??!
1 photo
Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover

Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover

4.1 from 197 reviews

Reviews

4.1

197 reviews
5
(135)
4
(21)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(33)
  • Value for Money
    3.9 (122)
  • Transparency
    4.1 (115)
  • Customer Service
    4.1 (123)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
AmandaLoui5e

AmandaLoui5eGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Straightforward insurance

published

We have a German Shepherd & have had him insured with PIA since he was a puppy (now 6 years old). This year was the first time we had to claim & it was so easy. Just upload the claim docs & vet notes into the pet portal & you're done. Payment came through in a couple of days. Highly recommend!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Amanda for taking the time to review PIA. I hope your beautiful German Shepherd is doing well. Have a great week.

Nikki R

Nikki RCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Submitting claims

published

Very happy with the submission of claims for my dog. Its very easy, quick and no hassle at all. All my claims have been processed quickly and paid within 7 days. I can not recommend Pet Insurance enough. Very happy customer

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Nikki for your high recommendation and taking the time to post your feedback on PIA. Have a wonderful day.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Been invaluable

published

I have needed to claim 4 times with my little buddy, he seems to find himself in all sorts of situations. I have found having pet insurance invaluable, I'd hate to think the decisions I would have had to make had I not had it. I can't speak for other insurance companies as I've always been with PIA, however the process has always been quick and pain free

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Brett for taking the time to place your feedback on PIA. Have a wonderful day.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
chris h

chris hSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

So far they have paid 2 claims with no hassle at all!!

published

title says it all. u pay for coverage and so far I have received it with a smile. the onlikne claim system is quite easy to use as well. well done :)..................

Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Chris. Have a great week.

Denise

DeniseSouth East Queensland, QLD

Excellent

published

Claim was easy to lodge and dealt with very rapidly and efficiently, despite all the COVID issues going on. Queries via email were answered quickly and the money was in our bank account in two days. Couldn’t be more happy with PIA!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Denise for your review. Have a fantastic day.

Kim

KimHunter Region, NSW

Peace of mind - sorted!

published

We have made a few claims for each of our pups - each time the process is always quick and easy. Thank you for saving time and providing peace of mind!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Kim for your feedback on PIA. I hope your pups are doing well? Have a wonderful week.

Col

ColPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Efficient service and claims.

published

We have had our Cocker Spaniel insured with PIA for over 5 years and have unfortunately had to make several claims. I can honestly say that having this insurance has made our and our pet's life a lot less stressful. Thanks.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Col for your PIA review. I hope your precious Cocker Spaniel is doing well. Have a great week.

David G.

David G.Perth, WA

Easy Claims

published

I have a dog on comprehensive cover, and at the age of 5 he developed problems with his knees (MPL) and required surgery. Before the surgery I did a pre-approval with PIA, and afterwards submitted the claim (in several parts due to different procedures & vets). The claims process was easy as the PIA website allows PDF upload of documents.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets3 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredCat and Dog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, David for posting your PIA feedback on Product Review. I hope your dog has made a full recovery after their surgery. Have a wonderful week.

Sherryn

Sherryn

  • 2 reviews

Easy process to claim, however would have loved a call

published

My dog was attacked by another dog an unfortunately he needed to lose his eye. I knew this was covered by looking at the policy, however I would have loved a follow up call to see how my little fur baby was going. I have had insurance with PIA for some time now and haven't had any issues with them at all.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John

John

  • 5 reviews

This company has really done the wrong thing by me. I’m seriously hurt by them.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Peace of mind

published

Our dog was diagnosed with a serious and expensive health condition recently. PIA processed our claim efficiently and transparently. We got to focus on our dog's health, not the bills. Thank you PIA, wouldn't be without you.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, James for sharing your PIA story. Sending your dog a big PIA cuddle from the team. Have a great day.

Karen

Karen

  • 2 reviews

Great Service

published

Recently we had a claim and PIA were wonderful. Our vet lodged the claims and within days they were approved and reimbursements were paid. Very fast and efficient service.This was our first major claim and it was seamless.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets2 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Karen for sharing your PIA experience. Have a wonderful day.

Good experience: Recommended

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Hazel for your feedback. I'll be sure to pass this over to the pet-loving team. Have a great week.

