??!
1 photo
Clarendon Homes NSW, Baulkham Hills

Clarendon Homes NSW, Baulkham Hills

4.7 from 838 reviews

Fantastic builder and easy to deal with!

My wife and I are first home buyers with little to no knowledge of the building process. From our first experience with Clarendon via the show homes in Calderwood and the display centre in Parklea, through to commencing the build, the experience has been a very smooth process. We found that the pricing that was available online and in-store was invaluable to us as there are typically a lot of hidden costs when you do your own build. This helped immensely for budgeting purposes. Our first consultant, explained the initial stage and helped guide us through the contract stage and was flexible when we had questions and always found a solution for us.

We have felt extremely well informed, up-dated on a regular basis and have had each step clearly identified and explained to us. We really appreciated the personalised service that we received from our PreConstruction Customer Service Consultant, as she was always very quick to help us out and was always available to answer our questions. She was very quick to send through amendments to our schedule and kept us well informed of the progress of our council application.

We organised our finance for the build through a smaller lender and they required adjustments be made to the progress payment schedule as they were more risk-adverse compared to major lenders. We explained this to our PreConstruction Customer Service Consultant and she was quick to have our schedule adjusted via Clarendon's finance team to ensure that we could have this accepted by our lender in a timely fashion.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Build StageMid-Construction

Not just expensive but BIG disappointment as well

Clarendon promised the moon but failed to deliver. We are well into our 5th month after handover and still feels like the construction phase. The standard (more like substandard) of work delivered is downright poor even after upgrading to their "Sapphire Inclusions".
Clarendon couldn't even get the foundation correct. The slab in the garage has so many cracks and dents and Clarendon claims this is expected, and they can't do anything about it. The subcontractor wiggled his way out but saying that he can only patch up with a thin layer of epoxy which would not even be of the same colour and would look even worse.
The installation of the masonry course is defective because it is projecting over the slab edge or footing by more than 15 mm. This exceeds the allowable Standards and Tolerances. Upon bringing this to the notice of the Warranty Officer his reply was "So, what do want me to do with this!!!”
There are several window panels that have been scratched. Window glass were supplied by Stegbar. However, Clarendon does not replace them with original Stegbar but through a third-party glass repair contractor.
Paint finish throughout the house has been extremely substandard level. Painting does not reflect three coats of paint as per contract. We have uneven paint patches, bubbles in multiple rooms on both levels. It is evident Clarendon used unskilled and unqualified painters. The gyprock throughout the house has been setting and it needs plastering and sanding and painting. It has created so much dust and after repeatedly informing Clarendon that it is hazardous for my 4-month baby there is no care factor in cleaning and finishing the job. Numerous cracks on the wood and architraves have to be repainted. Door edges haven't been sealed. Windows frames have cracked corners.
The house was handed over untidy. Elements such as windows, floors, sink baths and cabinetry were not cleaned for use after handover.
Site drainage was inadequate. This is a potential for subsequent water damage to building elements. After raising this with Clarendon, the site manager acknowledged that Clarendon has erred.
During the Construction phase, the site was constantly left in a disgusting state with not just building materials but leftover food and empty bottles. Internal and external lights were left on all the time. At least on 3 different occasions I reported entry fence gate unlocked and wide open.
The ward robe installed in Bed 2 is medieval and has been painted with 2 different shades.
We keep finding many new issues around the house. Their contractors must be blind. They cannot even install a kitchen tower straight. Clarendon managed to stuff up feature wall paint in our main bedroom, cracked all the concrete on the footpath for which they accept no responsibility. Our entry feature door was left with acid marks, fence around the house has paint marks. Doors keep squeaking even after oiling. We were given our Bath 2 without an option for exhaust and told to keep the windows open for the moist. Toilets are rusting within months of usage and we were told the rusting is due to acid in urine!!! Defective showers, we were told they have it in their own homes and we should clean it with vinegar.

