??!
1 photo
Tick Travel Insurance - International Standard

Tick Travel Insurance - International Standard

3.5 from 162 reviews

Reviews

3.5

162 reviews
5
(66)
4
(44)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(42)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (123)
  • Transparency
    3.6 (103)
  • Customer Service
    3.5 (110)
Previous
Next
Margaret Mckeown

Margaret MckeownSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Cancelled cruise

published

I bought my travel insurance in February 2020.
My cruise was cancelled for September 2020 because of the current virus so I would not need my insurance. I ask for a refund or a credit and was refused. I have used this company for many years and all my travelling companions have had their insurance refunded.
I'm so disappointed as to how they treat their loyal customers.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationMiddle East and Pacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment

All good so far

published

Purchased 12 months travel insurance for world excluding USA with the excess removed. The policy was cheap and easy to set up. Currently, have claimed for 2 general practitioner visits. The claim procedure was simple and processed within 2 weeks. All costs including medications and blood tests were covered. So far better than any Australian private health fund at 1/3 of the cost.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Anthony

Anthony

  • 2 reviews

Policy inflexibility with COVID-19 Travel Ban

published

I was denied a refund or flexibility with my travel insurance cover as I was not able to travel due to the COVID-19 ban. I lodged my request in writing with Tick Insurance back in March and have received no response. I hesitate to use them again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Anthony, I'm sorry about the issues you are having in getting flexibility with your policy, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance - International Standard compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PeterC

PeterCEastern Vic

  • 8 reviews

Complete ripoff

published

We bought 2 travel insurance policies for both my wife and myself, total almost $800 for 6 months overseas. The ACCC has said we should be able to claim back.

I rang them and was told they would ring back. No return call. I rang again and was told to send an email to complaints. No reply.

I also gave them a chance to talk about this review before I published it. At 6 days later I haven't heard a word from them.

Never again will I use Tick Insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Peter, I'm sorry about the delay, and issues you are having in claiming back a refund, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Phoebe

PhoebeNew South Wales

Will never purchase again

published

I have used tick travel insurance for many years now and am extremely upset and disappointed about the terrible customer service this time round.

I lodged a claim (claim number 120007005) for myself and my partner on the 7/4 and have since sent over five emails just checking up on the process of the claim. I have called multiple times and have either been hung up on or told that they can't say much about my claim. I bought standard insurance for a reason and it's so disappointing the way tick travel have handled this. Will NEVER be using tick travel insurance again and if I don't hear back from tick I will be taking this further.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Still waiting for a refund .66 yes 66 days later !!!!!

published

Lodged my claim, stating 03 MAR 2020.....Still waiting......Every time you ring Sydney Head Office they send your complaint to there call center in India.... The SAME E MAIL comes back, claiming they need more info.....EVERY thing I have claimed has been sent with an OFFICIAL RECEIPT from the Travel Company I used.....EG They want a copy of airline ticket. The airlines dont issue any more...just a copy of ALL your air travel with e ticket number attached!! This my 5th and last time I have/will use TICK TVL INSURANCE. TERRY.W

Customer Service
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical, Other and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Terry, I'm sorry about the wait times you're experiencing, and I understand your exasperation. If you send me your policy number via private message, I will escalate your case to get you an answer. Thanks, Anna

Terence John
Terence John

23865881
Terry.W

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Terry, I have escalated your case to the right people and they will update you soon. Please let me know if you don't get a response soon so I can follow up for you. Thanks, Anna

Alex

AlexIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Total waste of money

published

Purchased travel insurance October 2019. All flights cancelled due to Coronavirus. Singapore Airlines are refunding all money's, but TICK Insurance point blank refused refund of ant sort. Only refunds available within 13 days of purchase. Was my first time using TICK will also be my last. I hope They enjoy my $127.15.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Alex, I'm sorry about the issues you are having in getting a credit or refund, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Alex
Alex

Private message from offered me a partial credit of $38 to be set against my next Insurance cover on my next trip, to be used within 18 months. Not in a million years, they can keep my $38.00 Never again le.sson learned

Disappointed couldn’t transfer

published

While at first I thought this policy was good value, it turned out to be costly. With our travel plans postponed due to Covid-19 I requested that our travel insurance be transferred to when we travel next. This request was denied and no monies returned.
When all other parts of our holiday were refunded or vouchers for future use given, disappointing that Tick couldn’t offer the same.

Of note, my Mums travel insurance was fully refunded.

I’d be concerned with Tick if I ever had a claim.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Jaimie, I'm sorry about the issues you are having in getting a credit or refund, and I would like to help you with this. I will follow up you via private message. Thanks, Anna

Jaimie
Jaimie

Thank you Anna

Time to lodge a class action with the Industry Ombudsman

published

As with other reviews this is one of the only companies not offering full refunds for travel cancelled due to Covid. Contact the complaints line and ombudsman together everyone to get a result.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance - International Standard compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

They kept my money for a service not provided

published

Our cruise and flights to the cruise and back were cancelled because of COVID-19 and level 4 travel ban. Tick Travel Insurance refused to allow us to cancel our travel insurance and took our money for a service that they have not provided, although we had absolutely no control over the cancellation of our travel.

Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

DO NOT USE TICK

published

DO NOT USE TICK EVER!!! You only have to look at previous reviews to see how bad this company is. Emailed them about cancelling policy over 3 weeks ago 29th march as trip was cancelled for mid april. It took until the 20th of april for them to get back to me to let me know i was now outside the window to make a claim. 3 WEEKS FOR 1 EMAIL, and now conveniently im unable to make a claim. But its truly amazing when i emailed them back yesterday they gotten back to me within 1 DAY. I find that unbelievable. There are a few words to describe companies like this. JOKE

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
jane teeuws

jane teeuwsFar North Queensland, QLD

i use to use Tick Insurance Australia never again

published

wanted to Cancel a current Travel Insurance due to the Corona Vid cause i couldn’t travel so i called Tick insurance they said i wasn’t allowed to claim only wanted to cancel the policy or a credit note very disappointing

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Dont tick this mob

published

Have used tick insurance a few times now, but when emailing recently because of cancelled Bali trip, my message was not delivered because the return address was refused. Tried again same result.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Andy Herring

Andy HerringRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Never again with TICK

published

Coronavirus prevented all travel but no refund from TICK , and no desire to communicate, but happy to take my money, just money grabbers , extremely disappointed in their attitude and not reasonable because of this worldwide pandemic , what other more valid reason could there be to cancel my policy and ask for a refund

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Carolyn K.

Carolyn K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Underhanded dishonest company

published

Unable to travel due to a total travel ban but they will not allow you to cancel and will not refund the policy . No information on their website since February and they do not respond to all questions on emails . I feel this is dishonest and not a good way to run a business though they must be laughing as they keep everyone’s money . DO NOT PURCHASE.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Carolyn K.
Carolyn K.

Thanks Anna . Appreciate that . How do I send you a private message?

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Carolyn, please reply to the private message I just sent you. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance - International Standard compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Adam E.

Adam E.South East Queensland, QLD

Ripped Off

published

Same situation & experience. Totally unethical and I Australian.

I took out insurance On 4/2/2020 for a trip to Bali, due to corona virus our trip was cancelled and out of our control , asked Tick for a refund on premium only to be told could not refund premium as it is outside 14 day cooling off period, surely this would not apply to the current circumstances. Tick insurance are only interested in taking your money nothing else. We are all in this together Tick Travel Insurance.

Will never use or recommend ever again!!!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Aaron A

Aaron AGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Terrible communication and service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Wilson

WilsonGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Scam and misleading

published

Lodge claim but nill result. Before I purchased the insurance, there is nothing mentioned about covid19 on their website around mid to end february, their website backdated with covid19 rules and anything purchase after 31 january you will not be able to claim. This is scam - anyone wants to buy please take screenshot their website. they will use all ways to avoid the claim.

DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther and Personal Liability
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Wilson
Wilson
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Graham Wilkinson

Graham WilkinsonSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Will never insure with them again. Bad sevice

published

I booked insurance with them 30 August 2019 for my trip to Japan in May. Because of the Corona Virus i was forced to cancel my trip. My flight and all accommodations have been cancelled and refunded.

Today i rang the insurance to request a refund for the money i paid them and was told No they do not give Refund. WHY. You buy something in a shop and you can return it if not used and get full refund. I am not going on my trip and will not use the insurance, so why are not giving the refund at a time like this.

Why should we booked with you again. Can we trust you. NO.

Graham Wilkinson

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Graham, I'm very sorry that you are in this situation. If you contact complaints@tickinsurance.com.au with your policy number, and your complaint will be formally lodged and investigated. I hope this helps. Thanks, Anna

Can you let me know if our insurance for trial starting 25 March is covered for the Coronavirus to America

published

It was affordable but we haven’t travelled yet so when we come home I’ll update my post. We saw that it was easy to apply for and we’re happy to have it because it’s affordable.

DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Senior
Page 1 of 9
See all Tick Travel Insurance reviews

Questions & Answers

Viv L.

Viv L.asked

Tick Travel Insurance - Standard

Hi there, I purchased your insurance for my trip to Asia. However on the day where I was supposed to fly out from Singapore, I fell ill and was deemed unfit to fly for 3 days by the doctor. I have sent numerous emails but have not received any response regarding my return flight.
Am I supposed to book my return flight and claim upon arrival in Australia ? Would appreciate your prompt response.
Many thanks,
Viv

1 answer
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Viv, I'm not part of the claims team so any advice I would give is general in nature, which I feel wouldn't be helpful in your case. I would strongly advise you call our 24/7 emergency assistance line on +612 9333 3963 to ask if you would be able to claim for this event, and if so, should you pay your return flight up front before claiming. Our team will be able to advise you on your potential claim, and they will discuss your options with you. I hope this helps. Thanks, Anna

Get an answer from our members and Tick Travel Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.