??!
5 photos
Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000)

Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000)

MPNs: 50010224 and 50060224
4.6 from 211 reviews · View Statistics

Gas BBQs Buying Guide

A gas bbq can help you get sizzling. But would you prefer a portable bbq or a freestanding one? What about LPG or natural gas? This buying guide will help answer your burning questions.

Read now

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.9 (35)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (34)
  • Ease of Use
    4.9 (36)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (35)
  • Preheating Speed
    4.7 (31)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (33) · No (1)
  • Safety
    4.5 (33)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More

Unreliable & dangerous.

published

Our weber goes out all the time... several times in a row. Gas continues to flow under lid.. dangerous if we hit the ignition button!
Purchased in 2018 for $ 329 dollars.

Purchased in April 2018 at Wangaratta for A$329.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionNo
See all answers
Steve

SteveGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Long live the Baby Q

published

Purchased in October 2007 for A$320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Love it

published

Perfect for my camper trailer. It sits well on the slide area and connects to the gas already in the trailer. Grill is easy to clean. Perfect for roast and for steaks/hamburgers

Would recommend

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000) compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ash

AshMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

Versatile bbq, portable for picnics

published

Such a great addition to our home! We like to cook juicy steaks, whole roasts, pizza on a stone, amazing bbq chicken and stock standard bbq meat. Haven't had a single issue with the bbq and we are super happy with the build quality.
Cleaning isn't too bad, a quick scrape once it's heated up; every few months a "deep" clean with a bit of hot water and elbow grease.
We plan to get a full size Webber q for our outdoor kitchen and keep the baby q for camping and picnic lunches... can't wait!

Purchased in January 2017 at The Good Guys for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Tara Nolan

Tara NolanDarling Downs, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Our First Weber!

published

We purchased a baby Weber for our caravan - but it's become a staple in our home too.

It's a great size (we have the Duffle bag for storage and well as the half hotplate). It's easy to clean and heats up quickly and evenly.

My husband also cooks our homemade scones in the weber. Wish we got one sooner!

Initially we also bought the Weber branded convection alfoil trays - however Now I just get the cheapo ones from the grocery store and they do just as well.

Purchased in November 2019 at BCF Online Store for A$377.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Saurabh Kohli

Saurabh KohliGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Amazing!

published

We bought a Weber Baby Q Standard from. It is really easy to clean, and it it is very convenient. It really does cook the veggies quite quickly and well. Overall, I really do recommend the Weber.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$320.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Leen

LeenSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Works well and excellent purchase

published

Wanted a small bbq for occasional grilling and it works perfectly. Bought the weber cart as the table. Easy to use and easy to clean. Even bought the cover to protect it from the rain and dust.

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
TimBurgie

TimBurgieBiloela

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Compact, great cooking, not disappointed

published

Purchased at BCF for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Sabrina

Sabrina

  • 6 reviews

Amazing Little BBQ

published

I love our Weber Baby Q. We opted for the smaller version and it's excellent for camping and roasts. We've done two roasts now that have been delicious and it's portable enough that next time we go camping we're going to bring it.

The high quality BBQ plates and cover clean really well. We put a little bit of baking soda and it wiped clean. We've also bought the trivet which is a must for roasting and that cleaned up perfectly in the dishwasher.

We always have ours covered when cooking and then put away in its carry bag so unsure how it would go out in the weather but it feels super premium so I suspect as good as any other BBQ.

This won't be replacing our big BBQ but for small steaks and roasts it's our go to!

Purchased in December 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000) compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Edwin

Edwin

  • 12 reviews
  • 4 likes

My first bbq furnace

published

Bought the Weber Baby q for my balcony and even outing use which is quite easy to take with. I buy this one because friend recommended and myself also checked product review rating. It is easy to use and temperature stable. It is potable bbq so I have to prepare a rack for it. The original rack is way to expensive. Generally I am happy with this bbq and what it performs in future.

Purchased in April 2020 at David Jones Online Store for A$305.10.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jase gonebush

Jase gonebush Far North Queensland, QLD

  • 29 reviews
  • 38 likes

Cooks the roast and the cakes out camping

published

What a little ripper.
I can cook chicken Kiev, steak, bacon n eggs, chips, pizza, my world famous roast lamb and follow it up with cake... a must have for outdoor kitchen campers like me.. she is light and easy to clean. Only mods I done was put a temp gauge in and a locking support so it don't move on the bench and I cut a cooling rack in half from Coles and it keeps the roasing dish off the hot plate.
Bloody love it.

  • +6

Purchased at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Sally

SallySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 17 reviews
  • 10 likes

love it

published

We love our little weber so much, in fact we hardly even use our big bbq these days as we love our weber. We purchased the stand too its great for picnics and the food tastes amazing.

Purchased in March 2018 for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Fantastic to hear Sally, thanks for your review!

Mr Mike

Mr MikePerth

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great portable BBQ

published

Have had the baby Q for a few years now, bought it as a replacement for my stainless boat BBQ which was honstly useless. Highly recommended them. From roasts to frying with the optional pans it's great!

Purchased in July 2010 at Barbeques Galore for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Jacqui C.

Jacqui C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

So portable, so easy to use!

published

This bbq is so light and portable, easily cooks a whole pack of sausages, perfect for small houses and camping. It's very easy to clean and a great price point.

