??!
1 photo
Sarah Homes

Sarah Homes

3.9 from 49 reviews

See the Best Home Builders in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
22
4 star
15
3 star
1
2 star
7
1 star
4

Joanne H.

Joanne H.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • Verified customer

They promised and they delivered

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019
See all answers

  • Verified customer

Poor customer service, worst build experience I have experienced in my building history.

published

Poor management of build.
Workmanship sub par.
Many hand over issues which were never fully resolved.
Hand over was delayed multiple times meaning loss in rent for months.
The company doesn’t want to know about you once they have received all their payments.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
See all answers
Geoff

GeoffMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Poor quality work and customer service

published
Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2015
See all answers
  • Verified customer

Good value for money!

published
Construction End DateJul 2018

  • Verified customer

Our Beautiful Farm Home

published

Our entire experience with Sarah homes was excellent. From the initial design and modifications, their assistance with council variations through to the finished product. Site supervisor was excellent and any problems were quickly addressed and fixed. We were quoted a 20 week build and it was achieved in 17. Some of the things we love about the house is open plan, skillion roof, large family lounge, dining kitchen and independant kids area. We feel we have achieved an architecturally designed home from a spec builder. We now have the home we always wanted which utilises the views across the hills and blends in with the surrounding environment. Its like being on holidays everyday.

Construction End DateSep 2017

Fluffy

FluffyHindmarsh Island

  • Verified customer

Delighted with our new Sarah Home

published
Construction End DateMar 2018

Sarah

SarahAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Living the dream

published

The build manager was excellent to deal with. He was realistic with time frames and got back to us in a timely manner with queries. We needed to make a few alterations to roof design etc to cope with the weight of solar panels, and increase wind and insulation ratings as we live off the grid and efficient energy is important.

The quality of the build met our expectations and the workers were tidy on site.

The after sales service was good. We experienced a gas leak due to incorrectly plumbed pipes, but this was promptly dealt with and repairs are not noticeable.

Construction End DateMay 2015

ELP

ELPSA, 5039

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified customer

Unsure how to describe

published
Construction End DateMar 2011
  • Verified customer

Second house with Sarah homes and another great experience

published

Overall the whole experience was very good, the initial design/selection process (we made some changes to standard design without issues and at no additional costs) was efficient and timely.
The whole build was systematically managed so that there was minimum gaps between trades, from start to hand over was only 4 months.
Finishes and quality were excellent, a few little minor issues but all were fixed quickly and with no arguments.
We have now been in the house for 10 months and no post build problems, so very happy.

Construction End DateJun 2016
chris

chrisencounter bay

  • Verified customer

Poor, Poor and total lack of customer concerns

published
Construction End DateMay 2015

Telelynx

Telelynx

  • 19 reviews
  • Verified customer

Not an enjoyable experience

published

Presales and design was good as was liaison with the local council
Everything about the build was awful.
Quality is non-existent. The list of problems is endless, some I consider dangerous
Many thing were not finished properly.
There is no recourse, if you want your keys you have to pay in full and finish/fix it yourself.
Reading the other reviews, Sarah work to a system, if it works it works well, if the wheels come off it's a nightmare, it's the luck of the draw which contractors and building supervisor you get.
At the end of it we have a house, it's cost a couple of thousand to fix up the bodges but it probably would have cost more using a traditional builder.

Construction End DateDec 2016

Matt C

Matt CAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Vision to reality

published
Construction End DateJan 2016

  • Verified customer

Disgraceful builder

published

If you are thinking of going with this builder forget it, take your money and run NOW!!! Or in the process of building at every stage get a building inspection before any progress payments are made. I regret building with Sarah Homes and will never again. Quality is very poor, customer service is dreadful especially the building supervisor. Please do yourself a favor stay right away from these people.


Bill Baxter

Bill BaxterSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified customer

Our almost perfect house

published
  • Verified customer

Our dream holiday house

published

We received a lot of help and advice from the outset and made a few changes to the original plan as ideas evolved but that was all managed smoothly. It meant that we got exactly what we wanted. We were able to check on all stages of the build due to excellent communications throughout. The tradesmen welcomed us being on site and explained things to us if we inquired about anything. We noticed a large window had been damaged slightly during transport and it was removed and replaced with a new one without delay. The build quality is excellent and the design very stylish and we have received many compliments from our new neighbors. We now enjoy many happy weekends away with family and friends. Thanks Sarah Homes!

