thanks

Samgal
Samgal

Policy # PI10495610

Peter B.

Peter B.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Usual Insurance Result

published

As with most insurance policies across the whole Insurance industry, our dog's injury was not fully covered despite the cover being called "Comprehensive". I have only ever had 2 insurance claims for anything paid out in full and they were both with the same company. Unfortunately this company does not offer Pet Insurance

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Peter. I'd like to take a look into your policy and have a supervisor reach out asap. Can I please grab your policy number? Thanks, have a great day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lauren F

Lauren FMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Value for money and never had a problem with them

published

I’ve been with PIA for over 2 years and never had a problem. They reimburse you 80% and very quickly too! The price is affordable and they don’t hassle you for their business unlike RSPCA. I recommend them to every pet owner I know.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Lauren for sharing your thoughts on PIA. Have a great weekend.

Ros

RosMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Great insurance for my fur babies!

published

I have been with PIA for five years since the arrival of Millie my first fur baby. Millie unfortunately had to have a major operation when she was 2 years old. Pet Insurance Australia dealt with our claim efficiency and professionally- since that time we have acquired our second fur baby Myles. Both our babies have had many claims with PIA over the years - all of which have been attended to promptly and with good communication and follow up.
I would recommend PIA to any potential pet owner for peace of mind.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Ros for taking the time to post your feedback on PIA. Have a great weekend. I hope your furbabes are well?

Horrible horrible horrible please avoid!!!!!!

published

Please avoid this insurance company we have made claim for nearly $1000 for our dog and believe it or not we have received notification that only 100$ will be returned ,we waited a few weeks for some money back!!!! We were paying premium cover where apparently they are returning up to 80% ...Tried to resolve the issue person that is picking the phone its somewhere in [Content Removed]
Please people avoid this .I am genuinely writing this to protect pet owners cause I know how hard things can get when it comes to our pets.

Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
2 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Yasmina C.
Yasmina C.
Loal

LoalHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Hassle free cover

published

I have used PIA for five years having used them for my previous pet too The claim portal is easy, queries resolved quickly via phone and always helpful. Although this claim for my new puppy took a while to go through, it was easy to post history and medical records using the portal.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Loal for your review, have a great day.

macneal

macnealTasmania

Efficiency at its best

published

We recently submitted a claim for each of our dogs using the online facility. Th claims were dealt with within a week and paid in full for the appropriate portions of our vet bills.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Macneal for taking the time to review PIA. Have a lovely day.

Page 1 of 8
See all Pet Insurance Australia reviews

Questions & Answers

Fiona

Fionaasked

Comprehensive Cover

I have the Comprehensive cover for my Dachshund since the beginning of February 2019 and I wanted to know if IVDD is covered if my dog has not shown any signs prior commencement or recently?

2 answers
Princess
Princess

Hi Fiona just call them and ask them..

Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Fiona. IVDD (Intervertebral Disc Disease) is generally coverable under the illness portion of the policy.

The policy does not cover any Pre-existing conditions prior to the policy commencement or any signs or symptoms that have occurred during the Waiting period.

IVDD (intervertebral disc disease) is also excluded on any accidental injury cover (so make sure you read the PDS and ensure you understand exactly what your precious pups are covered for and what your policy allows - you can find this here - https://www.petinsuranceaustralia.com.au/important-notices/

PIA's assessment of known issues with specific breeds (e.g. bad backs) are taken into account in the premium calculation. IVDD is covered in our Major Medical Policy. Hope this helps.

Get an answer from our members and Pet Insurance Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.