??!
1 photo
Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover

Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover

4.3 from 286 reviews · View Statistics

Pet Insurance Buying Guide

If your dog or cat becomes sick, pet insurance can help get the treatment they deserve. For a better idea of how pet insurance works, continue reading so you can make an informed choice.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.2 (203)
  • Transparency
    4.3 (197)
  • Customer Service
    4.3 (206)
  • Claim Resolution Time<1 week (92), 1-2 weeks (81), 2-4 weeks (25), 1-2 months (7) and 3+ months (3)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (199) · No (6)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Lynley

LynleyPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Glad we have it.

published

Bought the PIA insurance for our labradoodle puppy just in case.
Well since then she has been diagnosed with possible epilepsy and with neospora. Both these issues have required regular vet visits , blood tests and medication all of which is expensive and ongoing. PIA has paid out on all these accounts once submitted by the vet. They have updated me on the progress of the claims and the money is paid out promptly. Very happy with PIA.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Lynley for posting your feedback on PIA. I'm sorry to hear of your pet's diagnosis and I hope they are doing well. Have a lovely week.

Bull terrier Mum

Bull terrier MumHunter Region, NSW

Naughtiest Dog Award

published

Young married couple. We have a super accident prone and cheeky bull terrier (bull terrorist) so Pet insurance was a MUST. The Policy is GREAT value, such an easy and user friendly set up. PIA Pet Portal is amazing and straight forward to manage. 5+ claims so far, two over $5000 less than a week to resolve and VERY happy with the generous rebate. 4 years as customers. LOVE IT LOVE IT. Will be sticking with this insurer indefinitely and in the future with other pets. Cannot say enough about PIA. Thank you to everyone from PIA. Our fur baby would LITERALLY not have made it through 2 large acute illnesses without you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Bull terrier Mum for your great feedback on our policies and customer service. I hope your precious furbabe is doing well. Have a fantastic week.

Amanda

AmandaPerth, WA

QUICK AND EFFICIENT

published

The online portal to submit it so simple and easy to use. It only took 3 days for the funds to hit my account and they keep me updated as to when they receive it etc.

I have never had an issue with these guys and have helped so much with unexpected vet fees!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Amanda for your feedback and review on PIA. Have a wonderful week.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jan

Jan

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Highly recommend!

published

Easy to use portal, as long as all information is provided claims are fast, with money in my account within a week.
I would not be without pet insurance! My dog would have cost me $$$ without it!

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Jan for your feedback on PIA. Have a great weekend.

Lily's mum

Lily's mumSydney, NSW

Excellent pet insurance

published

easy claim, quick response and caring
It makes much less stress with high vet bill and you can focous on looking after your paw family not a bill. Thank you so much PIA

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Lilly's mum for taking the time to post your feedback about PIA. I hope Lilly is doing well? Have a wonderful weekend.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Helen R

Helen R

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible Customer Service

published

Attempted to remove an animal, add another animal and update payment details. After extended wait time I was transferred to someone who could not do any of these things. I was then told that someone could call me back but it might take 2 business days alternatively I could go back in the queue and hope that the call was transferred to someone who could help me. Not sure this company wishes to keep my business, terrible customer service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Helen, I'm so sorry to hear of this and it's not our level of customer service. I would like to investigate this immediately and have a supervisor speak to you to have this resolved. Can I please have your policy number? Thanks, have a lovely day.

Steve

SteveRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Otis is completely covered

published

Otis has a long term issue with dermatological problems with his skin. He is on a regular vaccination regime which is both expensive and enduring. The best decision I ever made was to insurance Otis from a puppy. OIA has been wonderful supporting all of his issues for the past 5 years. A great product with corresponding great service. Claims are promptly and efficiently dealt with. Rarely does it take more than a few days to get the approved claim back and the refund sent to my account.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Steve for taking the time to post your review. I hope Otis is doing well and is on the mend from his dermo condition. Sending him a big cuddle from all of us at PIA. Have a wonderful day.

Terrible Service, and not great at resolving concerns

published

After charging me a renewal without receiving the notification, I called to understand why it had increased so much, and why I did not receive a renewal. They were RUDE!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
3 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Skip, I'm sorry to hear of your frustrations and I'd like to have this resolved asap. Can I please grab your policy number? Thanks, have a great day.