Gaby

GabyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Claims experience

published

Excellent service, easy online claim process and the claim was settled very quickly. I was kept informed of when the claim was received , a possible delay due to high volumes but everything was completed and settled quickly -

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Gaby for your feedback on PIA. Have a great week.

Wonderful Customer Service

published

We insured our beautiful Groodle, our first family pet, with Pet Insurance Australia under the comprehensive insurance. Unfortunately, he contracted a disease when he was 13 months old and passed away. PIA were so amazing and understanding - their customer service and timely processing of our claims was so painless at such a horrible time for us. We're forever grateful and would highly recommend them to any pet owner.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Vicki for taking the time to review PIA. I'm so sorry to hear of your loss. Have a lovely week.

Pet Insurance

Find out how Pet Insurance Australia Comprehensive Cover compares to other Pet Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ashleigh

AshleighCanberra 2600, ACT

Excellent cover

published

Pet Insurance Australia's online claim process is incredibly easy and our claim was paid out in a matter of days.

It was great to have financial peace of mind at a stressful and upsetting time.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Ashleigh for taking the time to post your feedback on PIA. Have a wonderful day.

Wonderful pet insurance. Would not be without it. Very good service and fast money refund.

published

This is my beautiful girl Coco. Years ago Coco had to have 3 big operations for crucial ligaments which involved 6 weeks , each time, in which Coco had to recover in a large crate. PIA were fantastic and never questioned the cost. I will forever be grateful to them for that because it was a stressful time for us but it was wonderful knowing I could rely on them. She is now 8 and loves walking , running and relaxing as she gets older. Thankyou PIA

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks Cora for posting your comments on PIA. Sending Coco a big PIA cuddle from the team. Have a great week.

Annie

AnnieEuroa

  • 3 reviews

Best investment into our dogs health

published

Great value, excellent customer service , quick turnaround of claim .
Highly recommend.
Have had the insurance since we first got our Lab - it has been well worth having.
Straight forward on line portal makes access streamlined .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Annie for sharing your PIA experience with Product Review. Have a wonderful week.

great cover, good service

published

I am very happy with my pet insurance. I have two dogs and both have had issues requiring significant treatment and costs. Pet Insurance covered everything including a very expensive spinal operation on my dachshund without which I dread to think the other options if I could not afford to pay! Service is always friendly too. Thank you.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
1 comment
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Thanks, Timo for taking the time to post your feedback on PIA. I hope your Dachshund is doing well after surgery? Have a great week.

Debbie Booth

Debbie BoothSydney, NSW

Happy with service but disappointed with the premium increase

published

We have been with PIA for 5 years now and our dog just recently had surgery. All went very well, PIA were excellent they provided great customer service and processed our claim quickly. BUT it is now our yearly renewal time and our premium is going up a substantial amount it is now almost double what we starting paying 5 years ago. Time to go out and compare the market.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Number of Pets1 pets
Pet Type(s) InsuredDog
See all answers
2 comments
Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia
Debbie Booth
Debbie Booth

Hi there, thank you for making contact. My policy number is PIO3302804 it would be great if it could be reviewed. The policy is due to be renewed on the 5 Jun 20. Cheers Debbie Booth

Page 1 of 10
See all Pet Insurance Australia reviews

Questions & Answers

Fiona

Fionaasked

Comprehensive Cover

I have the Comprehensive cover for my Dachshund since the beginning of February 2019 and I wanted to know if IVDD is covered if my dog has not shown any signs prior commencement or recently?

2 answers
Princess
Princess

Hi Fiona just call them and ask them..

Pet Insurance Australia
PIA Management P.Pet Insurance Australia

Hi Fiona. IVDD (Intervertebral Disc Disease) is generally coverable under the illness portion of the policy.

The policy does not cover any Pre-existing conditions prior to the policy commencement or any signs or symptoms that have occurred during the Waiting period.

IVDD (intervertebral disc disease) is also excluded on any accidental injury cover (so make sure you read the PDS and ensure you understand exactly what your precious pups are covered for and what your policy allows - you can find this here - https://www.petinsuranceaustralia.com.au/important-notices/

PIA's assessment of known issues with specific breeds (e.g. bad backs) are taken into account in the premium calculation. IVDD is covered in our Major Medical Policy. Hope this helps.

Get an answer from our members and Pet Insurance Australia representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.