The list is endless. Even the Clarendon Warranty Officer claims this is uncommon. Clarendon Site Manager & their ''Independent Inspectors" are a joke. I asked my site manager number of times "are you happy with the job" & every time he claimed yes. Goes to show how well he knows his job & who Clarendon hires. The selection of hiring sub-contractors in all areas is most likely to cut costs rather than having experienced and licensed as can be seen from the finished product. Our house is still full of blue tape on every defect which me and my wife have spent hours placing.

Clarendon is not just more expensive but BIG disappointment as well

Customer Service
Site Admin
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2018

Pre construction

Our customer service consultant was amazing she was very informative and such a great help really appreciate everything she did for us. Looking forward to the next stage. Thank you

Customer Service
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction

Customer Service

[name removed] was our Customer Service Consultant for PreConstruction. She was great, kept us informed of progress of council application process, changes due to our amendments and selections and of updated plans. She was easy to converse with and straight up. Great work!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction

Customer Service Consultant

[name removed] was extremely helpful and informative. She guided me through the whole process and I felt supported and informed. While it’s been a long process to get to this stage, this was in no way do to [name removed], but rather the circumstances surrounding the time frame. Eg. Christmas etc. All in all l am very pleased with Clarendon at this stage.

Customer Service
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction

We are finally in and are very happy with the end product overall

Was a long process, but that was expected when buying off plans pre land registration. Customer Service was excellent from the very start to the very end, thanks [name removed], [name removed], [name removed] (in drafting) & [name removed], Always contacted and addressed and solved any questions we may have had. A few hiccups on the way but these are being rectified and I am sure will all be completed shortly as we have only just moved in. We went with Clarendon for quality and are overall very happy. Thanks for putting up with us!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019

Customer Service legend

The customer service experience during the sale and pre-build phases has been exceptional. Friendly and knowledgeable staff quick to respond to every question and willing to support the nuances of my situation when it came to the selection process. A standout in this process was [name removed], who maintained a professional and calm head at all times, maintained regular communications and managed a relatively seamless and quick end to end pre-construction to release process, all done in 49 days.

With construction now underway, this has set a high bar for ongoing customer service expectations.

Customer Service
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction

It is all done!

There was exceptional care towards us their client. The accomplishment is earlier than the time frame given with such satisfaction is guaranteed to us. Staff and building supervisor were approachable.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateApril 2019

Outstanding build!

Our whole building experience with Clarendon homes was faultless from start to finish. Our Customer Service Consultant, [name removed], was outstanding. Every question we had was answered almost immediately every time, paperwork was always processed in a timely manner and [name removed] was always so knowledgeable and helpful. It really was a pleasure working with [name removed] throughout our build period. Because of [name removed] impeccable customer service skills, we will always recommend Clarendon Homes. Thanks [name removed]!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019

Over the moon!

We could not be happier with our Clarendon Home. Our house was handed to us a week ago (with currently zero defects!) and we could not fault our experience. Our supervisor, [name removed], was very precise and organised his trades so well and because of this, our build period was a dream. He is very knowledgeable and made sure at every stage, that our home was perfect. [name removed] always kept us updated and always strived to keep us happy (even though our BAL40 requirements would have been a huge headache for him.) We would really like to thank [name removed] for his outstanding work during our build, and will always recommend Clarendon Homes because of this.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019

great pre construction experience

Hi Clarendon homes, thank you for giving us a smooth, hassle free pre construction experience building in Newcastle.

Each and every one of the staff that we have dealt with at Clarendon is exceptionally professional, friendly and caring.
After our first meeting with sales agent [name removed] at Thornton display homes, we decided to go ahead with Clarendon as he was very accommodating to our needs and willing to change the designs around to suit our requirements. We picked Madison 37 to be the one for us with a few modifications.

Since the house we are building is in Newcastle, we had to travel to Sydney to do our selections at Clarendon studio. We originally had so many concerns as to whether we would be able to make all our selections in the limited appointment time. However, when we went to Clarendon showroom we found the process was well organised and the team were very professional and knowledgeable. They gave us perfect advice to meet all our requirements, designed a kitchenette for our upstairs leisure area (thank you Melanie for being a great designer and having so much patience), and made the selections process enjoyable and exciting. Special mention to [name removed] for taking us through selections thoroughly, staying past your home time for us to finish and also for following up on our floor tiles issue. We also had a very good experience with [name removed] at EHI, and [name removed] at Zurcorp.

