From April 1st 2018, Henley Homes is currently offering a $100 Coles evoucher to customers encouraging either a positive or negative review based on their build experience. It is possible that reviews were written by customers who received such reward. These reviews adhere to ProductReview’s Incentivised Customer Reviews Guidelines and may explain a spike in review numbers. For instructions, on how this incentive is claimed please click here.

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Our lovely new Banksia

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2018

Our experience with Henley was quite a good one! A Few small issues along the way but nothing out site supervisor Rob wasn’t on top off. He was always easy to get a hold of and kept us up to date during the build. The house quality is very good, although not perfect, however we weren’t expecting perfection having a house built through a volume builder. There were few minor frustrating things throughout the process, being told at sales we could do a pantry fit out, only to find out at our colour selection that it’s no longer available in the Essenes range so we did this ourselves after handover, but I just say this is actually better quality then the cabinet makers Henley use. Our admin manager Ashlee was very good too, and very thorough. Had not much to deal with our construction admin, although the one time we wanted to speak with her she didn’t deal with us and had someone else deal with our issue. Since moving in just over a month ago we have had a few minor issues which they have been right into which is reassuring. All in all, for what we paid and what we got for our money, I wouldn’t hesitate to build with Henley again, although I would be insisting they use a different cabinet maker for my kitchen!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Nice Journey and great experience

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 13, 2018

It was an amazing experience with hardly few hiccups but overall it was very nice. Team was very helpful and great customer service. Too much attention to detail, great quality work and very good finishing of overall house at the time of handover.

Will definitely recommend others to contact henley if they are planning to build their house, and especially if it’s the first one.

Really appreciate for the amazing work from whole Henley Team who were involved throughout this journey.

Thanks,
Yahya

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Yahya, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are pleased to read that you would definitely recommend us and that you were happy with the service you received and the quality of ... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Apr 2019

So far going well

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 11, 2018

So far going good, expecting very good build and on time as well.Hoping for the best as Henley is one of the most trusted builder in the housing industry. Sales consultant Graham was very Professional,patient and helpful and knows what he is doing.Administration wise we had some hiccups however finally got sorted and moving forward we have a good site manager and hoping for the best with very smooth transition with overall satisfaction.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Sasidhar Cheguri, Thank you very much for your review! It is lovely to hear that you are happy with how your build is progressing and with the service you have been receiving. We wish... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Easy Process, quality is ok!

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 11, 2018

Overall, the communication throughout the build was great. Both our admin and SS answered all questions we had and in a timely matter. The quality of the trades were unfortunately quite poor, you can tell they rushed each job they did, but when we picked up on the items of poorer quality they were rectified. In short, we got what we paid for. The overall quality and inclusions that we got with Henley were better than any other volume builder but our house was built by a volume builder so it’s not perfect, nor did we expect it to be.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Lochi M, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are pleased to read that you were happy with the communication, the inclusions and the overall quality of ... read more »

Melbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 answer
  • 1 helpful vote
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Sep 2018

Terrible Builder and Tactics

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 11, 2018

We started our build journey with Henley at the Craigieburn display who where great at the start.
We had a couple little issues with dispensation that was required and our customer service guy said not to worry as Henley have a department to help with these things, this is were the lies started. We paid our deposit and had our colour appointment.
While doing selections we asked a number of times for prices on upgrades of certain things to which the girls would give you a price that was substantially more once we got to tender... what a surprise.
At tender we were told that our site costs would be 55k with 15k worth of "notes" that would be finalised once construction had started and we were also told this number may go up from 15k and there's nothing we can do about it but sign the tender.
We said we needed to go and think about our next step. We were about 30 mins into our drive home when we got an email stating that all future appointments have been cancelled because we didn't sign our tender... it was at this point we told them to stick it.
We eventually went with Carlisle who's house design actually suited us better anyway and they did the site costs for 28k and they actually included more works than Henley.
If you like being lied to and ripped off Henley is the right builder for you.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Good in most areas, but a few hiccups along the way. BE AWARE AFTER SETTLEMENT, THEY WILL STILL BE D

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 08, 2018

Overall experience was good, our house just settled last week and the finish of the house is generally okay, good quality and all up to the standards as promised. A few minor mistakes and careless work but it was expected..

