??!
6 photos
Philips PowerPro FC8472/71

Philips PowerPro FC8472/71

4.0 from 45 reviews

Reviews

(24)
(8)
(7)
(1)
(5)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (1)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (2)
  • Ease of Use
    3.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.5 (2)
  • Product is used:
    • Rarely (1)
    • Several times a week (1)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (2)
  • Pet OwnerYes (0) · No (2)

Konda P

Konda PSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Going strong even after 5 years

published

I use this vacuum cleaner thrice every week and there is no loss of suction or power. The filter needs to be changed every 6 months, but other than that there is no maintenance. You can get replacement filters for 20$ from their website. Comes with a HEPA filter and compact and easy to use.

Purchased in December 2013 at Godfreys Physical Stores for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, thanks for leaving your review with us! We're very happy to hear that the Powerpro has been of such great service to you. Hopefully it will deliver many more dust free floors. :)


Top Jimmy

Top JimmyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Worked Once - Then Failed Despite Filter Cleaning

published

This machine worked fine until the cylinder had to be emptied - the machine consistantly thereafter would work for a few seconds then loose all suction. It’s a cheap and nasty product and ironically the only aspect about it that doesn’t suck is the unit itself.

Purchased in May 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Rarely
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
See all answers
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Ang

Ang

  • 3 reviews

great product

published

I love this vaccum, it is easy to clean and easy to store as well and it is fairly quiet compared with other vacuums I have used in the past. I have tried dysons, vax and even kmart- this is my favourite so far. Had it for 5 months so far and no issues yet

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Rachel Mcsweeney

Rachel Mcsweeney

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Its Great

published

I have never tip the vacuum over. This unit is small and gets vacuumed everyday and it has good suction if it is cleaned properly after each couple of uses. The only issue I have with the vacuum cleaner is the placement of the filters and the filters need to be cleaned properly

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thanks for your review, Rachel! We appreciate it.

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


Hollowman

Hollowmanmelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Powerful Little Sucker

published

Dad joke right there in the title - anyway its true! This is a very compact vacuum but sucks like anything - especially when just cleaned. Thats is to say it has more suction at first and loses it a bit as it fills up. I think that is because of the bagless design. It is well made and has a decent cord length. The only negative is emptying it is a bit messy. Good vac overall.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi, there. Thanks for your valuable yet hilarious review. We're happy to hear your PowerPro is performing as expected. :)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team.


Vince

VinceSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap and Best

published

Extremely powerful and good value for money. I bought it a year ago. One of the pretty good budget product which comes with 2 year warranty. I bought it in May 2017 and worked absolutely great. Great value for money. Suction power is remarkable. One of the best product from philips

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Vince, great to read all of this. Thanks a lot for writing down your experiences, we really appreciate the feedback!

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


HiThere

HiThereCanberra, Australian Capital Territory

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Good, but loses suction if not cleaned frequently

published
Date PurchasedMay 2017

Hoohoo

HoohooJunee

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome vacuum and price is great value.

published

Super happy with this purchase. Great suction and maneuvers well around the house. Great over all our house surfsces-carpet, vinyl and tiles. Easy to use, and clean. Quality product for a great price. Light weight compared go some other vacuums. Only thing that would be handy is a longer cord, but no biggy.

Date PurchasedMay 2017
kerry

kerryCRAIGIEBURN

  • 18 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great value for money

published

I got this thinking it will do until I can afford a pricer vacuum but I am amazed at how well this thing works. It is easy to move around, easy to empty and does a great job every time I use it. I have had a Dyson vac in the past and was expecting this to be much less in comparison but its not! It is worth every cent paid for it and would encourage anyone considering one of these to do it and you wont regret the purchase.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
Holiday_Vacationer

Holiday_VacationerSydney

  • 5 reviews

Really Good Bagless Suction

published

This Vacuum has great power from the motor. The filter only needs to be cleaned once a month, vacuum canister is easy to clean also. Vacuum keeps the dust inside instead of it leaking from a bag. The body is light and durable going around corners, edges and tiles. I really am happy with this model.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Bernard

BernardCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 5 reviews

Does the job, good value for money

published

I was looking for an alternative bagless vacuum cleaner that is not Dyson as they are overpriced I feel. The suction is good and it is easy to maneuver. The amazing thing is that it will not lose suction as it is bagless. However, it may be slightly too loud for my liking. Works great on carpet and tiles (Kitchens). For the price I paid for and what it can do, I really can't complain. It is good for what I paid for. Overall, I am happy.

Date PurchasedJul 2007
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Kosmo

KosmoNortham

  • 2 reviews

Wow just love my Philips Vaccum

published

This is the second one I have brought and cannot praise the vacum cleaner high enough that I have encouraged my son and his partner to buiy one - the suctioning is good and it is so light weight. Due to living on a property with plenty of dust - my vacum is so reliable

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Zorro

Zorro

  • 3 reviews

GREAT MACHINE - best i've used

published

Great powerful machine that effortlessly sucks up all manner of rubbish on wood floors, carpets and tiles. Also has a filter so the air is not smelly as a result. Easy to empty canister and all filters easy to access. Also easy to take apart and pack away. Definitely a great machine. Beats anything I have used kn the last 20 years !!

