??!
1 photo
Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless)

Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless)

MPN: EM7000
4.0 from 164 reviews

Reviews

4.0

164 reviews
5
(86)
4
(37)
3
(13)
2
(10)
1
(18)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (17)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (16)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (11)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.2 (14)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.0 (13)
Previous
Next
DRoberts90

DRoberts90AU

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Poor quality build

published

These machines are built poorly. 2 years on and it leaks from the bottom. Last Sunbeam product I buy. Utter crap, no consistency in quality, except that it is pot luck if you get a descent one for your money.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
See all answers

EM7000 to be serviced

published

I need to EM7000 to be serviced in Hobart Tasmania and there no service agents except the other end of state which is 3 hours away. I rang customer service but the could not help. Left message for manager to call Me - no response. Lodged online query and email advising someone would contact me in 3 days - no response. How is it possible for sunbeam you have no agents in southern Tasmania

Purchased in January 2014 at Harvey Norman for A$1,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Rarely
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Mirjana,
So sorry to hear about that, 7 years with no hiccup, this is my favorite unit.
We do have 5 agents in Tasmania:
https://www.sunbeam.com.au/support/services

Mirjana
Mirjana
Ditsy

DitsySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Shocking service center, 4th machine fail. Solid build with cheap components - particularly the collar.

published

2nd EM7000 to fail after 2 EM6910s had similar issues. This is a replacement machine after the first EM7000 failed with 2 collars replaced and then the whole motherboard. Was promised a 12 month warranty. Replacement machine's Collar failed at 11 months and alarming electrical shorting sounds on the Manual button, no replies to emails after over a month and phone never gets answered, then told they don't offer a warranty on the replacement machine despite me being told they do. Don't believe this is within my consumer rights, these machines used to be 24 months warranty, now only 12!
Have tried 4 times today over an hour and a half waiting for someone to answer the service line

Purchased in June 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Burr Grinder EM0430
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless) compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bryan

BryanQuakers hill

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Broken again

published

Bought my em 7000 3 years ago, loved it (wrote a review praising it then)made great coffee12 months ago steamer stopped working. Put it in for repair at a very reputable coffee repair company when I got it back nothing worked returned it to them and they repaired it again. Again great coffee for almost 12 months, steamer has broken again, very disappointed not going to spend a couple hundred bucks for another possible year. I drink a long black and thankfully i can still make them but my wife cant get her latte but its put me off buying another sunbeam. I have rated the frother below great when it worked.
Bryan

Purchased in May 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
Fern M.

Fern M.Sydney, NSW

No presssure

published

Machine has no pressure, you could put your whole weight on the tamper and fine ground coffee. the gauge stays at 0 Weak .
I usually love sunbeam but not that machine

Purchased in June 2020 at goodguy for A$630.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
Jason

JasonGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Makes good coffee but the pressure gauge seems flakey

published

We replaced our older series Sunbeam with this machine today after 10 years of service. We took the first machine back because the pressure gauge did nothing. The second machine seems now to be doing the same - dead pressure gauge. These are not analogue dials but digital so presumably something is askew with the pressure sensor or the MCU controlling it.

Irritating not to have a feature you've paid for but equally not stopping it from producing good coffee. I comfort myself with the point that I rarely looked at the gauge on the older machine which was not very well located so don't really need this one either.

Purchased in June 2020 for A$550.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers

Customer support service

published

Purchased this machine Jan 2019. Feb I had a problem with the steamer. Calling the service number transferred to service who suggested running the cleaning cycle. No steam, called back but transferred to service with no answer. Sent email no response.
I understand the current pandemic is disrupting work places, but no response is unacceptable.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Kip B.

Kip B.Perth, WA

The best.

published

Bought it second hand from a coffee buff. Read some reviews about leaking problems after about 1 year . This one was about 2 years old and in beautiful condition. After getting the run down on how to work it, I must say it makes the BEST coffee I have ever had. It makes my old Sunbeam entry level machine ,which I thought pretty good, second rate!

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hi Kip B,

Thank you for your great review! Happy to hear you're loving your Sunbeam Coffee!

barneseye

barneseyeWodonga

  • 4 reviews

Excellent

published

Fantastic machine. Things we love - compact compared to Breville; twin thermoblock means can steam and draw coffee simultaneously; quick to warm up; our first one gave 5 + years of great service.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello barneseye,
Thank you for your feedback - happy to hear you're loving your sunbeam coffee!

Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless) compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
iain

iainSydney, NSW

7 years in still going strong, 3 friends have bought same machine after me telling them to do it

published

After 7 years of using it, i would go out again and buy another one if it broke down today. Its a work horse and give great coffee.
Once you know what your doing with coffee you can change the preset setting to fit how you like to make coffee, higher steam pressure or wetter steam, hotter brew water colder, different infusion process.
1 thing i do straight away with my machine and friends was go out and Buy a VST 22g basket for the coffee Dramatic changes made a good coffee machine Excellent.

