??!
2 photos
Stiebel Eltron WWK300A

Stiebel Eltron WWK300A

3.1 from 88 reviews

Reviews

3.1

88 reviews
5
(29)
4
(9)
3
(14)
2
(17)
1
(19)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    2.0 (2)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.7 (3)
  • Heating Speed
    4.0 (3)
Previous
Next
Louiedidi

LouiedidiSouth East Queensland, QLD

Average System for the Price

published

Purchased in October 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
countrygirl

countrygirlCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Sadly another 7 year death

published

Inherited this hot water service when I purchased the house 4 months ago ,and was happy to have a German manufactured system. Found it to be noisy but happy with the pressure and temperature of the hot water and the electrical bill. Sadly like other reviews a fatal leak of refrigerant within the sealed section, rendered the unit useless except for scrap.
Had great service from the gentlemen at Stibel who organised parts to be posted for best case scenario and also organised a second opinion at their cost. They were professional and above helpful.
The disappointing thing is such an expensive unit having such a short lifespan which seems to be a common issue. Despite the excellent service I could not justify another Stibel.

Purchased in January 2012 for A$3,000.00.

Household Size 5 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
John

John

  • 2 reviews

Good till it dies.

published

Good for nearly 9 years but water leakage from top of cylinder led to total failure - apparently a common problem. Leads to corrosion and failure of heating elements at bottom of cylinder. Being European manufactured, I would say that they are not suitable for Australian conditions. Good initially but I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Purchased in May 2010 at Local Electrical & Solar Services for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Stiebel Eltron WWK300A compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Not fit for purpose.

published

I bought 3 of these machines in 2010.
Since then all three have been replaced by stiebel Elton under warranty. This was 2 years ago.
Now they are all failing again, 2 have stopped working in the last 10 days.
They are noisy and I had to buy acoustic hoods.
I have given up with them and have replaced them with instantaneous gas.
They are a joke $3k each and a rubbish product.

Date PurchasedMar 2016

Terrible Service from Eltron

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Anna L
Anna L
Sol

SolPort Macquarie

Stiebel Eltron WWK300A

published

I brought a Stiebel Eltron WWK300A back in May 2011, I live near the coastal area and it seems to affect those areas the most. Cylinders close to sea water erodes quicker. After 7 years now I'm thinking of buying something else having problems. Same problems as everyone else mentioned. Repair $1200 for call out and replacement of motor and cylinder.

The warranty only last as certain parts work. 1 year for all other parts, 2 years for Evaporator, 2 years for Compressor, 5 years for Condenser and extra expense may be after 3-5 years.
After Seven years having issues...

Total disappointment! Don't buy it!

Date PurchasedMay 2011
Damo

DamoMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Failed after 7 years

published

Initially reduced our electricity bill substantially. Fan makes a bit of noise but it worked well and keep our water hot and our winters are often -2 to 5 degree mornings. After 7 years it started to leak heavily from the top water outlet which cannot be fixed. Our friend bought one at the same time and they have needed to hit the reset switch every morning for 18 months to keep theirs going.

Date PurchasedJan 2011
Marcelle Ogg

Marcelle OggBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Failed - Garbage

published
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Fotomate88

Fotomate88Scarborough

  • 8 reviews
  • 8 likes

Extremely disappointed - by the product, and also the company!

published
Date PurchasedOct 2010
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Stiebel Eltron WWK300A compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great product

published

Got mine about the 6 years ago under a government incentive program in SA. They can be a little noisy due to fan running but isnt too bad, they will run longer in cold weather.....i have a smart meter which allows me to boost during the day when ambient temps are higher. Have not had a problem with support from company as i rang them because i had concern with pressure relif valve opening a little, they sent a new valve which i havent replaced yet as i havent got around to it. Not an issue really. Temps do get down to minus 2 where i live during winter.....my brother has one as well and we are both happy. Overall a very good system.

Date PurchasedFeb 2011
TheFacts

TheFactsSydney, NSW

Poor product, poor service, major disappointment with a German product.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2012
1 comment
TheFacts
TheFacts

update 02/2019 - again , no issues a year later. Looks brand new.

Sharon

Sharon

  • 18 reviews
  • 8 likes

Expensive, noisy, does not provide value for purchase price.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2012

Great customer service!

published

I wrote the previous review 'Not Happy Jan' but now must retract some of my sentiment as the supplier in Melbourne backed up the warranty even though it was a month out and has just replaced the unit. The tradesman who turned up was polite, informative, skilled and helpful. I couldn't be more happy. The heat pump is producing steaming hot water, the unit is quieter and its no more cold showers for me! Thankyou!

Date PurchasedJan 2012
HXBischof

HXBischofAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 9 likes

Purchased 2 units and both work just fine.

published

One unit has been in operation for one year, the other for 3 years. I have them indoors (laundry and garage) where you can hardly hear them but where they are protected from the elements. They are on a timer to come on when we are usually out. The water is always hot and it uses very little electricity (about 50 cents a day). They have never missed a beat. One replaced a useless Solar HWS which cost over $4000 and never worked. After that company went belly up I switched to Stiebel Eltron and so far I'm very pleased with their product.

Date PurchasedNov 2013
Quang

QuangSydney

Stiebel WWK300AH - a lemon

published
Date PurchasedJul 2010
Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Find out how Stiebel Eltron WWK300A compares to other Electric Hot Water Storage Systems

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Tez

TezMid North Coast, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Heap of Junk

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2011
BOBA

BOBASydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

WHAT AN EXPENSIVE MISTAKE

published
Date PurchasedAug 2009

5 years of hassles

published

At least once a year we have to call a technician in to sort out our 2 x heat pumps. Unacceptable!!! We now once again have no hot water and we have 2 huge heat pumps. Ultra rubbish. I would like someone from Stiebel Eltron to come and fix or remove these heat pumps.

1 comment
Stiebel Eltron
Kimberly J.Stiebel Eltron
John B

John BCairns

7 Year Failure

published

It appears that 7 Years is the limit of these units.
Same problem in most of post's i have read, the Technician Stiebel Eltron advised me to use told me that it had a Gas Leak and was irreparable due to Incorrect installation and Suggested Replacing the unit.
This advise cost me a Total of $467.50.

Faulty after 6 months now failed again

published

Unit failed after 6 months and now has failed again after 7 years .For this expensive item this is inexcusable ,I presume no warranty now applies. The Technician has said the gas has all leaked out and now I am without hot water in a family of four, who do I contact.

2 comments
Stiebel Eltron
Kimberly J.Stiebel Eltron
Gonzo
Gonzo

Technician said the rain had got to the aluminium coil around the cylinder and corroded it. Later models have closed up this path around the insulation, but mine is in the dump.

Page 1 of 5
See all Stiebel Eltron WWK300A / WWK300AH reviews

Questions & Answers

Garry W.

Garry W.asked

WWK300A

Like many people here, my Stiebel Eltron WWK300A makes an incredible noise (nasty mechanichal noise), I can hear it from anywhere in my house, and a neighbor has just built a bedroom a few feet away from it. After so much expense I feel it is money down the drain. Would never recommend it because of this reason.

No answers
Mark

Markasked

WWK300A

Hi can you please tell me the anode thread size for a WWK 300A hot water system.

No answers
Simon N.

Simon N.asked

WWK300A

Is it true that STIEBL ELTRON heat pump hot water system need direct electricity form Switch,
Board and normal electrical plug is inadequate.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Stiebel Eltron representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.