Sales, pre-admin, colour selection an the administrator were great. No complaints there.

Tender appointment and dealing with our site supervisor was a nightmare.

- Tender: the person who took our tender appointment had no patience, did not want to accommodate for any of our changes (in which before even asking, he would say "no that is impossible" after which we would persist that he asks the drafters, and then they confirmed it was actually possible. He did not give us time to ask questions, was always telling us to be quiet when we wanted to discuss something.

- Settlement: after we pointed out maybe 7-8 things that were incorrect/ incomplete from our new home presentation, they had not been fixed come the time of our settlement appointment!
There was still mud on our carpets which had not been cleaned, the worst part is that our site supervisor told us he will give us the contact of the drycleaner and we had to organise the carpet to be cleaned ourselves!!!
Plaster works were not finished, the site hadn't been cleaned, our fence was damaged and not yet fixed, render works were not fixed and the paint errors and touch ups in the garage still had correction tape over it.

We have spent the last week and a half in the process of getting these things fixed, that should have been fixed well before our settlement appointment. This has required us to take extra days off work to attend to tradies coming on our site.
We have now had to delay our driveway getting done, which in turn has delayed our move in date.

I would still recommend Henley but be prepared to deal with these road bumps along the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Great experience with timely completion and quality build

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 07, 2018

The first thing come to my mind is "time". It was absolutely quick for double story home to be built - under 5 months. Once the construction started, there is nothing stopping them to complete the job. I am happy with overall 95% of quality products they use. At the end, its house and 5% error rate and minor things are acceptable. Communication is good and everything always was in writing. Happy to recommend as I chose them based upon someone's recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Amit, Thank you so much for your 4 star review. We are delighted to read that you had a 'great experience with timely completion and quality build' - what a fantastic compliment to rece... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Beginning our lifelong journey - Happy Home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 05, 2018

Very happy with the quality of our home and the speed of build, it was done in 7 months.
Management was responsive, there were a few little hiccups at the constructions stage, but our supervisor Brat was very helpful and easy going, he worked on making the final touches and completion on time.
Customer service was good, there’s always a little wait as they have many customers, but that’s fine.
We are overall very happy with the outcome and love our new home.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Amit,
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Henley.
We are pleased to read that you are happy and love your new home.
Congratulations on your settlement!
Best wishes,
Henley Team.

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Oct 2018

Great Experience!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 05, 2018

We had a fantastic experience with Henley, from start to finish. After seeing so many negative reviews, it was a worry to be honest! Our admin was so lovely and helpful in the beginning. And we had an amazing site supervisor too. Our build took a total of 15 weeks and it is such good quality. This is our second build, but first with Henley and the difference in build is crazy! We had friends build with someone different at the same time, and their issues are appalling. Would 100% recommend Henley to anybody :)

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello tellet, Thank you very much for your glowing review! We are so overjoyed to read that you had a fantastic experience with us from start to finish - this is exactly what we aim to provid... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Got there in the end

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 05, 2018

Our build, which was quite unique to Henley as we had a list of council requirements to meet due to our block being in a certain range from the train line. We were told we needed to run acoustic tests on our block and upgrade/change some materials to meet a certain decibel range ( usage of double glazed windows, thick plaster etc) This was very different for a non custom builder and not in their usual scope. It caused months of delays and not getting responses for long periods of time. We were almost at the point of swapping to another builder, even after choosing all our upgrades and colours. Eventually Henley gave us a choice to continue waiting till they found a solution or exit the build with everything refunded. We chose to wait and a few months later they finally finaalised a design for us. Also it only eneded up adding around half of what we thought the acoustics costs would be. After everything was finalised and the build commenced, it was pretty smooth sailing. They gave us updates each week. Our supervisor was changed a few times during the build.

We ended up happy with the build quality, even after having friends of ours in the business inspect the house. All defects were pretty much fixed apart from a few minor ones at hand over.