Skip T.
Skip T.

It is under Irene Tupper (my wife) and Luna

Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Skip, i'll need the actual policy number or the full address and phone number of the policy for my team to look this up. I'll private message you now for the information. Thanks

Amazing claims service!

published

My dog recently was diagnosed with Epilepsy resulting in many expensive vet bills which keep coming... PIA’s claims process is super easy and very efficient! I have lodged numerous claims and all have been responded to/paid out very fast! Have been with PIA for 2 years now and wouldn’t change.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Jasmine for your review and feedback on our service. I hope your dog is doing ok after their recent diagnosis of Epilepsy. Have a lovely Wednesday.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Awesome Insurance for our blessed dog. Its the bomb!

published

Our dog had a luxated knee cap and required surgery. Every procedure was referred to Pet Australia. Each one was replied to within days and our claims were assessed super quick. Thanks for making a painful time so easy with your customer service and expert assessment. Best thing we did was insure our dog with you guys!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
3 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Chris for your feedback on our service and policies. I hope your dog is recovering well from surgery? Have a lovely day.

Chris
Chris

Lucy is kicking goals almost literally. Getting stronger by the day .Thank you

Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

That's just wonderful news Chris :) Sending Lucy a big PIA pat from the team.

Henry D

Henry DSydney, NSW

Seamless and efficient claim process. Great Policy and service.

published

We have been with PIA for nearly 3 years now for our Labrador Ted. We honestly can't fault their service, efficiency and value for money. We have had a few unexpected vet / hospital visits & multiple claims. PIA always prompt, polite and seamless in processing our claims. Certainly gives peace of mind knowing we have Ted under a PIA policy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Henry for posting your feedback on PIA. I hope Ted is doing well? Have a lovely week.

buyer beware!! Claim process is a JOKE! Lots of HOOPS to jump through!

published

Our first claim was so stressful! We had to jump through a lot of hoops to complete our claim, PIA wanted our Dogs Full medical history again and an individual itemized bill for the surgery for the illness, The Vet sent them a medical history Linked to access her full history file, PIA couldn’t do that PIA wanted it all as a PDF! 6 Emails later we get an Email saying they have split our claim in to 4 parts! So we get the first Email saying we don’t cover item one, then another Email saying we don’t cover item 4, what a JOKE

6 weeks later they paid about 70% of the bill.

Currently looking for another company for Pet Insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
3 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Andy, I'm sorry to hear about your claims experience and I'd like to have a supervisor take a look at this asap and help resolve this problem. Can I please have your policy number? Thanks, have a lovely day.

Andy
Andy

No you can Not have my policy number we had numerous phone calls that we're unhelpful

Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Karen

Karen

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Quick and easy to claim

published

Very easy to claim, quick and courteous to deal with. Claim handled through the vet and hassle free. Claim was settled promptly. Would recommend to anyone thinking of pet insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Karen for taking the time to review PIA. Have a lovely week.

Wally's mum

Wally's mumSydney, NSW

Recommend highly

published

I feel Pet insurance is essential. Both our dogs have been insured with PIA and have always had the most positive experience. Our vets claim directly which I feel works best for both parties and have always been reimbursed promptly and without issue.
Our dog recently had major issues and the stress free aspect of how PIA handled the process made a major difference in a really stressful time.
Will be staying with PIA and recommend to friends.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Wally's mum for your high recommendation and review. I hope Wally is doing well? Have a wonderful weekend.

Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst cover, terrible level of repayments for treatments

published

Our Pug underwent a teeth cleaning procedure at a cost of nearly $700. PIA provided a $50 refund. Disgustingly low level of cover. We pay nearly $70 a month for this privilege with PIA and essentially get stuff all for it. Go with anyone else but these providers. Absolutely hopeless. In the 4 years we have had this cover I have not felt even remotely close to receiving value for money.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
3 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Michael
Michael
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Deb M

Deb MMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Always gives us piece of mind knowing that we don't have to pay the full amount of our vet bill

published

Claims are easy to lodge online and we are always pleased with how quickly claims are reimbursed. We are new to PIA and would highly recommend to anyone looking for value for money

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets-1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Deb for taking the time to post your PIA experience. I hope your pet is doing well. Have a great weekend.