Extremely happy with our customer service consultant [name removed], she always had time to answer our queries and was very prompt in answering my emails. We felt comfortable to ring her straight away if any questions came up. She would patiently talk us through the answer and would make us feel like we are the only client she has. Some days her phone call would come first thing in the morning with updates on drawings, approvals or something relating to the house. She has efficiently coordinated the building approval process, selections and finalisation of the house plan drawings all at once to speed up the pre construction process.

You are an asset to Clarendon, [name removed]. Thank you so much for the care and professionalism you have shown us. Also thank you for your perseverance in sorting our floor tiles issue and liaising with Newcastle tile direct people and their head office in Sydney.

We entered the construction phase just last week and we are hoping for wonderful building experience with Clarendon.

CDC: 8042161
Job: 29913435

Customer Service
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction

So far so good

We are only in pre construction and although it took longer than expected our Consultant Joedee was excellent in keeping us informed every step of the way. There were some unexpected issues that delayed us and at times frustrating, but Joedee was always available and explained the process to us every time I needed help. You must go into this doing your research and expecting delays and issues you may not be prepared for otherwise you will be dissapointed. So far so good! Let's hope the customer service going forward is just as good and the build itself as well!! Fingers crossed.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Transparency
Build StagePre-Construction

Disappointed - Poor Customer Service & major issues post- construction ( look elsewhere!!)

Pre-construction stage was pretty horrendous. Customer service was pretty much non- Existent and if you complained you were totally ignored for weeks!! Construction stage pretty good only due to the fact we scored a great site manger... post - construction another matter.
1. Forgot to put solar in
2. Air con doesn’t work properly. We upgraded to 10 zones but if you have one zone on downstairs is still pumps air upstairs. No one seems to know how to fix this???
3. We were asked by carpet call if we wanted Scotia in our kitchen. We advised NO. The guy from carpet call said he would let kitchens know.... this never happened!!! No we have this awful scotia around the kitchen... see pictures. Looks awful. We choose one of the most expensive builders for a reason... and it sure wasn’t to get this ugly ( not even matching) scotia in the kitchen.
4. Stairs are already splitting. We paid $13k to upgrade these

Post construction = they have already been paid so don’t expect them to fix any issues properly.

I would look elsewhere. Save the money as Clarendon are one of the most expensive ones but act like a cheap builder in the end. So many other smaller issues than just above. Can’t say we are completely happy with the whole process. They turn over staff very quickly so expect to have numerous CS contacts.

Big thumbs down Clarendon

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJanuary 2019
2 comments
Hi JulieS, we are very sorry to hear about your post handover issues. We would like an opportunity to review the matters and have them rectified as soon as possible. Could you please send us your contact details to productreview@clarendon.com.au so that we may forward to the management team involved. Thanks in advance.I have emailed you our correspondence with Clarendon. I will forward a few more emails to show the amount of issues we have had from start to finish.

Poor experience, shocking customer service, dubious charges, poorly finished house

My issues with Clarendon began with having to deal with different staff with the tender process. Costs were quoted at a certain price and then all of a sudden I was dealing with another staff member and the costs were higher? Made some noise, and got this refunded.

The lady who went through the colour studio etc. with us was an absolute piece of work. She was too lazy to get up from her desk and we had to constantly ask her to show us the displays so we could make the correct selections. Several sections were skipped and she definitely made selections without asking us so that she could finish her day quicker.

Dealt with [name removed] as our customer service consultant. Constantly out of office with no notice. I'd sign documents and send them back in with no reply. All the delays eventually culminated in my contract expiring before they had submitted the plans to council for approval. This was clearly [name removed] fault for delaying everything with incompetence and unavailability. Clarendon's answer was to charge me $9000 to renew my contract. Trust me, there was no delay in this charge being sent to us.

