??!
1 photo
QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance

1.2 from 31 reviews

Car Insurance Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of car insurance would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

1.2

31 reviews
5
(1)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(29)
  • Value for Money
    1.3 (24)
  • Transparency
    1.4 (22)
  • Customer Service
    1.2 (26)
Previous
Next
Sean

SeanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 43 likes

Crooks. Avoid. Read ABC investigation August 4 2020

published

QBE are underwriters for ANZ NAB and several others. Avoid avoid avoid all forms of insurance from QBE and all resellers. Re employment insurance they commit fraud to avoid paying claims. Most likely extend this practice to all branches of insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Model2001-2007 Hyundai Terracan
See all answers

DO NOT CHOOSE QBE, YOU WILL BE SORRY

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelFord Everest UA II Trend
See all answers
Andy

AndyDarwin

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

you're warned - sometimes very poor customer service

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
borrisnorris132

borrisnorris132

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

No Problems so far.

published

No problems with QBE so far and the cheapest insurance I could find. I got comprehensive insurance. Haven't yet made a claim, but the price during covid was very generous.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Nav

NavSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never deal with QBE

published

Made claim in 2019, Now it has been more than 6 months still waiting. Rude customer service, not reliable. Worst car insurance company. Never Never Never Never Never Never use QBE.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Bec

BecSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst experience after car was stolen.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
MYcity-Brisbane

MYcity-BrisbaneAU

  • 18 reviews
  • 23 likes

QBE has done themselves a huge disservice to have amateur overseas call centres

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Sayed F.

Sayed F.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not even a legit insurance!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Robbie

RobbieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Overseas call centre is pathetic... Seem to be trained with same answers, no call backs, no resolutions!!! Never again..

published

It has been 4 weeks, since my accident. My car is sitting at the repairer, and still no answers from QBE. Farcical, All i want is an answer so i can move forward. Simple as that. The offshore call centre are a pack of puppets...

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ebsy Y.

Ebsy Y.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Absolutely farcicle!!

published

Have QBE with both cars. My car had a deep scratch made a claim got a payout which unfortunately didnt have time to get repaired before another car smashed into the exact same spot and back of my car. Qbe refused to cover claiming the amount given would repair it all. We pay THAT much in insurance and they refuse to cover a second accident that was now my fault. Oh and the other parties insurance should cover it since it was their fault correct? Well they were with QBE too suprise suprise why they wouldnt cover it. Im so ticked off will never recommend and by the looks of all other reviews QBE is a FARCE.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Car ModelMercedes-Benz A-Class A45 W176 AMG
See all answers
Smith19

Smith19Victoria

Worst insurance company out there

published

In an accident I wasnt at fault in, it took 6 weeks to settle it with my car being a total loss.
I called them so many times with them doing nothing for weeks, they kept telling me incorrect information. It wasnt until two weeks in that they actually even moved my car from the tow yard to be assessed.
Customer service are very unhelpful, on hold every time I called and passed around to everyone. They dont document information so no one ever knows where the claim is at.
I recommend no one to ever go with this company, they make even the simplest things a huge hassle.
At a time when the last thing you need is more stress, QBE makes a lot worse.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Disgusted

DisgustedMid North Coast, NSW

Very very bad service. Have been treated so badly. Please be very careful with this insurance company.

published

Fact ! You people are so rude. Poor mismanagement of my policy Fact ! I've recorded every conversation with you people & will be passing this on to my solicitor. Very poor service.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMotorcycle
See all answers
RJF

RJFSouth East Queensland, QLD

Poor customer service

published

I'm waiting to speak to a customer service officer and so far have waited over 45 minutes. There is no option to leave your number and have someone ring you back. Who has time to be on hold for over 45 minutes during working hours????

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
May N.

May N.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Just spend more elsewhere

published

It’s not worth the money you save. It doesn’t add up to the total headache of dealing with this company. Started out with 4 policies, cancelled them all over time.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Cameron

CameronGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

If only these guys fought for me as hard as they fought against me.

published

Over 2 months to get policy paid out but didn't mention they were keeping the GST. Didn't even look at my vehicle for a week after the accident. Now it's 11 months since my "not at fault" accident and QBE tell me "we have recouped our losses, so we will not pursue the other insurer for your out of pocket damages", even though they told me they would. I got hit by a courier van, now I am $18000 out of pocket and counting.
Made an official complaint, they found in their favour.
My Advice is go straight to the AFCA if you need to claim with these guys.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Cameron
Cameron
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
sam

samMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews

DISGUSTING

published

I was told they would pay my emergency towing, after 1 week still not payment so I couldn’t get my car, was advised I can use my hire car as I pay extra, none of their companies in my town had an account with them so they couldn’t help me. Disgusting wouldn’t waste my money on them QBE is also ANZ bank.
Should be shut down, no Aussie and continuously have to repeat why I’m calling.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
QBE
QBEQBE

Hello, we're sorry to hear about this experience. We will PM you for some details to look into it

Tony

TonySydney, NSW

Bad,Bad,Bad

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelKTM Adventure Bike
See all answers
2 comments
QBE
QBEQBE

Hi Tony, we're sorry to hear about this experience. If you can reply to our private message with the details, we can look into it

Tony
Tony

Tell me what details you would like Ben policy number ? X863727M1
Claim number ? X2000679

Happy. Not

Happy. NotHunter Region, NSW

My lawyers probably going to call

published
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
QBE
QBEQBE

Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to hear about your experience. We will PM for some details and have a look into this

One star because I can’t choose no atat

published

Cancelling policy as competitors price for like for like policy $400 cheaper. Can’t cancel my own policy because I wasn’t the nominated driver. Then QBE thought it would be best to tell me I didn’t set up the policy no matter that I had the name and time of the phone call when establishing the policy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 200 Mark I 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel Sahara
See all answers
Florence Corneloup

Florence Corneloup

  • 6 reviews
  • 10 likes

worst insurance company

published

I would have give 0 stars, but had to give 1 star minimum...Hopeless customer service, wait for ages on the phone, not open at convenient times, cannot understand non english speaking people. Had my son listed as driver but was not advised that when he got his P plates, he would no longer be covered...had an accident and they declined the claim, I expected a big excess, but definitely not that I would not be covered...Disgusting! AVOID at all costs, RAA is cheaper anyway...

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelToyota RAV4
See all answers
1 comment
QBE
QBEQBE

Hi Florence, we're sorry to hear about your experience. You can raise this with our complaints team https://www.qbe.com/au/about/governance/complaints and they can review it

Page 1 of 2
See all QBE Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Matt B.

Matt B.asked

Comprehensive Car Insurance

Never ever again will i insure with QBE. I was run off the road by a lady on her mobile phone at warnavale. Plenty of witnesses. I was thrown 40 mtrs down the road & only suffered a broken thumb. ( Lucky to be alive ) Its coming up to 7 weeks & still no sign of my money. I received a letter to say it's been transferred to my account & still nothing. Proberly making interest off my cash. I'm on my second day As my bike is my only means of transport of paying for taxis. Also my apparel claim of $1500 was knocked back due to no pics of my blood stained clothing. I am a ex serving Army veteran with ptsd & to be treated this way in unacceptable. Please do not use there services. Next point of action is procediding with legal action against your accounts department.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and QBE representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.