??!
1 photo
Shannons Comprehensive Car Insurance

Shannons Comprehensive Car Insurance

1.8 from 49 reviews · View Statistics

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

1.8

49 reviews
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (44)
  • Transparency
    2.1 (37)
  • Customer Service
    1.9 (46)
  • Claim Resolution Time3+ months (9), 1-2 weeks (5), 1-2 months (5), <1 week (2) and 2-4 weeks (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (13) · No (9)
Previous
Next
David M.

David M.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

1 star is not low enough

published

Didnt even want my money. Have to be part of their club they said. Talk to me like I'm was a pleb. Disgraceful customer service. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSouth East Queensland, QLD

3 years and goes up over 10% with 65% no Claim Discount

published

Had to haggle every year from the start.. Suncorp was cheaper from the start. If you choose Shannons you will get a big discount if you do not claim after 3 years they stated, so I chose Shannons. After 3 years the policy went up another 8.7% from the previous year (year 2) and when discussing the policy with a charming lady as per every year (with attitude). The 65% is already applied! Your Motorcycle depreciates every year! (Good luck replacing a 2017 CBR1000RR Matt Black at all, FYI! With minimal kms in mint condition in near new condition) Suncorp is a sister company she stated. Cancelled the policy and went with Suncorp for $300+ dollars cheaper per year with same agreed value. Poor form Shannons. Wake up to yourselves.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Mat

MatHunter Region, NSW

Don’t answer

published

Rang three times. Waited 20-30 minutes each time with no answer. I have four policies with them already and wanted comprehensive insurance on another brand new vehicle. Well YOUi are living my business now

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Prado J150 GX 4 Cylinder, 2.8 Litre Automatic
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Shannons Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jamie frank

Jamie frankMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Do not do any business with Shannon’s.

published

I wish I could leave no stars. Do not do business with these people. I had my car stolen and they did absolutely nothing but try and get out of paying. After weeks of back and forth they only gave me a partial amount of what my car was insured for. Change your Insurance provider ASAP. Absolute criminals, the people I spoke to didn’t care and had no passion

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
See all answers
Lee Goldring

Lee GoldringFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews
  • 7 likes

Not Shannons. Now 100% Suncorp

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Bobby

BobbyQueensland

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

NO PASSION HERE

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Leena

LeenaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 21 reviews
  • 13 likes

Shannons Unreliable roadside accident procedures

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Yaris
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Joe

JoeWerribee

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Shocking service! Customer service training required urgently.

published

Shocking service! I've been with Shannons for a number of years and was recently in and out of hospital with a serious breakdown. Shannons sent me emails about my overdue car insurance premiums and just cancelled by policies without even trying to make a simple phone call. When I contacted them and explained what happened, they simply ignored me and said that they don't contact customers by phone. They completely showed a lack of compassion and just stated that I should have checked my mail. I was in hospital for Gods sake. A simple phone call could have saved me this additional anxiety.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelIsuzu D-MAX
See all answers
Peter C

Peter C

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Purchase Shannons car insurance at your own risk!

published

We had multiple policies for a number of years, claim initially approved but next day quote for additional damaged submitted to purposely write off car. Shannons contacted VicRoads to write off car before they contacted us. AFCA supported Shannons at every turn, although they mislead them with non-current product disclosure statement, if you don’t believe our story check AFCA stats online to see what chance you have of getting a fair go.
Shannons are only the face of the company you have to deal with when you make a claim, never again!
No trust in Shannons to provide what you pay for.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Shannons Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Les M.

