??!
6 photos
ALDI Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017)

ALDI Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017)

3.4 from 29 reviews

Reviews

3.4

29 reviews
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    3.0 (7)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (7)
Previous
Next

Rusty pipes and leaking gas

published

The pipes inside this fridge are mild steel. You’d be lucky to get longer than 4 years from this rubbish. Rusty pipes and leaking gas. I’d advise for all to stay away.

Purchased in January 2017 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
tim

timSydney, NSW

5 star fridge with the same compressor as the big guys

published

Purchased in January 2015 at ALDI for A$440.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

Terrible value for momey

published

Purchased April 2017 and stored it in my shed powered off. First and second camping trips it worked fine although the current draw was a little high. Third trip plugged it into the power and the display started flashing, the motor did not come on or the light. Very disappointed/.

Purchased at ALDI for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how ALDI Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debby

DebbySydney, NSW

Was great for 4 years! Now Er1 showing and not working

published

We purchased this camping fridge from Aldi about 4 years ago- we'd seen too many Engels get stolen in camping grounds and felt it was safer to have a less expensive model!
It was a great fridge for about 4 years but has suddenly started reading Er1 and not working. Would I buy one again- probably not. It cost about $450 but really to be used for less than 6 weeks a year it should have lasted longer.

Purchased in October 2015 for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Fridge, Short Life, Poor Warranty Period, Not Good Value for $500.

published

Purchased 09/2015, not used until 12/15, worked great permanently in my 4x4 with extra battery and solar, warranty period expired, then the dreaded E1 code appeared, changed plug to Anderson socket, better for a while, then it wouldnt get below +2 when set at -3, progressively got worse, put it on mains power and it actually went to +9 while still set at -3, contacted after sales service in booklet, no response and no reply, contacted Aldi and was directed to a local authorised repairer who was very helpful, Fridge has internal gas leak = not repairable. Contacted Aldi again, Sorry out of warranty we cant help. $500 for 3 Years, Not Good Value in my Opinion.

Purchased in September 2015 at ALDI for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Eugene

Eugene

  • 4 reviews

No problems

published

I bought this fridge couple of years ago. Used it on several trips, and so far quite happy with it. Works well, drops the temperature fairly quickly. In retrospect it is a little too small for my purposes (hunting), but there is nothing wrong with it so far.

Purchased in July 2017 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Bug

BugSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Going Great So Far...

published

I purchased the 40L fridge in September of 2016 pre-Fraser island trip. It was great for the 5 days on Fraser and many camping trips after as well. It lives in the 4WD most of the time (but not powered) when needed I put it on 240v to chill it and it gets down to 2c in about 30 minutes.
Just came back from a weekend up at Teewah and the temps were in the 30's, the fridge was fine at 2c and keep the essentials good and cold.
At $400-500 the fridge represents good value and I may buy another when this one craps out. Wait and see I guess, as $500 for 5 years is near the cost of the "reliable" brands that you may not get 10 years out of anyway IMHO.

Purchased in September 2016 at ALDI for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers
Jayp

JaypSydney

  • 2 reviews

efficient cooler

published

Have used it on an off for the last year and it works really well, both via power AC and car DC connection. Mostly used it as a refrigerator and not freezer. Decent space. On empty it takes about 1.5 hours to get below 0 degrees, recommended that you pack the unit with your cold goods and cool over-night before you travel the next day with your foods/drinks.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Freddy Farbuckle

Freddy FarbuckleSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 15 reviews

A Dud

published

Bailed up after 6 trips & 3 years use. Agent fixed it up with non genuine parts as no makers parts available, though he told me the fridge wouldn't be able to be repaired again. Waster of my time & money. Should have known better than to buy from Aldi.

Date PurchasedMar 2015
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how ALDI Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KeystoneVisa

KeystoneVisaSydney

  • 2 reviews

Have used twice on camping trips

published

The works well. We have it set up on a deep cycle battery when camping and has worked wonderfully. No issues. The range of the thermostat appears to go from 1C to 6C but put a digital thermometer inside and stays pretty consistent around 4C which is what I am aiming at.

