??!
12 photos
Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch

Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch (2011-2020)

Also referred to as: Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch 2019 and Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch 2021. Ascent, YR, YRS, etc...
4.3 from 75 reviews

Reviews

4.3

75 reviews
5
(40)
4
(23)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.8 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (12)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.6 (13)
  • Handling
    4.4 (13)
  • Braking
    4.9 (13)
  • Suspension
    4.3 (12)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (11)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.5 (13)
  • Interior Design
    4.6 (13)
  • Boot Size
    3.6 (13)
  • Features
    4.6 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.3 (12)
Previous
Next
heidijaneh

heidijaneh

  • 23 reviews

Such a reliable car

published

I just use this car for running around the city. It is easy to maintain. Cost effective. I like that seats can go down so I can slide surprisingly large items in! It's small and easy to park. Love the reverse camera. I get it serviced regularly and no issues other than a high clutch point, which is a preference thing.

Purchased in July 2015 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Peter S.

Peter S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Powerful, Cheap to Own and All the comforts.

published

I use my 2011 Yaris daily "Bought it quite a few years ago", and it still zips past cars on steeply inclined highways at around 110 k's whilst using 98 Octane, and thats even when I have three passengers and the back hatch full of stuff..

The trick is to keep the old girl well maintained, and at around 200 bucks a year that's excellent, Oh and I would highly recommend you use 95 Octane as I get a crap ton of more k's that way, and when youre about to do a highway run fill er up with 98 Octane, That way you have more power and amazing fuel Economy, don't forget to give the old girl a boot now and then on acceleration to clear her up and stop it from getting lazy..

Purchased in March 2017 at Toyota Dealers for A$9,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sarah

SarahGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Looks lovely, is roomy, but to drive it is awful

published

Purchased in May 2019 for A$15,990.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2019
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mina B.

Mina B.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Perfect

published

Save petrol. Big from inside. Has all options. Easy to service it. Liable car. I have been driving 2015 Yaris and I have no problem. It is now 135000 km without any problem

Purchased in March 2015 for A$17,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sarah J.

Sarah J.

  • 4 reviews

Perfect little car

published

My car is for personal use. Just around my suburb normally. I have 2 car seats in the back. I've had 1 service so far and it was good customer service. The people at Mornington Toyota were great to deal with.
The only issue with the car is that is a bit loud but doesn't bother me that much. Get about 400km out of a tank. When the fuel is good I pay about $40-$45 to full it

Purchased in March 2018 at Toyota Dealers for A$16,999.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Amanda

Amanda

  • 3 reviews

Cheap to run! Great little car that will last for years

published

This little Yaris is so economical and it's never had any issues. My work also have Yaris cars and they are reliable and cheap to service.
Would highly recommend these cars to anyone.

Gail Sutton

Gail SuttonMurray Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews

My Hatchback Baby Daisy

published

I love Daisy she goes when she hot or cold she runs through the trees Daisy sees things before me left or right Which way I want to go .turns in circles which way I go We stand together at a sight looking left and right I cannot do without her I did for a month and all was a frump she needs so little I fix her every month wash and clean and she feels so neat she runs for weeks Thank You Toyota for her so much Iam never in a rush Just try one and you will see the little white Yaris is for us G Sutton

Mfinn028

Mfinn028

  • 4 reviews

Best small car

published

I absolutely love my yaris even though it looks small on the outside it is quite spacious such a good engine on the car too you will never be disappointed

Purchased in September 2018 for A$16,699.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Julies

JuliesRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Goes beyond my best expectations

published

I have had my car almost 7 years and its always been reliable. I have had to use it extensively when doing home nursing and also transporting clients. Petrol consumption is very economical. Its the best and most reliable car I've ever had.

Purchased in April 2013 for A$16,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Waris

WarisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

The Bullet proof Reliability

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Pickles Auctions for A$9,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rachael P.

Rachael P.South West, WA

  • 4 reviews

Such a great little car

published

I purchased the Yaris this year second hand barely any kms on it - such a good little car! Comfy, cheap on fuel, amazing sound system and it has such a great turning circle!

I use my Yaris daily to get me to and from work it’s only down fall is it could have more power behind it as pulling out on highways it’s really pedal to the metal to get it going
I reckon a rally spec Yaris would be the best purchase

Purchased in January 2019 at Toyota Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Damien

DamienBrisbane

  • 18 reviews

Small reliable car

published

I got this as a second car for my family to run errands like groceries and other day to day activities. It has proven to be very fuel efficient.

The drive is ok. Not the best but hey, you can't compare this to a car that cost $30,000 or more.

The car has a Tiptronic transmission. If you are used to CVT like me, you got to adjust yourself to Tiptronic again.

