??!
1 photo
Southern Phone NBN
1.5 from 826 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.9 (306)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (254)
  • Customer Service
    1.7 (316)
  • Adequate Speeds Yes (80) · No (188)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
David

DavidPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

I'm Leaving Southern Phone - Poor Service, Speed and Transparency

published

After months of me asking for tech help because of drop outs, slow and variable speed, I discovered it was their CVC. Cheaper to handle complaints than buy more CVC.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateAugust 2017
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
Avi P.

Avi P.South East Queensland, QLD

Still getting charged after cancelling

published

Similar to other reviews, after cancelling the account, I still have been getting charged.
Their internet was terrible. Non-stop dropout.
And now that I changed to different NBN, I am still getting charged. My acc number is ACC240775

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateMarch 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Avi P.
Avi P.

I will wait for that.

nevets989

nevets989Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

Worst customer service I've had in almost 20 years of using broadband

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJanuary 2021
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
12 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
nevets989
nevets989
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone NBN compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Absolute Rubbish! They expect us to be okay with NO INTERNET FOR 2 MONTHS!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
3 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Ankit Agarwal
Ankit Agarwal
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

*** Will never use this service again ***

published

To start had no problems with the internet then after a couple of months the connection turned to crap the speed was slow always seems to cut out over night. When then put the speed up again it worked fine for a couple of months but yet again we started having issues. Ours came with 5G network and 4G I believe however the 4G stopped working altogether after a couple of months. Would rather pay extra to have a reliable service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateDecember 2019
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Graham W.

Graham W.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Really poor customer service.

published

I purchased a 100mbs package on Christmas day. And was advised by email that they would be in touch within 48 hours (business days). After waiting till the 31st, I called to follow up. Waited over 30 mins on hold, then a further 20 or so on the phone with someone who in the end couldn't help. I then recieved a call from someone else advising that the 100mbps package wouldn't work in my area because it is fibre to the node. I said, that's fine, can you just amend the order. She said no, and wanted me to go back online and purchase a different package. Absolutely ridiculous. I'm really annoyed!

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Aaron

AaronCentral, SA

A sham of a company!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateSeptember 2020
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Awful connection cuts out every 10 minutes

published

Internet keeps cutting out every 10 mins and has been for the past 3 months completely useless dont use this company have had troubles since I have changed over had no problems prior

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateApril 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
JesB

JesBGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

keeps on charging after contract termination

published

Have had multiple issues with this company over 2yrs. A month ago I requested for contract termination per 24-11-2020 and they keep charging my CC with 80AUD (incl 10 dollar late pay fee??).

If you consider them; just dont

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateSeptember 2018
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
5 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
JesB
JesB

Hi Shelby, thanks for your response. Yes it is a shame. Please find my customer nr attached. I hope we can resolve this switfly. ACC107041

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone NBN compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sunny

SunnyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Worst ever is Southern phone

published

Extremely poor service. I took it because it was cheaper under employee plan. Yeah I am employee and can't get it fixed. Honestly this is worst ever service !

Save yourself the headache and go with a decent company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeHFC (Cable)
Adequate SpeedsNo
Contract Type12-month contract
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Worst company ever

published

Extremely poor and unreliable internet service. We complained multiple times and things did not improve.

When we tried to leave the customer service people tried to gaslight us. They have continuously lied to us. Customer service are extremely unhelpful. I was told it was my fault our internet was unreliable because we chose the basic plan.

We keep getting bills even after they have agreed to stop billing us.

Save yourself the headache and go with a decent company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateOctober 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
5 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
kellie a.
kellie a.
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Kellie,
If you do not respond here with your account number, I can not review your account and help fix this issue. I am more than happy to look into this and get it sorted but I can not do that unless you provide me with the necessary details.

Ash R.

Ash R.South East Queensland, QLD

  • NBN
  • Verified customer

appalling experience trying to cancel our NBN and getting charged an extra month

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Start DateJune 2019
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
5 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Ash,
I am so sorry to read that the disconnection of your account has been going on for so long. If you can please respond with your account number, I can review your refund and the closure of your account and get it fixed up.

Ash R.
Ash R.
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Bruce

BruceSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Can't live without it

published

No problems with drop outs and able to pick up speed at night.

No issues and happy too be with Southern Phones and your Optus nextwork is reliable and safe.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Connection TypeI don't know
Start DateAugust 2016
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledBundled
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Over Charged for 6 mths

Over Charged for 6 mthsSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fraudulently ripping off Senior Citizens!! 6 mths and still cannot rectify overcharged bill.. Stay away!!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTB (Fibre to the Building)
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Nauro64

Nauro64Central West, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Stay Away!!!

published

After cancelling my NBN service I continued to be billed for months. Despite many efforts to stop this they kept billing me. I eventually went to the Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman in order to obtain a refund. A month after the refund I have now received a bill for further usage and recovery of the refund. Update 05 December 2020 They just sent me another invoice for $149.00. Despite the response I am STILL being billed!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeWireless
Start DateJuly 2007
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract Type24-month contract
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
4 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Nauro64
Nauro64

Acc142348

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi Robert,
I have credited the account and it has been closed. I apologise that this has happened.