Would recommend as a it is at the lower end of pricing and works as well as the upper priced end of town.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Lemon

published

Very dissapointed in my stirling, used 3 times fof 3 day campimg trips and it wont hold the temp got up to25 degrees had it fixed got the new house battery tested and now used it again for Easter, n doing the same thing am sick of throwing food away !! Am getting my money back

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Danni N

Danni NMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great for camping

published

This 40litre portable fridge freezer is amazing. I can store meats other foods and drinks at the same time and keep it’s cool for a very long time. Food does not go off as it’s quite durable sturdy as well as easy to transport anywhere. We always take this with us to camp and picnic and can definitely relay on this product. Well worth it.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
montxsuz

montxsuzAU

  • 30 reviews

Very dependable

published

It has the same German compressor as many other brands. Very dependable. We have just used it for 8 weeks non-stop around the continent, and had no problems whatsoever. We've owned it for 2-3 years now. Good value for money. To the person who gave it 1-star because they lost their powercord. It is not Aldi Stirling's fault you lost it! Just go to your local electronics or camping store and buy a new one. It is just a standard portable fridge powercord!

Date PurchasedJun 2015
Matt

MattQLD, 4132

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
KAR

KAR

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Back up support ???

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how ALDI Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017) compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Arthur campos

Arthur camposSydney

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

what a great deal.

published

Very good product, the accessories and fridge cover are top quality, plus it is half the price of others, and sorry to say that, the quality of Stirling is lot more superior . But I just bought the last one in the store, good luck for you to find one in aldi .

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Jeffrey S

Jeffrey SAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Goooooood ;)

published

The Stirling (Aldi) portable Fridge/Freezer 40 litre is one of the best portable storage ever! The Stirling (Aldi) portable Fridge/Freezer 40 litre is very light itself and somewhat lighter to carry than holding the items i put in the Stirling (Aldi) portable Fridge/Freezer 40 litre. Overall, The Stirling (Aldi) portable Fridge/Freezer 40 litre is a great portable and i reccomend buying it!

Date PurchasedMar 2014
Capt Al

Capt Al

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

i am happy with my stirling..installed on my yacht ..now about to buy a second one..Alan A

published

it has replaced my engel on the yacht ..now i will have one as freezer and one as fridge.beats buying a bag of ice every weekend.wired up to the four gel batteries and charged by four solar panels and a wind generator...also can adapt to a sinewave 240 volt generator..

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Dan

DanMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent for the price

published

I've had mine for just over a month. It ran for 2 weeks straight at 4 degrees including being hooked up to a 105ah battery in my ute for a camping trip and it's worked a treat.

The only negatives so far:

1. The transit cover seems largely ornamental and I doubt it would offer any insulating properties like the competition

2. As has been reviewed the transit cover does get a bit caught on the lid when closing

Date PurchasedMay 2017
Marti

Marti

  • 5 reviews
  • 22 likes

Happy Camper.

published

For $450 I don't think you would get a better fridge. Mine runs on a 100amp hour battery charged by a 160 watt solar panel and has run constantly on 0 degrees since just after xmas. It draws very little power compared to my 100l Evakool but is a bit small for extended camping. Best to have 2 one fridge and one freezer.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
Page 1 of 2
See all ALDI Portable Fridge / Freezer reviews

Questions & Answers

Terry Howlett

Terry Howlettasked

Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017)

Hello to all - Just enquiring re the snap shut mechanism has come away from the lid - is there a replacement handle available? - Cheers Terry

No answers
Billy K.

Billy K.asked

Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017)

Where can I purchase the 12 volt connectionlead for the 41L fridge freezer

No answers
Les

Lesasked

Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017)

Stirling been working very well but now coming up with Er1. Can you suggest an answer.

1 answer
Dave B.
Dave B.

Power cut off. Not enough colts in battery.

Try setting the volt switch next to plug to low

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.