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Thank you, Zorro! Hopefully, it doesn't suck up your mask effortlessly. ;)

Kind regards,
The Philips Australia Team


User1996

User1996Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Amazing value for money!

published

I just hope this little beast never loses its suction because it's just amazing! Sure you could get much better if you pay more but for $150 this is a great vacuum cleaner that does the job. I personally like that it's not bulky and too noisy and as mentioned suction is much more powerful than most of the other 1800w models.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips
y2kdisease

y2kdisease

  • 8 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great long term performance!

published

Been using this vacuum for the last 2 years in our 3 bed carpeted house. The vacuum is really good, consistent and has very strong suction. It’s easy to rinse and clean after every run so there’s really no excuse to complain about lack of power after a few uses. a little dish soap gets rid of all the dust off from the canister.

I’m always surprised by the amount of dust and dirt this vacuum sucks up. The Hepa filter replacement is not in stock always so I bought 2 together in April this year from Target online and replaced the one built in after 15 months continuous use.

This vacuum is now good as new and still sucks up everything in its way!

Date PurchasedSep 2015
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi there, great to see another review from you, Y2K. We love to hear these kind words. Enjoy your Philips products!

Kind regards, The Philips Australia Team

MZoey94

MZoey94Nevertire

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect. Great suction.

published

Love, Love, Love this vacuum. Never loses suction (other than when its full, or filters need cleaning). Quite easy to clean filters. Basic wash, i usually wash every 2/3 vacuums to keep it in great condition.
Light weight, easy to maneuver, not to loud either.
Have both carpet and floor boards. Fairly average area sizes.
Best vacuum, have owned for over 2 years now.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Date PurchasedAug 2015
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

GeorgieS

GeorgieSSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little vacuum

published

Very happy with my purchase.
I researched medium sized vacuums for my carpeted areas upstairs for a while until I decided to go this machine.
It's quite powerful for its size. I used it a couple of times a week as my little kids play and eat on the carpeted area.
Apart from finding the handle slightly awkward (a bit too upright), the machine does a great job every time. I can the amount of dust it's removed after each vacuum. Very impressive.
I always use the tile setup (the brush pressed down). It works well on my tiled area and even better on the carpet. This requires a bit more effort to move the head around but it removes all the hair off the carpet. I have a think woolen carpet so it ends up looking very fresh after each vacuum!

Date PurchasedJun 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

kell

kell

  • 4 reviews

Great little cleaner!

published

This vac is really good value for money. Its compact, easy to use and gives good suction. Its filters are easy to wash out, and the bagless system is super easy to empty. I find it easy to do my 4 bedroom house as its light weight and holds a good amount of dust. I'm sure there are better vacs out there, but they would cost a few hundred more. For me , this one has been great!

Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Toonno1

Toonno1

  • 9 reviews
  • 15 likes

Filters need frequent cleaning to maintain strong suction

published

The suction is good initially but the filters need to be cleaned after each use to maintain it. This is a pretty gross and time consuming task, so I can't say I'm that impressed with that aspect. The cord is very long, which is a welcome change from most vacuums. Pretty good for the price.

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Ana

Ana

  • 2 reviews

One of the Beat vaccume cleaners Ever!!

published

I just love the suction, easy to handle design, quiet motor and very reasonable price( bought it for $199 from Big W) I vaccume tiles, timber and carpet flooring with it. It performs best when cleaning carpets, however doesn't disappoint when cleaning other surfaces either. Full five star service

Date PurchasedMar 2017
2 comments
Philips
Philips S.Philips

We're very glad to hear this and thanks for sharing Ana! :)

Ana
Ana

You are welcome


Page 1 of 3

See all Philips PowerPro Compact Bagless reviews

Questions & Answers

akeseagus

akeseagusasked

i keep getting very bad electric shocks whilst vacuuming when i touch the metal retractable handle part of the machine. Is this just me or could there be something wrong with the vacuum? It happens on carpet and tiles. I was starting to think i may need a piece of rubber hanging off me like the cars in the past.

2 answers
Mummyofthreeboys
Mummyofthreeboys

if this is happening to you i would return it to your point of purchase or call the company you bought it from directly as this poses a serious health risk and may indicate a electrical fault. if i were you i would not be using this product again

akeseagus
akeseagus

Thanks. I rang company direct. they were very helpful and after speaking to safety team they have told me there is no danger it is only static.


Claire

Claireasked

I purchased a Philips FC8472/71 vacuum a few years ago & it is by far the best vacuum I've ever own. Unfortunately a clip on the inside of the flat brush which attaches to the metal tube broke. I have been searching for a spare part but I am not 100% what I'm actually look for. Should I look for the flat brush, the metal tube or are both attached together?

1 answer
Philips
Philips S.Philips

Hi Claire. It may be best to reach out to our product specialists for this. You can reach them at 1300 363 391, option 8 (for Australia), or at 0800 658 224, option 8 (for New Zealand)


DEBBIE STUART

DEBBIE STUARTasked

I cannot find a replacement filter for my Philips PowerPro4 anywhere in Australia. Could you please help me although it is cleaned often, it is clearly losing its suction quite considerably. The Philips online shop does not cater for Australians!!! Many thanks DEBS

5 answers
Remya
Remya

Hi Debbie,

It was available in target. Here is the link.

http://www.target.com.au/p/philips-hepa-filter-for-fc8761-71/55242608

Remya
Remya

Hi,

Also, the kit is cheaper but isn't always available..you should keep checking it to buy when it is available.

http://www.target.com.au/p/philips-replacement-kit-fc8635-fc8472/55242615?cstrackid=f1696781-2dcc-46bc-9a94-534f19be0e65

Rochelle
Rochelle

Sorry Debbie, I can't help you as we've disposed of it already. Good luck


Get an answer from our members and Philips representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.