Our oven didn’t fit in the bench when it was meant to be installed however they were able to cut the hole larger and install on the same day.

The colour appointment felt forced sometimes and very on the spot, however we are happy with all the colours we ended up choosing.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Dean, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Its pleasing to read that you are happy with the end result and any defects were rectified with only minor items found. We have sen... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

First Home Builders and Owners

4 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 05, 2018

This was the first every house My partner and I have built, and would be the first home we would both own. At first the Henley admin experience was terrible, I have nothing good to say about it! But after being assigned a new admin, everything went so smoothly. We had a great SS and the quality of the build other than a handful of minor things were great. Definitely recommend Henley!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Sam, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your experience. We are glad to hear that your experience improved post Administration - this can certainly be one of the more stre... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2019

So Angry at Henley

1 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 04, 2018

So Angry at Henley that I'm barely able to write this review of the Cullen 45 with Pacific facade.

Finally got a response after 9 days regarding tiles and render on a house that is in it's tenth month of building and still not close to finishing. The theme of the house is grey white and black but despite a full day at Cosham where these colours were meticulously chosen, render for the house went on as beige and brown. That's not the worst part, even after having sent them a photo of the styling choices (yes, smart enough to take a photo of all that was chosen) I'm still being told that the beige and brown on the house is in fact the grey and white that was chosen. There isn't anyone that I've taken to the house to show them the render that thinks that it's not beige and brown but Henley insist it is the same colour in the photo of what was chosen.

This wasn't even the original complaint. It was originally about the bathrooms. Specifically an issue regarding how the wall tiles are mis-aligned with the floor tiles. It was signed in triplicate over the tiles being 300x600 for both floor and wall tiles (to ensure that no misalignment would occur since we read the clause that "alignment would be an issue if they weren't the same size) but it seems the tiles were sourced from two separate manufacturers with the wall tiles being 3mm short of the 600mm we signed for. As a result the grout lines are progressively misaligned as your eye makes it way from the centre of the room. Henley labelled the tile in the showroom as 300x600 when in actual fact they were 300x597.

Does Henley take responsibility in any of this? No...not even for mislabeling their showroom tiles (which even they acknowledged were not 300x600) and I didn't expect otherwise. As it stands, once Henley finishes, additional money will be spent by me to rip out the the two bathrooms and redoing the tiles. The render will also be corrected.. again at my own expense.

Would I recommend Henley to anyone else? No, and neither would my neighbour. Totally ashamed of my poor judgement of choosing this builder.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Melbourne

  • 5 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Mar 2018

First Home Expereince

3 out of 5, reviewed on Dec 03, 2018

Our starting experience with Henley was good. The [name removed] from [name removed] display home deliver an excellent customer care and very helpful. When the building stages go on customer care is lacking.
We had a long wait for our house after painting, flooring and major works done before 20th December 2017. We patiently wait for another "two" months because of holidays. Finally, we had our new home presentation/key handover on February 2018 and the good part is that house is still not finished and the job done are not professional at all. We overcome with lot of problem, so we decided to appoint an external builder inspector. He added more to the list and found out that the heating unit is also not fitted. Remember this all happening after presentation or hand over date.
After I started to contact higher level construction managers; a lot of things started happening. At the end we come to realize that the perfection we seen in display homes; it is only for display homes we cannot get that perfection because I believe that the display home is built by experienced people and our houses are contracted to the cheapest contractors in the market. We still have unfinished work after we moved in March 2018. Overall, we like the house plans by Henley, but the customer care is very poor as the stage goes on and quality in their work is missing. What I learn from this building process is that if you get an experienced building supervisor you are lucky; some of your headaches will be gone (but not completely). Our case we are building at the first time and our supervisor is new and young not much experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Mobz14,
If you would email customercare@henley.com.au with any outstanding items I would like to look into this for you.
Thank you

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Great experience

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 30, 2018

This was the first home that we have built and having just had handover of our new home we couldn’t be happier. The hardest part of the build for us was the time waiting for construction to start but it’s a processes that needs to be done so you have the best outcome. Once we commenced construction we were assigned an amazing site supervisor who has made the experience a very positive one. Our build took about 5 1/2 months and we are so happy with the result. Any issues we brought to our supervisor he was more than happy to rectify for us. We would definitely recommend Henley to family and friends