Overall, Clarendon's office is very poor. If you contract these people, go over each piece of documentation carefully as their business model is to stick you with charge upon charge unknowingly. At one point, work on my house ceased and all workers were allocated to other houses to work. The contract is completely written up in their favour. Avoid these people, buy a house that's already built. All the positive reviews here are absolute nonsense. The fool giving 5 stars before the house has even started building.

Having received the house, there are numerous areas where the work is substandard and downright poorly completed. A whole section of the wall has not been filled and sanded to hide the gap between boards. Many areas have been painted once and the finish is rough and poorly done. A gas connection has been left unfinished with no connection attached at the end, just capped off. Clarendon broke all the concrete on the footpath and have in their contract that they expect no responsibilty. Never again, use smaller private companies who have more to lose and therefore value your business. Would give a zero if possible. AVOID

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
1 comment
Hi KMP, we are very sorry to hear about your experience with us and would like to escalate your issues to our management team as a matter of urgency. If you would be kind enough to email us your contact details we will action as soon as possible. You can contact us at productreview@clarendon.com.au

Big disappointment - DON'T recommend

More expensive than other builders and made us to suffer financial losses due to Clarendon's careless operation.

By 2nd June 2017, our land was settled and color studio appointment was completed. We were notified that our plan was complied with developer requirements and good to go. We patiently waited for our variations and or upgrades to be amended in our final plan. After our several follow ups, changes were finally incorporated. We, as customers, had to check so many times due to changes being missed out on the plans even after communicated clearly. This is apparently lack of due diligence! Time wasted here directly resulted in delaying getting approval from developer and council. You could have made customers experience better by clearly documenting changes in the meeting, walking through the people who is amending the plan to ensure he understand everything requested, following up within your own team and have a second check before passing this back to customer.

Just when we thought our plan was all good to go for developers to approve, we were told by Clarendon that it was no longer complied with developer's requirements and we had no choice but to reselect the materials and colors for some areas. It all sound so easy for Clarendon to blame developers' vague requirements and or miscommunications at that time. Whichever excuses might be, just not Clarendon's fault. Yet as for customers, it means make new appointments with suppliers, taking leaves from work, reselecting materials or colors with higher costs and more variations of course and more interests to pay on top of all those which no one is covering for us! After numerous times of communication and changes (one after another), our developer approval was granted on 6th November 2017. More than 5 months waiting - This I think is not only lack of due diligence, but also careless operation within Clarendon. We consulted the developers ourselves and also our neighbors who built with other builders but NOT Clarendon, the feedback was developer approval were smooth and approval granted within 2 weeks. Clarendon, being one of the top builders I used to trust, its incapability or "can't be bothered" attitude to actively understand the requirements from developer has resulted in the significant delays. I'd like an explanation here - Way back in color studio appointment, why did your staff told us that we were complied in the first place? what or who stopped Clarendon staff to contact the developers to understand/confirm their requirements in advance. It made us feel like no one was looking after us. Only people passing messages, requesting for payments, and denying responsibilities.

Around the same period, we were requested to pay $5,822 to have our tender extended from 31st August 2017 to 28th February 2018. We had no choice in order to keep the ball rolling instead of bearing more losses on paying interests!

On 19th January 2018, DA approval was granted and the construction is still going.. Till today it has been almost 2 years since the land settled!

This is our 2nd time building with Clarendon, our first time experience was overall pleasant, all things were planned and executed efficiently and handled professionally with capable hands. From land settlement to completion of construction, it only took 6 months. That was the reason why when we were to build our 2nd home, we chose Clarendon without second thoughts even after we knew the price went up quite a bit. And we even strongly recommended our friends and families to build with Clarendon. Ironically, the whole experience has been worsen so much over last 2 years. My friend who has chose Casaview homes 6 months after our settlement had already moved in 5 months ago, told us their amazing experience building their new home and with much cheaper prices!

Such a big disappointment and I would never build with them again!