Internet Service Providers

Find out how Southern Phone NBN compares to other Internet Service Providers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
May L.

May L.Sydney, NSW

Keeps charging after service termination notified, late payment fee

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Start DateJanuary 2018
Data TypeCapped Data
See all answers
13 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
May L.
May L.
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hi May,
I can see that you spoke with someone yesterday in relation to this and they have advised that they have applied a credit of $49.95. Have you received an email confirming this?
- Shelby

Jeff P.

Jeff P.Wimmera, VIC

Late charge fee on direct debit.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTN (Fibre to the Node)
Adequate SpeedsYes
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
3 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Jeff P.
Jeff P.

ACC119247 My invoice numbers do not align with the numbers on your website.
Late payment fees raised on both August and September invoices.
One credit on September account.

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
annmack

annmackSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible customer service and tech help they need more in depth training

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Terrible customer service, rude disinterested staff and worst NBN we have ever had

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeFTTP (Fibre to the Premises)
Adequate SpeedsNo
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Ash

AshSouthwest, VIC

DISGRACEFUL!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Connection TypeI don't know
Adequate SpeedsNo
Standalone or BundledStandalone
Contract TypeMonth-to-month
Data TypeUnlimited Data
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone
Ash
Ash

No missed calls or voicemails left. Have sent you my number

Page 1 of 42
See all Southern Phone Broadband reviews

Questions & Answers

Vicki

Vickiasked

NBN 12 (Basic)

Hi, is the internet nbn still down. I've had no wifi or internet since the power went down 31st dec. Hope I'm going to being reimbursed and I cant keep sitting on phone waiting for someone to answer.

1 answer
Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Good morning Vicki,
Thanks for reaching out. I'm sorry to hear that your service is not working at the moment. Are you able to respond to my private message with your account details so I can assist you further? *Shelby

John007

John007asked

NBN

After changing address to a NBN ready retirement village, my folks keep receiving an sms from SP asking them to fill in a form on the NBN site re "new developers" . I've looked everywhere on the site for this form that a resident might fill in. Can't for the life of me find it. Asked SP for further info to clarify this, and they just keep sending the same message. No help. The NBN site, moreover, indicates the ISP is meant to confirm the permission from the owners of the village. This has gone on for a month. Can someone help with this? SP certainly doesn't seem to be able to; they can still send the full bill though - they don't have a problem with doing that.

2 answers
Sharon l
Sharon l

Hi john007 i sat on phone for a while to talk to actual person when I had a problem which was then dealt with easier than getting frustrated online their response was great sorted out and followed up although the call wait was 15min.put phone on speaker keep listening while doing something else. .im sure they will adjust your bill when they help you.

Southern Phone
Southern Phone C.Southern Phone

Hello John,
Your parent's new address is not currently listed with NBN, this means providers are unable to complete the connection. To begin the process of registering your parent's address, you will need to complete the Pre-Qualification form online at http://www2.nbnco.com.au/industry/new-developments.html or search “Register your new development” on the NBN Co website. Once all relevant documentation has been submitted and completed their address will be assigned a "LOC ID" which is specific to their address to allow us to place an order for NBN. Please don't hesitate to send us a message to socialteam@southernphone.net.au if you have any further questions or concerns. *Yvette

Get an answer from our members and Southern Phone representatives

Details

Compare all 7 Southern Phone Broadband
CategoryInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service ProvidersInternet Service Providers
Standard Monthly Price A$60.00A$70.00A$100.00
Service TypeNBNNBNNBN
Packages AvailableStandaloneStandaloneStandalone
ContractMonthlyMonthlyMonthly
Data AllowanceUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
NBN Speed Tier 12/150/20100/40
Max Download Speed 12 Mbps50 Mbps100 Mbps
Max Upload Speed 1 Mbps20 Mbps40 Mbps
Compare all 7 Southern Phone Broadband

Visit official website

Other Internet Service Providers

Previous
Launtel

Launtel

4.9
(552)
Mint Telecom

Mint Telecom

4.9
(431)
MATE

MATE

4.4
(2,519)
Harbour ISP

Harbour ISP

4.2
(1,265)
Bordernet

Bordernet

4.7
(66)
OntheNet

OntheNet

4.7
(59)
OptiComm

OptiComm

4.0
(389)
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.