Purchased in September 2012 at Myer for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Several times a week
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam
Correzpond

CorrezpondSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 8 likes

Broke Down at 6 months; Sunbeam Customer Service Appalling

published

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys for A$724.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderRancilio Rocky SD (Doserless)
See all answers
3 comments
Correzpond
Correzpond

Big company changes should be comprehensively planned and diligently executed so that customer service does not suffer. "The best they can" is simply not good enough and confirms why I will never purchase another Sunbeam product.

Correzpond
Correzpond

Emailed Sunbeam Customer Service 4 days ago and still waiting for even on acknowledgement. Sunbeam is quickly providing a lesson in how you turn loyal customers into enemies.

Correzpond
Correzpond

This is the typically rude and dismissive response that I have come to expect from Sunbeam Customer Service. However please keep going by all means so that readers of Product Review can see what they can expect if they purchase a Sunbeam product.

Kirstin

KirstinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Love my coffee machine

published

This machine has never missed a beat. Brings my joy every morning. Perfect extraction and perfectly textured milk.
It is very easy to clean and extremely easy to use. My son is also making great coffee.

Purchased in January 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$1,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Kirstin,
We're so happy you and your son are enjoying you're Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000!
Thank you for the wonderful review!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

beachshack

beachshackNorthern Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 11 likes

Second major problem in just over 2 years.

published

Was hoping this Cafe series expresso machine purchased in 2017, was built to a higher standard than the previous model which failed after several years of light use. However it started having problems and then stopped altogether( lights on nobody home) resulting in a costly repair replacing electronic board . 6 months later and the pressure of the steam wand is reduced to zero despite diligently following care instructions. It also now wont even go through a clean cycle. Pfft, certainly cant afford another costly repair. Goodbye Sunbeam, no longer a quality reliable company.

Purchased in February 2017.

Product is used Several times a week
breto

bretoPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

makes a great flat white/capp. great steam wand... when working.

published

had it for 7 months, makes a mean coffee great latte art possible if that's your thing. only problem is the steam wand died and is in under warranty as we speak. I guess they don't make things to last these days but youd expect more than 7 months of service.

Purchased in February 2019 at The Good Guys for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Breto,
Thank you for reviewing

boyadine

boyadinePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

it's alright

published

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless) compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
aldo08

aldo08Sydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Avoid, buy something else

published

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi aldo08,
Sorry to hear you had these problems, we will take your feedback on board...

Ryan

RyanKillarney Vale

  • 2 reviews
  • 8 likes

Ordinary for the money - paid $750

published

Works well for about 12 months. Took great care of it, usually only 1 coffee made per. Lasted about 18 months. Absolute junk after that. This is my 2nd one. The other got replaced by retailer.
Problems: Coffee often cold, machine would overheat after a few mins, etc

Purchased in May 2017.

Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr Grinder II EM0500
See all answers
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Ryan,
Sorry to hear of your experience with your EM7000 coffee machine.
We would love to assist you further. Please call us on 1300 861 881.

Ryan
Ryan
Graham

GrahamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

From BES870 to Em7000

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
See all answers
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi GraGra,
Thanks for the great feedback and review!

4 years on

published

I just made a coffee and thought holy smokes I can't believe this thing is still making great coffee after 4+ years. Pair this up with a good grinder (its crucial to grind your own beans for good coffee) and you are in business! We have even taken this with us when we have stayed at a holiday house, so its a sturdy unit.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Woodze.

RoboCook

RoboCookMid North Coast, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 11 likes

12 Months on

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review RoboCook, and the fantastic tips on making the perfect cup of coffee!

Page 1 of 9
See all Sunbeam Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 reviews

Questions & Answers

Jade C.

Jade C.asked

Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless)

Hi,
I bought this just over a week ago, upgraded from the minni barista.

I don’t think the pressure is working in the machine. The pressure gauge does not move when pulling shots (I have played around with grind size and amount of coffee in a double shot). We are getting no creamer either.

Could this be faulty?

3 answers
PASH
PASH

The pressure pump in my unit broke at the neck and had to be replaced. As your unit is only a week old it should be covered by warranty. The machine makes great cappuccinos.

PHM
PHM

Start with freshly ground beans. If your beans are old, no amount of fine grinding will save them. The grind size should be fine for espresso coffee. The degree is fineness required fluctuates during the day, so play around with this. Pack the ground beans tightly into the basket. If the grind is not fine enough the water will go straight through without registering on the dial. Does the machine pump water for a black coffee (tap on rhs of the machine)? If not there is a problem.

Jade C.
Jade C.

WE got a replacement machine and it is still doing the same thing.
I have tried different sizes of the grind.
We have the breville grinder, does anyone know the settings it should be on?

Roger Goebel

Roger Goebelasked

Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless)

What is the maximum cup height that can be used with this machine

No answers
Anita B.

Anita B.asked

Cafe Series Espresso EM7000 (Stainless)

I have lost the rubber blind filter... can i use a commercial one? I can borrow one from my work

1 answer
iain
iain

i never got one in my box when i bought it new but a commercial metal blink filter does fit in the group heads , just like the VST baskets fit in them.

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.