3 photos
Breville BES920 (Dual Boiler)

Breville BES920 (Dual Boiler)

MPN: BES920BSS
4.1 from 118 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Breville

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (18)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (18)
  • Ease of Use
    4.5 (17)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (17)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (15)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.2 (15)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.5 (14)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
Gerry
GerryGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 21 reviews
  • 22 likes

Great barista quality for around $1k

published

Purchased in April 2015 at Bing Lee Online store for $800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mary
MaryMelbourne
  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Ok .... til it breaks! Again.

published

Makes good coffee. We unfortunately cracked the head and $450 later got it back. We were told this is due to overfilling. We have been super careful and 3 years later same issue. Again it would be $590 to fix. Decided to buy different brand. It was expensive machine so this is disappointing.

Purchased in June 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Adrian f.
Adrian f.Sydney, NSW

Bad coffee 3 months into use.

published

Bought expresso maker from BingLee in April. Coffee was good at first. After 2 months, each cup of expresso gradually become twice as big, and thin. I tried different brands of coffee beans, grinds size, volume. Non seems to work.
I rang Breville 10 times over 3 days, listening to 'Your call is important to us...' for up to 10 minutes each, before I surrendered and left my phone number. Nobody seem to be care enough to call back for an discussion.

Purchased in April 2020 at Bing Lee Physical store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville BES920 (Dual Boiler) compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great machine, even after 4 years.

published

Purchased in October 2016 at Harvey Norman for $1,349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Peter
PeterPerth, WA

Limited life - If you purchase Get the extended warranty

published

I purchased the BES920 in Jan 2017 from Harvey Norman. I thought that it was fantastic producing cafe quality strong coffee. So I encouraged my brother and mother to also get one. Within a year the boiler broke and was fixed under warranty, I think that it should have been replaced. 2 years later (Jan 2020) out of warranty and boilers were totally gone. Repair man said it would cost more to fix. Seems my brother had the same issue and his boilers broke within 3 years also. No coincidence, repairman told him it's a common fault. For $1000 I expect more than 3 years of use. Really annoyed and disappointed. 4 yr extended warranty and all would be fine.
Produces great coffee but make sure you get the extended warranty.

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Budget Coffee Machines, Bread Makers and Food Sealers

In quarantine and in need of fresh coffee, bread and longer lasting food? Read on for more information on kitchen appliances that won’t break the bank and help see you through self isolation during difficult times.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.27 Mar 2020
budget-coffee-machines-bread-makers-and-food-sealers

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Cat
CatMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

machine stopped working just outside of warranty

published

Very disappointed. This machine was great, when it worked, up until a few months out of warranty. Now I have a $1200+ machine that is unusable, and i have to pay to get it fixed. Paying this much for a machine to last a couple of years is absurd, the quality should be much better than that but there are so many people posting stories of similar issues with this machine, Breville clearly have some quality issues to address. Will be getting the repair quoted and going to ACCC if i have to, to ensure that Breville cover the repair costs of their faulty product. Have also had quality issues with other Breville appliances, this is the last straw and i will NOT be buying Breville again.

Purchased in March 2018 at Harvey Norman for $1,224.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Doons
DoonsNorth Queensland, QLD
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Impressed

published

I brought this machine as a clearance model(bes920) for $999, they’re now bep920, the difference is they’ve gone from 1700watt up to 2100 watt, no biggie because I brought solely on the reviews for the older model.. I’ve had it a week And so far absolutely love every bit of this machine, heats up quick, makes great consistent coffee and the frother is better than I expected (that was important for me).. Can’t fault it and will give a update in due time.

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ian E.
Ian E.
  • 3 reviews

Awesome machine, perfect cup

published

I bought the BES920 and Smart Grinder 3 years ago and it hasn’t missed a beat. It took a bit of playing with the grinder to get the best combination of time and grind for a great cup. It is probably due for a service as a couple of washers appear to have been worn, however after a few thousand cups of coffee, it is a total bargain. Having a dual boiler is great, I had a single boiler Delonghi model before this, and frankly it was crap. I can not recommend this high enough, it’s a bargain.

Purchased in August 2017 at Bing Lee for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Can't recommend enough!

published

Closest one can get to commercial in the home for under $1000aud. Really for an enthusiast or someone looking to become one. This machine provides the tools to get the most out of any bean

Purchased in January 2020 for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville BES920 (Dual Boiler) compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fred
Fred
  • 2 reviews

Great machine, excellent backup

published

I have had this machine for two years. It has given reliable service and has delivered consistently good shots. I have cyclists in the family - they drink triple shot macchiatoes. I prefer latte. All of us love the coffee. Customer service responded extremely well to my recent request to have the firmware reset after descaling.

Purchased in July 2018 at Myer for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ben
BenSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

Easy to use, difficult to master....

published

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Adman
Adman
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Highly capable and reasonably idiot-proof

published

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $850.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Itisfunny
ItisfunnyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

4 years review you get what you paid for

published

Purchased in June 2016 at David Jones for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Mason W.
Mason W.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  • 9 reviews

5 years later mostly Good but some Downsides

published

Purchased in August 2014 at JB Hi-Fi for $1,400.00.

Incentivised Review No
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
Steve
SteveRichmond-Tweed, NSW

WOW ... love this machine.

published

Just returned the second Sunbeam EM7100 within a week as neither of them produced enough steam power to produce micro foam, they only heated the milk, terribly underpowered, to get half decent espresso required a lot of fiddling with the settings. The Good Guys had this beauty marked down to $485.00. Straight out of the box it made a near perfect Latte macchiato without even trying, beautiful rich micro foam in under 20 secs, perfect temperature, rich espresso fabulous machine for a home domestic appliance. Highly recommend this machine if your not a coffee snob and just love a good coffee.

Purchased in October 2019 at The Good Guys for $485.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville BES920 (Dual Boiler) compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2See all Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820 reviews

Questions & Answers

david
davidasked
BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I'm getting a fill water message but the reservoir is full, trying to run descale and it wont let me

No answers
Ken
Kenasked
BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I have a BSS920 about 3 years old and am having a problem with descaling. Have descaled previously with no problems.
Following the manual instructions I empty the boilers and next step is to begin Descale, press 1 cup button to begin to descale and figures 20 (for seconds) show in screen) and press 1cup button. However nothing appears in the screen and nothing happens.
Anyone have a solution?

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Breville should have a solution

Paul L
Paul Lasked
BES920 (Dual Boiler)

I complete a descale on my BES920 and the Descale Message remains on. Has been occuring for last 18 months or so. I descale every 2 to 3 months but no change

1 answer
Richo
Richo

Hey Paul, apologies if you've tried this but maybe reset your hardness setting. With machine off, hold down 1 cup button and turn on. reset should appear on display, hit menu to select and then set your hardness.

See all Breville BES920 (Dual Boiler) questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville BES920 (Dual Boiler)

Details

Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820
CategoryAppliances and Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $1699.95
Width372mm
Height377mm
Depth404mm
Pump Pressure15bar
Water Tank Capacity2.5L
Input Power2200w
Replaced byBreville Dynamic Duo BEP920
Compare both Breville Dual Boiler with Smart Grinder BES920 / BCG820
  • GTIN13: 9312432021937
  • MPN: BES920BSS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.