The car has a fairly large boot for a small car. It comes with a 1.3L 4 cyc engine. Most car in this range comes in 3 cyc so that's a plus.

I was hoping to get alloy wheels but, it comes with steel as standard which is a shame.

Purchased in February 2019 for A$9,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Rebs

RebsCanberra

  • 10 reviews

Toyota Yaris SR 2018 1.5

published

good sporty ride
single wiper cleans screen better than the normal 2 wiper combo
has good power range
well matched 4 speed auto
good finish all over
3 year service special with Toyota makes it one of the cheaper makes to run
good fuel economy
sound system and sat nav are of good quality
not badly priced

Purchased in February 2019 at Toyota Dealers for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
See all answers
Chelle_C

Chelle_CHunter Region, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Daughter enjoys her Yaris.

published

My daughter loves her Yaris, purchased from a dealer in January 2019 it has everything plus some. Auto headlights, blue tooth, USB ports, cruise control, great fuel economy, reversing camera, plus 7 air bags. Everything we could want in a small car that makes a mum not worry.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mrs K

Mrs KSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews

My favorite car !

published

Purchased in February 2015 for A$24,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
BoughtNew
Year2015
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Hatchbacks

Find out how Toyota Yaris XP130 Hatch compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
StevenL

StevenLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews

Clever Little Car-Perfect for suburb runs

published
BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2019
Sydney_mon

Sydney_monSydney

  • 7 reviews

Great car and great value for money

published

I just recently purchased my new Toyota Yaris (silver pearl) and was very pleased with the experience. I highly recommend Kieran from Toyota Lander Blacktown.

The car runs smooth and although small, it’s very spacious inside and packs good power. Definitely a god buy and can be used in short or long drives.

BodyHatch
BadgeAscent
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Jazz

Jazz

  • 12 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good small car

published

I bought a new one on Dec 2011 and drove it everyday for commuting and every needs. I had 3 minor accident but the car was perfect and never troubled me. I serviced it regularly and never had to do any extra service. Fuel consumption was 7-8 Litre/100kg which was a bit higher than the manufacturer's claim

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2011
Rosie

RosieSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Really nice car, just needs a bigger engine!

published

I use my car pretty regularly! I don't drive to work, but I'm using it most nights to get to all my after work activities and lots of weekend driving including fairly often hour+ drives using motorways etc.
It's just me that uses the car so I don't often have passengers, but I do often fill it with sporting equipment, my swag, luggage and the like.
I find that it runs really nicely, but when I have a couple of passengers, heavy luggage or a motorway to drive up-hill on then I feel the lag and notice the smaller engine (I previously had a 1.5 Prius engine).
I got the extra protective coating to help fight against bat/bird droppings and I love that too!

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015
Julien0398

Julien0398

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

It has saved me so much time

published

I drive my car everywhere, to university, work and other events practically almost everyday. I service my car every 6-9 months and there has never been an issue with it. In a place like Sydney, parking can be a nightmare. This car has saved me so many times from walking far distances from my destination because it can fit into smaller spaces that other cars could not get into. It is extremely reliable in every sense and has never given me any issues. Great features and everything you need in a car.

One downside may be the boot space, but its only slightly inconvenient when I have bulky items which is rare.

BodyHatch
BadgeZR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Page 1 of 4
See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

Brian m

Brian masked

Yaris XP130 Hatch YR (2011-2014)

Thinking of purchasing 2014 with 115076 ks what is the opion on this

1 answer
Sarah J.
Sarah J.

I'm not sure Bout later models. That's a few kms on it. Depends how much it is. Mine is 2018 and it's been very good so far I'm at 10,000kms and have had no issues

RDD

RDDasked

Yaris XP130 Hatch (2011-2020)

Purchased a new Yaris 2015 Hatch Ascent . Clocked in at 19,000 kms. My car failed as it was struggling to move when changing gears. Roadside assistance detected the car was running on 3 cylinders and should be on 4. Why????
The car has to be towed back to Toyota for further investigation.

The car at times fails to start. Why is this?

So disappointed and annoyed.

This is a new car and I think it's a bloody lemon.

4 answers
Nelson Tan
Nelson Tan

Unfortunately there's a lemon every now and then, even with luxury cars... It's just one of the few cases where it got past their quality control checks.

den
den

Hi mate.. I am not a mechanic so that I can tell you what exactly is happening to your car, however, you can ask for a replacement car from Toyota dealer for going to work for free . I guess, you still have warranty left...good luck n hope you will get your car back soon.. cheers

chuck48
chuck48

Unable to answer the mechanical questions - a pity as Toyota are usually very reliable. Have noted that sometimes motor does not kick with key ON. Place foot on brake and make sure auto is properly in park. Then good to go . The Yaris is definitely not a power plant.
PS how come a new car with 2015?

Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.