Les M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing service and support

published

This is the second time that I had to make a claim with Shannons and I still keep my no claim.
Their staff and service is awesome they paid out fast

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHarley Davidson
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
kym.b.wilson

kym.b.wilsonGippsland, VIC

Very happy with my shannons claim

published

We have been with shannons for over 15 years. Recently I made my first insurance claim ever. Shannon's were brilliant, they didn't need lots of paper work or ask lots of questions. They suggested a repairer close by, but said I could get a quote from our regular repairer if I wanted. The claim was very easy and fast and the time for the work to be arranged and completed was amazing! They suggested I use windscreens Obrien but also said I could use another windscreen provider if I chose. It took less than 3 weeks from my first phone call to shannons to having my car returned repaired.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

More damages to my car and lied

published

These people are dishonest, lies thru their teeth, I bought my car back from them because it’s not viable to fix but I got my car back with more damages and no longer drivable (broke my gear shifter), and they wouldn’t reduce the price or fix it. Passed me around different people who tells me different things.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Unbelievably rude and would not give me a quote on a modified car I was looking to buy

published

I asked for a quote for buying a modified car and because I didn't go to car shows and have a suped up modified car already, I wasn't an acceptable person who fit their model to get a quote from them. Couldn't believe they refused to give me a quote! What company refuses business just because I don't have the car they think I should have now? Still shaking my head in wonder of the rudeness and dismissal I was given.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHyundai i30
See all answers
Peter M

Peter MBelconnen 2615, ACT

Terrible customer service

published

Lost a car in the recent ACT hail event. Shannon’s very extremely efficient in collecting the excess payment from me however not a single phone call or update was given after that time. No hire car, no assistance provided inspite of having comprehensive insurance. I will never deal with Shannon’s again. 5 weeks on, still nothing.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Helen C.

Helen C.Far North Queensland, QLD

Lost me on my first call for a quote.

published

Not a fan of Shannons from the start.
When I rang for a quote for my new scooter I felt like I was put through the wringer and spat out. The questions where more intense and personal than any of the other insurance companies I had rung that morning. Not to mention the conversation took a long 20 minute. At the end of this service they gave me a quote of over double the price of the other quotes I had. Oh, I have to say that Shannons were friendly (or over friendly) to the stage of after 20 minutes I was praying this conversation would be over soon.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Modelscooter
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Shannons Comprehensive Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John R

John RIllawarra, NSW

Thank you Shannons Insurance

published

Loss my 71 Valiant in bushfires Dec 19 Shannon's dealt with claim very quickly and efficiently and all by phone They also looked after numerous friends who lost everything ie house extremely well thank you

Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
geoff w

geoff w

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

great service,totally drama free claim

published

recently made a claim for a motorcycle that my son had an accident on (total loss) and the process was great. claim paid out including riding gear and helmet within ten days.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car Modeltriumph
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Jim

JimADELAIDE

  • 4 reviews
  • 12 likes

Disgusting

published

Absolute disgusting service.
I had a vintage bike accident nearly 8 months ago. Shannon's being useless and unreliable as the worst of them.
Ombudsman had to be contacted, even they were amazed at how bad Shannon's are. Pbuh.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
Austin P.

Austin P.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Shannons enthusiastically difficult

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeVeteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
See all answers
You will be had

You will be hadSouth East Queensland, QLD

They are Brilliant

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car Model1967 MGB
See all answers
Page 1 of 3
See all Shannons Car Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Sorry, there are no questions about Shannons Comprehensive Car Insurance but you can read 5 questions about Shannons Car Insurance.

Get an answer from our members and Shannons representatives

Details

Compare all 2 Shannons Car Insurance
CategoryCar Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents
Coverage TypeComprehensive
UnderwriterAllianz
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 million
Choice of RepairerAllowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $500
Towing Costs Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500
Benefits
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to 14 days to a limit of $1,500

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $2,000 in total
Transit Cover Not Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $1,000
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

If your motor vehicle or motorcycle is deemed a total loss and:

  • your motor vehicle or motorcycle is less than one year old from the date of original registration,

  • you purchased it new

  • you are the first registered owner

  • any finance company with an interest in your motor vehicle or motorcycle gives its consent

Your motor vehicle or motorcycle will be replaced with a new vehicl e of the same make, model and series

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $500
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Included
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot Included
FireNot Included
CollisionNot Included
Natural EventsNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftIncluded
Compare all 2 Shannons Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.