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Leigh J, Thank you for your lovely 5 star review! We are pleased to hear that you are happy with your new home and that construction went so quickly and smoothly! It is great to hear th... read more »

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Dec 2018

Terrible experience with construction team

1 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 30, 2018

I regret i chosen henley to build my house. Sales team was very good but as soon as construction started, trouble starts. I chosen henley thought for its good quality and standards but it never meet those. Our supervisor is terrible.
Luckily we hired independent inspector during construction. Henley supervisor never felt comfortable with that (independent inspector). He always make excuses not to call him or call him separately on different day.
Paint workmanship is of very low standard in ist handover appointment. Wall joint, architrave cracks already open and clearly visible.
We are going to have 2nd handover appointment tomorrow.
Everytime there is any issues, henley construction admin and my supervisor are either unreachable or put blind eye.
Very unhappy and frustrated so far with this ridicule experience so far. On top of that they dont have complaint department.

1 person found this helpful, do you? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Barinder,
Our department for any complaints is Customercare@henley.com.au.
Thank you
Henley Team

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Happy with New Home

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 29, 2018

Our experience with Henley started really positive. We received an excellent and satisfied service from Henley throughout our building process. At the start [Name Removed] our sales representative, she is amazing and perfect in her profession which encourage us to go with Henley homes. At the administrative level all our administrative consultants they helped us a lot to choose all the items and explained all them according to our needs. Whenever we had a question we got quick reply from Henley by email or a phone call. Our Construction Period I felt was bit Dragging one and It took 8 months for our Home to be completed. On Our NHP I was very Disappointed as only 90% home was completed, Tile work was done so poorly and It's still pending to be fixed. After NHP I got different Supervisor [Name Removed] and [Name Removed] Construction manager working on my home and I have noticed Positive changes. We finally Got keys and moved in. There are still some issues and positive thing is Henley is getting them fixed slowly slowly. I had really high exceptions from Henley but amount of times I had to follow up and report Quality issues was disappointment as I was expecting everything to be smooth and perfect. IN short we love our Home and Sales/admin phase was awesome and Construction phase wasn't as I have expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Pam Kaur, Thank you very much for your 4 star review! We are delighted to read that you've been satisfied with the customer service levels you received from our team throughout the buil... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jun 2018

PERFECT HOME

4 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 27, 2018

It has been such a wonderful experience for having ready built Henley home . We liked the floorplan of house which sits on decent size of land ,interior and exteriors colors very modern. We found few minor defects during inspection but they fixed prior to the settlement.This was very simple property purchase for us . We are very happy with our new home!.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Jag, Thank you for your 4 star review! We are thrilled to read that you are happy with your brand new home! It is certainly wonderful to read that any minor defects were fixed before yo... read more »

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 helpful votes
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Jul 2018

Highly recommend Henley's pre-designed homes for those who want to move straight into their new home

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 25, 2018

Though they offer a limited collection of pre-designed homes in some of Melbourne's newer suburbs, I'm very happy that my house sits on a decent size of land, design is well thought through, interior and exterior colors are very modern, and it comes with quality fixtures and luxury inclusions within the house. Price was very competitive as well and I didn't spend any more of my time and money to do the landscaping and fencing around the house, as this is all included in the price. We identified a few minor defects during our new home presentation inspection and they were all addressed promptly prior to the settlement.

If you are in the market looking for a house and land package, I would strongly suggest to consider Henley's ready built homes, as this would reduce a lot of stress and can help us move in straight away into our brnad new house.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Vskraj23, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really pride ourselves on our standard inclusions and competitive prices, and it is wonderful to read that you agree. Vskra... read more »

Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
Private message

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Perfect! So happy with our new home!!!