Timeliness
Build StagePost-Construction
1 comment
Hi Shuying. We are very disappointed to hear about the experience you have had. Would you mind contacting us with your details and our Customer Service Manager will follow through. You can email you contact details to productreview@clarendon.com.au

Great build & exellent customer service

Very happy with the end result of our build with Clarendon even though it took longer to complete then the given timeframe.

Great communication from staff, in particular our customer service consultant [name removed] who has been nothing but amazing! [name removed] has been so helpful and responsive. Always happy to answer any questions or queries that I had during the construction phase. She has definitely delivered an outstanding level of service.

Our site supervisor [name removed] has also been great throughout the build. The workmanship and build quality has been of high standard but we still waiting for one issue to be fixed after handover.

Overall, we are very and excited with our build.

Thank you Clarendon!

Customer Service
Timeliness
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019

So professional, patient and accommodating

Our very professional customer service consultant positively responded to all of our customisations & requirements. They were very patient with the volume of changes & the duration of the process due to a subdivision. 29912692 29912693

Customer Service
Timeliness
Build StagePre-Construction

Stress free build!

We had an awesome experience dealing with Clarendon through the building process. This was the first home we have built and we loved the quality of the house. Great communication from all Clarendon staff - from the first day of looking at the houses in Parklea, to the colour studio, to the accounts team, admin team and the site supervisors. Eric rang weekly to update us on the build which was fantastic! He made time for us to come out to look at the house especially in the last few months. The customer service team were lovely to deal with and responded promptly to each and every one of our emails. There were minor issues to resolve over the build and after our PCI, they were all dealt with promptly.

The quality of the build and the finished product have met our expectations and beyond. The house and land package in Box Hill have meant we can move in and not have to worry about spending more money on landscaping.

The final cost compared to the estimated cost did not change. There were no surprises.

We love our home and would highly recommend building with Clarendon.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMarch 2019

Great start with trustworthy builder....

Right from the selecting builder to hitting the ground, very pleasant and less complicated process. These Guys knows their job at best level. If I need to build again then Clarendon will be the one to choose and I will not even waste my time with any other builder. Joedee Warner was our customer service consultant and I would give her 7 points if there is selection. Best at words and following up things and same apply to Antonia Lo Passo- all are doing best on their floor.

Best Regards
N & N

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Build StagePre-Construction
Construction End DateDecember 2019

Nothing but AMAZING so far!!!

Our journey with Clarendon Homes so far has been AMAZING!! From the moment we met with [name removed]r at their Display Super Centre in Parklea we have never looked back. From there we had all our follow up appointments and selection choices with all the lovely staff at their Baulkham Hills Office. The whole process was fantastic. Everyone we dealt with from picking our staircase design, flooring, internal colours, blinds etc were amazing.

We have built before and renovated many homes....so we have extremely high standards of workmanship and quality. Clarendon Homes have been building beautiful homes for more than 40 years so our choice of builder was easy.

Our file has just been released to construction stage and we couldn't of been happier with our Customer Service Consultant [name removed]. [name removed] made sure the whole process went smoothly and was always professional and prompt to answer emails and phone calls. The amount of work involved in preparing a home to pre-construction stage is huge....sometimes I had to remind myself that I'm not the only home [name removed] is looking after but she definitely made us feel like we were her only priority. [name removed] has definitely made our experience with Clarendon so far.... nothing but AMAZING!

Customer Service
Build StagePre-Construction

Page 1 of 42

See all Clarendon Homes reviews

Questions & Answers

Hi, Can anyone please explain what are the conditions of the clarendon lifetime warranty. Thanks
1 answer
I believe the lifetime warranty isn’t passed on when sold, and only certain things are under the lifetime warranty.

Details

NSW, Baulkham Hills
Contact Number (02) 8851 5300
Address21 Solent Circuit, Baulkham Hills NSW, Australia
24-Hour Phone Contact No
Online Live Chat No
Types of Homes AvailableHome within a Home, One-Storey and Two-Storey
Major Defects WarrantyLifetime
Knockdown & RebuildYes
Compare all Clarendon Homes

Visit official website

Similar listings