Purchased in November 2019 at The Good Guys for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Tracy T

Tracy TSouthwest, VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 10 likes

Delicious!!

published

Best steaks and very easy to clean and then pack it up and store it away, great for camping we have ours in the van, it's good value, love it.

Purchased in December 2019 at BFC for A$300.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
Gas BBQs

Find out how Weber Baby Q Standard (Q1000) compares to other Gas BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great bbq

published

Very happy can cook anything very good and very easy to clean
As I only have a small hatchback car it’s very light and fits in the boot great for camping and day trips

Purchased in July 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

"Portability"

published

I know that Weber Baby Q requires a 4.5kg to 9kg gas cylinder. However, is it still possible for me to use one that is smaller than 4.5kg? For portability, I would think a smaller gas cylinder is more appropriate. For example Bunnings only sells gas cylinders weighing 3.7kg and 8.5kg. I am a bit disappointed that I need to buy a heavier gas cylinder as this compromises the portability of the Weber Baby Q.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Emma

Emma

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Excellent bbq

published

Roasts just taste amazing on this bbq - far superior to being cooked in the oven. Bacon is amazing and even tastes great cold (much better than cold after being cooked in a frying pan). This size is perfect for camping for our family of 4. Convenient, easy to use. Love our Weber.

Purchased in December 2019 at BCF for A$309.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
JohnB

JohnBSouth East Queensland, QLD

Beware: Plastic frames melt

published

I have owned 2 of these Webers now (one familyQ and one BabyQ) , they are a good BBQ other than the dangerous fault of the steel frame melting the plastic stands when roasting. This has happened to me twice now, yesterday being the latest incident. Its a bad fault for an expensive BBQ so they need to built with a steel stand. Contacted company and hoping for a full refund on both BBQ's...but won't hold my breath.

  • +2
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
2 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
JohnB
JohnB
Ben

BenHunter Region, NSW

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

perfect for steak

published

Our family loves our Weber Q, we use it at least a few times a week in summer. It truly is a gem and it so handy. It is so much easier to use then any other BBQ we have had before, just make sure you regularly keep it clean

Purchased in September 2018 at Amazon for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thanks for your fantastic review! We're so glad you're loving your Weber product.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 11
See all Weber Baby Q Series reviews

Questions & Answers

Raz B.

Raz B.asked

Baby Q Standard (Q1000)

Hi... can I use a portable gas canister e.g. 1lb Coleman Propane Gas canister or BernzOmatic Propane Canister 468g on my Weber Q1000?

1. Is it safe to use?
2. Do I need any special adapters or just screw in and fire up?

Cheers,

5 answers
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Raz, the only approved gas bottles for the Q range are 4.5kg-9kg LPG bottles- all others are not approved for use under AGA regulations.

Peter I.
Peter I.

Hi Raz B, I bought the CGA600 fitting from the US on Ebay, costs about $100 landed here and fantastic to make the BabyQ portable. We get Three to Four days cooking per bottle and really cheap if you refill. Weber in AUS will not sell it but it is how they are sold in the US and safe. Companion use the bottles as do others. :)

Raz B.
Raz B.

Brilliant - Thanks Peter... appreciate the heads up! Take care...

Hakan O.

Hakan O.asked

Baby Q Standard (Q1000)

Hi, I just bought a Baby Q 1200 and the manual says I shouldn't use a gas bottle less than 4.5kgs..
I live in New Zealand and our gas bottle options in here are 2kgs, 3kgs, 4kgs and 9kgs or more... I was going to get a 4kgs one as I want it to be portable. But if I fallow your manual I will have to get to 9kgs one... Just wondering is 4kgs will be safe/efficient to use. Thanks
Hakan

2 answers
Raz B.
Raz B.

Hakan... you can use the 4kg bottle. I used it on a previous portable bbq and will be using on my Q. Happy BBQ'ing.

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Hakan, yes the 4kg one is suitable. We provide those sizes in the manual so you can get an accurate amount of cooking hours from one bottle.

Lynn

Lynnasked

Baby Q Standard (Q1000)

We have just been given a Weber Q1000 can you only use the portable stand. We still hove our 9kg bottle from our other Weber BBQ (which was big and beautiful but not for un it living) Can this be used with our baby Q
Thanks
Lynn

3 answers
Raz B.
Raz B.

The 9kg bottle can definitely be used for a Q1000 Lynn. Unless your question relates to the stand?

Lynn
Lynn

Thank you - yes it did relate to the stand but we have since found out that the Baby Q1000 can only go on the potable stand.
We do have our 9kg gas bottle hooked up and it does sit under bbq on the stand but just not good for transporting.
Love our new BBQ

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Lynn, I can see that you've found a conclusion- the Baby Q range is only suitable for the portable cart, not the patio cart. The 9kg bottle will still work :)

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

Details

Compare all 4 Weber Baby Q Series
CategoryGas BBQs
Price (RRP) A$339.00
TypePortable
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialCast Iron
FeaturesGrill
Colour / FinishBlack, Titanium
Dimensions 600 x 690 x 520 mm
Weight10.8 kg
Gas TypeLPG
Number of Burners/Zones 1
Gas Rate 9 mJ/hr
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateSep 2006
Compare all 4 Weber Baby Q Series

Visit official website
  • MPN: 50010224 and 50060224

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.