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 23, 2018

Our Administration experience was frustrating as we had 3 pre-site administrators however, once we were handed over to Construction our experience was FANTASTIC! Our site supervisor Scott, was fabulous. We cannot speak highly enough of him!! He kept us well informed and was always very realistic and upfront about timeframes etc and got us in before Christmas which we are thrilled about! Tegen our Customer Service Administration (On-Site) always kept us well informed and responded to any questions promptly. No denying that there were small hiccups along the way, but these were always resolved to our satisfaction. We are extremely happy with our new home!

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Mel, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Henley, we are so pleased to read that our fabulous construction team was able to provide such an amazing home for you both!... read more »

Verified Customer Construction End Date: Nov 2018

Very satisfied with build

5 out of 5, reviewed on Nov 21, 2018

This is my second Henley build. Their designs are well thought out and have great inclusions.
We had a couple of delays at initial sales appointment at the display centre (incorrect information and poor communication which lead to delays) but besides that, our build was very well managed throughout construction.
Our administration / customer service lady was absolutely AMAZING and very patient and attentive to all my annoying queries - to have this lady be a part of our build, we count ourselves extremely lucky as nothing was too hard for her to help with and provided us with honest responses and recommendations.
Once at construction, we had a great construction admin lady, a great site supervisor and the final construction supervisor was very helpful and nice.
If you are building a home, you must expect things may be delayed, errors will occur, things will frustrate you at times and these homes are not made by robots so human errors can happen. I'm confident that we have a great product and end result and would do it all again with Henley (if I ever needed to!).

Was this review helpful? Yes

Comments
Henley Official

Hello Michelle,
Wow, what an amazing review - Thank you!
We are so pleased to read that you are happy with the team behind your beautiful new home.
Congratulations on your settlement.
Best wishes,
Henley Team.

1 of 19 pages


Questions & Answers

Hi My house construction is running for about a year. On 5th Nov 2018 Henely crossed the delivery date and Henely is paying weekly penalty for the overrun . But this is not the end. My private building inspector listed a series of unfinished things and I handed over the list to Henely supervisor. The supervisor messaged me one fine day and said all done but when my inspector visited the site it wasn’t done. Now the building supervisor is sending me message saying he is going to go through the list with my inspector. This is unprofessional and painful at the same time for the house owner who has been dreaming and dreaming about the handover of the house. I have started cursing the decision of going with Henely. As handover seems to be far from the reality and these unprofessional behavior ensures that definitely I am not getting handover of my house in near future. Please let us know the escalation route , I will write to them my detailed painful story.

Manoj Kaparwan asked on Dec 04, 2018

Answer this

Hello Manoj,
As you have already escalated this to Customer Care, and I can see that Nia has been very responsive, this is the process that will need to be followed.
I can see that this question is from the 04/12 - and you have been in contact since.
Thank you

Which wood you use for framing? What's the difference between F5 or MGP10 Wood pines and which one is better

Jimmy asked on Nov 23, 2018

Answer this

Hello Jimmy,
We use Machine Graded F5 structural Pine.
F5 and MGP10 are quite similar in properties, and are both pine. MGP10 refers to machine graded pine with the 10 referring to its modulus of elasticity (or stiffness). The F5 modulus is around 8.2 - they are very similar and meets our homes' structural requirements.
I hope this clarifies your query.
Thank you,
Henley Team.

Hi Could anyone advise re Cullen 45? We're about to kick-start the process with Henley soon! We're in SE suburb, our second build but quite concerning regarding the timeline, structural changes and etc. Any advice is appreciated. Henley sales has so fat been really helpful. Thanks! Jason

Ferren asked on Oct 21, 2018

Answer this

Hi; Building the Cullen 45 with a Pacific Facade. The build is into it's 10th month and nowhere near completion. I had my second conversation with the site manager a week ago and was told that even without the issues that I've raised regarding tiling, it won't be finished before March next year. I foolishly believed that they were taking their time to do a better job but that simply isn't the case. Sorry to give such a bad review but it was the second house to start construction in my area and there are 4 other Henley houses that completely overtook its progress. When the contracts were signed at the end of October it was confidently stated that, "you'll be building before Christmas." In truth, construction didn't begin until well into March.

See all 129 questions about Henley