Warren Y.

Warren Y.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

You never know when you'll need it

published

I signed up the day I adopted Spooky. The next day he was attacked by another dog. PIA started paying out straight away, no questions asked. Only issue I've had is that you can't view the documents you've uploaded on the online portal.
Three words: peace of mind.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Warren for taking the time to review PIA. I hope Spooky is doing well and made a full recovery. I'll also be sure to share your feedback regarding the pet portal. Have a lovely day.

Carol

CarolGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Rapid Response to Claim

published

Have been with Pet Insurance for about seven years now, and any claims have been promptly dealt with. Was very appreciative of how rapid the favourable response was to our most recent claim.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Carol for taking the time to post about your recent claim with PIA. I'll be sure to share this with the hardworking team. Have a great day.

Kingsley Lam

Kingsley LamGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Best insurance so far

published

I’ve been with PIA only for a couple months but already know it’s worth to get, great policy, good service, quick claim. Definitely recommend to everyone.I am very happy and thank you so much.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2020
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Kingsley for taking the time to post your review and high recommendation. Have a wonderful day.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

peter french

peter frenchSydney, NSW

Without this cover as pensioners we would not have been able to keep our beautiful Molly

published

Molly has been blind for 6 years.She needs insulin twice daily plus regular treatment by her vet. We pay the vet when we visit and PIA receive details from the vet and they settle the claim I and promptly send the money to our bank account.Thanks PIA for helping uskeep our much loved girl for 12 years

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Claim MadeYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Peter for your review and for being a loyal customer for so long. Sending your precious girl a big PIA cuddle from all of us here at PIA. Have a great day.

Page 1 of 15
See all Pet Insurance Australia reviews

Questions & Answers

Melissa88

Melissa88asked

Comprehensive Cover

Your PDS states IVDD is covered by illness cover, not just accidental. It stipulates that the illness portion of the cover must be listed on the Certificate of Insurance, but my certificate just has the cover name (Comprehensive cover) which IS for accidents and illness.
Without referring me back to the PDS (which hasn’t answered my question) is IVDD covered with your comprehensive cover? Thankfully it isn’t an issue for my pup, but before I renew my insurance I would love a clear answer.

1 answer
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Melissa, yes IVDD (Intervertebral Disc Disease) is generally coverable under the illness portion of the policy. As long as your precious pup has shown no signs or symptoms prior to your policy starting. I hope this has been of some help. Have a great day.

Fiona

Fionaasked

Comprehensive Cover

I have the Comprehensive cover for my Dachshund since the beginning of February 2019 and I wanted to know if IVDD is covered if my dog has not shown any signs prior commencement or recently?

2 answers
Princess
Princess

Hi Fiona just call them and ask them..

Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Fiona. IVDD (Intervertebral Disc Disease) is generally coverable under the illness portion of the policy.

The policy does not cover any Pre-existing conditions prior to the policy commencement or any signs or symptoms that have occurred during the Waiting period.

IVDD (intervertebral disc disease) is also excluded on any accidental injury cover (so make sure you read the PDS and ensure you understand exactly what your precious pups are covered for and what your policy allows - you can find this here - https://www.petinsuranceaustralia.com.au/important-notices/

PIA's assessment of known issues with specific breeds (e.g. bad backs) are taken into account in the premium calculation. IVDD is covered in our Major Medical Policy. Hope this helps.

Get an answer from our members and Pet Insurance Australia representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Pet Insurance Australia
CategoryPet Insurance
UnderwriterHollard
Annual Benefit Limit$15,000
Amount of Vet Bill Covered Up to 80%
Minimum Pet Age 8 weeks
Accidental Injury CoverIncluded
Illness CoverIncluded
Routine Care CoverNot Included
Tick Paralysis$1,000
Emergency Boarding Fees$1,000
Lifetime Cover Included
Cooling Off Period21 Days
Consultation Fees$300
Cruciate Ligament Conditions$2,600
Waiting Period for Illness 30 Days
Compare all 3 Pet Insurance Australia

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.