??!
7 photos
Toyota Yaris XP90.I

Toyota Yaris XP90.I (2005-2013)

4.2 from 38 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
21
4 star
10
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
2

Alex

AlexAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Good reliable car. Driving dynamics average

published

We bought this car a few years ago and has served us well. The only disappointment is the poor driving position and handling. The high drivers seat feels quite unnatural

Purchased in September 2017 for $4,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


ever.dream

ever.dreamSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

Love this car!

published

Such a great reliable car, very affordable as well! Even though there isn’t a lot of space on the back seat, the front seats are so spacious and comfortable.

There are also so many drink holders - I especially love the one right next to the steering wheel for my coffee; and there are three glove boxes, very is very handy!

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
joy

joyMelbourne

I'm glad we are getting rid of it!

published

Our personal experience was terrible!! It was our son's first car and all he had was troubles. It stalled and would start shaking and dying while standing on red lights or similar. Couple times it died in the middle of a busy roundabout and all I could see that one day might end up tragically becasue the car kept dying whenever he would take his foot of the gas. We visited Toyota service numerous times but they kept saying it was nothing. All they did was raising the motor turns so it doesn't keep turning off but still without putting it in neutral it would start shaking and turn off eventually. So, we had some car...very disappointed but happy to say goodbye yaris.

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008
Lilis

LilisSydney

  • 4 reviews

This is perfect

published

Excellent small car. Great for travelling. Nice soundsystem. the Yaris was pretty well equipped with standard air-conditioning, an MP-compatible stereo with a CD player, remote central locking, power mirrors and window. the Yaris was pretty well equipped with standard air-conditioning, an MP-compatible stereo with a CD player, remote central locking, power mirrors and window. Overall it is great car.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2008

Mark

Marksydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap and reliable

published

Toyotas are always a good car to buy for their reliability however there are some things to note with the Yaris.

Very light car so it will tend to over accelerate at the start
Seats are very average - no support, just one large piece of foam
Low maintenance costs for sure

BodyHatch
BadgeYRX
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2011

Dhanesh

DhaneshSydney

Problem

published

i had my car running all good and all of a sudden i lost power steering on this car can some one help me out what could have gone wrong, i would appreciate if some one had a slimier problem or if i can get a expert advice of what to fix

BodySedan
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2007

David W

David WPerth

  • 5 reviews

Economical and reliable card

published

I've had it for over 5 years and it has been an excellent car. It is also my first.
Pro - reliable, cheap and economical to run and parts are cheap, light and plenty of space for the sedan, easier to drive
Cons- power is on the weaker side, easy to get dents

BodySedan
BadgeYR
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2009

Paul

Paul

  • 2 reviews

Great little car

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Carrington02

Carrington02MELBOURNE

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

never a disappointment after driving for more than 8 years

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.3
Illi

Illi

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

2005 3-door YRS

published

I bought this as my first car two years ago with just over 90k on the clock and it has been a fantastic little car. So easy to drive and cheap to maintain. It's been from Sydney to the Gold Coast and back a few times and was perfect. Everyone who drives it loves it. Definitely getting another Yaris when I'm ready for a new car.

BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
TransmissionAutomatic

mandyjane

mandyjaneAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

great little car!

published

I bought this 2006 manual yaris 3 door hatch in queensland with 230000km
For only $1000 unregistered. The only thing wrong was the roof was faded.
Got a roadworthy certificate and nothing was wrong with it. So registered same day.
I drove it everywhere in brisbane for a couple of months. Then decided to drive it all the way from brisbane to perth. Went perfect. Drove up to 160km per hour. Passed trucks with ease. Really tough little car. Easy to drive. Fit alot of luggage so plenty of space. Now iam in perth and six months later still no problems.
Love my yaris

BodyHatch
BadgeYR
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.3

ohauitird3

ohauitird3Perth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 14 likes

terrible - will lose $3000 off resale due to paint peeliing, which is a well documented world wide p

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic

Elmar Shar

Elmar SharSydney, NSW

  • 35 reviews
  • 12 likes

Great little car.

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYRS
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionManual

elchriss0

elchriss0Melbourne

Reliable

published
Engine Size1.5
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeYRS
BodySedan
Naomi

NaomiNewcastle

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Awesome car, still going strong

published

I purchased a 2007 yr manual hatch in 2012 with 160000kms for $6000 as a temporary car as I couldn't afford to run my commodore anymore, now 3 years later its still going strong with 210000kms on the clock & I love it!!!! Very economical getting approx 600kms/40L fuel, heaps of storage compartments, very safe with abs brake assist driver & passenger airbags, all the cool stuff power windows electric power steering drive by wire mp3 compatible cd player full digital display. Excellent runaround car or first car, highly recommended!!!!

Engine Size1.3L
BadgeYR
BodyHatch
RID30

RID30penrith

Still reliable.

published

I purchased this car in 2007, 3 door, 1.5 ltr manual has not had any problems since Been every where, well almost.. Dubbo, Canberra and Agnes Water Queensland with no dramas. It's reliable as it gets.All i do is change oil and that's it. It's a fantastic car i would recommend it to any one looking for a small hatch back.
Reliable, suffecient engine power.
Boot is on the small side compare to others.

Engine Size1.5 vvti
BodyHatch

2006 yaris

published
Engine Size1.3
TransmissionManual
BodySedan

Sharon

SharonNSW, 2518

  • 13 reviews
  • 9 likes

2007 Toyota Yaris 4 door sedan purchased New

published
Engine Size1.5 litre
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeYRX
BodySedan

gordonc

gordoncCooroy, Queensland

Yes great car but...... Shame on you Toyota

published
Engine Size1.5
BodyHatch
3 comments
Greg D
Greg D

What a stupid comment. 178,000kms and a part need replacing - what do you expect?
Probably was never serviced either.

Pawa
Pawa

Agreed with Greg D

Kymbolie
Kymbolie

I agree with you Gordonc, parts like this will be more required now that 2006 model is reaching this kilometerage.


evo8wrxowner

evo8wrxowner

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

My Wife's YRX 2007 Yaris

published
BodyHatch
BadgeYRX

Page 1 of 2

See all Toyota Yaris reviews

Questions & Answers

InaM

InaMasked

Hi I have a 08 Toyota Yaris RS 6 speed manual sometimes when I take off in 1st gear it makes a banging sound took it to a mechanic and he could not find a problem does anyone have any ideas?

No answers

Natalie

Natalieasked

Hi. I have a Toyota Yaris YRS 2007 4Door hatchback. The tail lights aren't working..even after changing the bulbs and fuse. When I turn the switch for front and rear lights... headlights are working and indicators and rear top single light is working.. Just the left and right while tail lights.. please help me!!

1 answer
mallymuff
mallymuff

Hi Natalie, Although I'm no expert it sounds like your problem may be electrical. Just another suggestion, if you are a member of the RACV they have a technical department who can give you advice might be worth a try. sorry for your trouble.


eden

edenasked

Advice on a 2007 toyota yaris that I am thinking of buying. Kilometers is sitting on 149000, price is $9000. Cars looks in good condition, is this a reasonable price or should I try to negotiate to have price dropped?

5 answers
brian
brian

That is a small car / what you could try is going to other online forums as well

eden
eden

Sory forgot to mention, its a sedan. but thanks, ill look into it

brian
brian

Or you could try comparing prices to other cars similar for sale in magazines or online sites such as gumtree Australia on the internet


Get an answer from our members and Toyota representatives

Details

CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Release dateOct 2005
Discontinuation dateSep 2013
Replaced byToyota Yaris XP90.II
Compare all Toyota Yaris

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.