  • Verified customer

terrible workmanship and even worse customer service

published

Ingrid

IngridAdelaide

  • Verified customer

Happy in my new home.

published

My experience with planning my new build with the consultant was exceptional. Suggestions were offered and discussed with no pressure and I am very pleased with all the decisions made. The building supervisor was attentive to my requests for updates on the building progress. I was happy with the quality of the workmanship by all trades and after handover, the couple of small fixes were attended to promptly by the company.


PPlace

PPlacePort Pirie

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Fantastic House

published

The service that we received from Sarah Homes was fantastic and the finished product (our home) was built to our standard. The house is fantastic and is everything we wanted. The tradies who worked on the house were excellent and they allowed us access to the house whenever we wanted. We moved in ahead of time into a house that was complete in every way. I would certainly recommend Sarah Homes and if I was to build another home I would use them.


Ian G

Ian GWellington Marina

  • Verified customer

Great hassle free building experience

published

Everyone gets a bit nervous about building a house but we had no issues at all, it was a well managed process from beginning to end and was completed ontime. The trades all did an excellent job and there was no big gaps between trades. The one area where I was initially worried about was the painting but at handover I felt like I had failed as I couldn't find one thing wrong, its was a very good job! The supervisor was always available, or if not, would return calls promptly and the tradies themselves were very friendly and didn't mind us wondering through occasionally. Would recommend Sarah Homes for their efficiency and build quality.


libbydavis46

libbydavis46Adelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified customer

Building a second time with Sarah Homes

published

We built 7 years ago with Sarah Homes on Yorke Peninsula. The house was fantastic and anything that we noticed at handover was attended to quickly. At that time the sales staff and our supervisor were great.
We have opted to build our home at Marino with Sarah Homes as we have just sold the beach house. So far the sales staff member and the office staff have been more than helpful and made it easy to finally have approval from council. We are more than happy with our experience with Sarah Homes as our block was a difficult one to be able to fit what we desired in a house plus to fit it on our difficult block. Can only thank our sales member for helping us so much. Looking forward now to the start of the build.


Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Andrew

Andrewasked

How much difference is there typically from listed price and what people select? Is it possible to reduce the cost further from listed price? Interested in comments.

1 answer
Phillip t
Phillip t

Hi Andrew.
There listed price is just a guide. Increase your final price buy 25% and you'll be close to your final costing. Council energy requirements and there listed prices for a very basic low speck home.


Sarah28

Sarah28asked

What was the difference between quote price and actual contract price?

2 answers
Amanda
Amanda

In the subdivision that I purchased my block of land, the Local Council would only allow Sarah Homes to built onsite,
also they wanted me to install another window, before approving the plans for my home.

Therefore, I incurred extra costs of $2,400.00 to build onsite and $450.00 for a window to be installed, due to Local Council regulations.
I received two quotes for my home to be built, one without concrete piers, and one with bored concrete foundation piers, subject to the soil report.
With my soil report showing that I had to build my home with bored concrete foundation piers.

The difference between quote price, and actual contract price was $000.00.

L Griffiths
L Griffiths

The only difference in costing was what we asked for to be changed, however these were even out as we received a refund from the foundation cost.


Pat Burge

Pat Burgeasked

How much did the final price at completion vary from the price when the contract was signed?

2 answers
F&T Harris
F&T Harris

Pat, Sarah Homes were on target with the final price. There were a few post-contract variations of our own choosing that we added ourselves.
F Harris

Amanda
Amanda

Sarah Homes quoted me a price to build a home without concrete piers, and with concrete piers (subject to the soil report).
But my block of land, had to have concrete piers installed, and Sarah Homes final price was exactly what they had quoted me.
Every owner deciding to build a new home, has to have their block cleared, and leveled, and these costs can vary. I was very fortunate that my block of land was very level, and I only had to have the vegitation (Weeds, etc.) removed prior to the concrete piers being installed, and the building work commencing.
The only extra costs depend on your LOCAL COUNCIL PLANNING APPROVALS, and REGULATIONS, as I had decided to purchase a Transportable Sarah Home, but my Local Council would only allow dwellings to be built onsite, which added $2,500.00 to my final price,
and The Local Council also wanted me to put in another window, which was a post-contract variation costing me another $350.00.
Amanda


Get an answer from our members and Sarah Homes representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.