??!
1 photo
Dyson Big Ball Origin

Dyson Big Ball Origin

MPN: 36293829
3.5 from 80 reviews

See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.


Damaged wooden floors

So dissapointed in this vaccuume, its scratched our wooden floors since day 1. Contacted customer care and was told it wasnt specifically for wooden floors (its a vacuumme, what else will I be doing with it than cleaning floors?!) and I'd have to pay for another attachment that won't damage my floors! What a crock! Terrible customer service!! Will be taking it back for a refund and never buying Dyson again

Purchased in January 2019 for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Product is used: Rarely
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No

Excellent vacuum cleaner

I never looked back once I went Dyson. Great suction, great design, totally deserve the dollars spent. I recommend the wired one as you don’t have to count down the time the battery will run out.

Purchased in March 2018.

I love vacuuming now!

Great vacuum, makes vacuuming the house seem like less of a chore. Great suction, no smell and it doesn’t blow dust in the air which means I don’t have to open the windows to air the house. Great for people with allergies.

Purchased in February 2019.

Good vacuum

Very good suction the vacuum is a bit heavy but other than that no complaint filter easy to clean doesn't need cleaning more than once a year easy to empty dust .

Purchased in November 2016 at Harvey Norman Electronics Physical Store for $750.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No

Major safety hazard. Should be recalled

My previous Dyson caught on fire just outside of warranty so I purchased the Dyson Big Ball Origin. This has a major design flaw that the swivel/retractable part that is adjacent to handle will pinch whatever it comes in contact with. I’ve struggled to get the skin from my arm out once it is stuck in it, same for my T-shirt. Dyson admitted that they knew it pinched when I first called them but said they had never seen an injury like mine and considered it a safety issue. The machine itself has no warnings of the only way that this can be safely handled (excluding getting your clothes stuck in it), is it can only be moved/used/operated/dismantled/attachments fitted etc etc by ONLY holding handle otherwise you have a nasty injury coming your way. If you’re vacuuming behind furniture, your car etc, this becomes almost impossible. This machine has the potential to inflict serious injury so I would avoid buying, keep children away and watch your skin, clothing, hair when using. Dyson have been so unhelpful and left it to me to try and get a refund from Harvey Norman. I will be pursing with Fair Trading. Appalling service from Dyson, this machine should be recalled. It is a major hazard and if you google you will see that this issue has been identified already. I will never buy another Dyson product, really disappointed with their appalling service.

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Product is used: Daily
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
1 comment
Hi Tracey, Thank you for your review. This is certainly not what we would expect from either your machine or the Dyson Experts you have been in touch with. Please email auaskdyson@dyson.com with your details and we will be in touch shortly to assist. Best wishes, Shan

Good vacuum

The suction is great as I mentioned before but like I predicted the wand is not strong enough it's leaking air from most joints and the lower one that connects to the floor attachment cracked I had to glue it but it's not gonna hold it's like buying a Ferrari but all the inside is plastic .

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Hi Kamel, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with your Dyson Big Ball. While plastic is one of the many components used to manufacture our machines, we choose the right materials to ensure our machines are durable, yet light. You get a glimpse that goes into testing our machines here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=65ku5nxeLdA That being said, we wouldn't expect air to leak from the connections. We would kindly ask you to email auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be in touch. We look forward to hearing from you and assisting. Best wishes, Shan

Disappointed

Found this vacuum very difficult to manoeuvre, it's heavy and has to be picked up in order to move it backwards. The cord is too short making it necessary to unplug and move to an alternate power outlet as one moves around the house. It does not travel around corners and furniture readily and has to be moved manually. It is a powerful vacuum cleaner and does indeed pick up much more than previously owned cleaners but the suction is too strong for rugs. It would be a good idea to try it out on a carpeted area before purchasing.

Date PurchasedJan 2019

Absolute Worst Vacuum Ever

We purchased The Big Ball Multi Floor about 8 months ago and it was our 3rd Dyson we have had over the years. This has to be the worst vacuum they have ever made. It's bulky and catches on every external skirting board it encounters and damages them as well. It's a pain in the butt to drag around and the handle is horrible. I think I'll be retiring this one to the garage earlier than expected and trying a different brand next time. Sorry Dyson but it's a big THUMBS DOWN on this one.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Hi Alan, Thank you for reviewing your Dyson machine. Please email auaskdyson@dyson.com with your concerns and our Dyson Experts will be in touch with you as soon as possible. Best wishes, Shan

Love this vacuum Dyson Big Ball Origin

I bought this Dyson to replace a small cheapie so obviously this was a huge step up! The cleaning power was noticeable from the first vacuum. It's so much easier to manoeuvre than any other vacuum I've owned before and doesn't tip because of the ball. I have noticed the suction diminishing even though I wash the top filter frequently and empty the canister after every vacuum (it's pretty much full after cleaning my entire 2 bedroom unit) but it's still powerful enough to pull up the carpet fibres and lift the lino off the kitchen floor!

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
2 comments
Hi Wendy, Thank you for reviewing your Dyson Big Ball Origin. I am pleased to hear you are happy with the performance of your new machine, however you shouldn't experience a loss of performance. For assistance with this, please email auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to help. We look forward to hearing from you. Best wishes, ShanThanks for following up, Shan. I will do that.

Love it.

3 dogs, 2 cats, 2 children and it gets all the fur up with ease. best product ever.
My 5 year old uses it with ease and the added bonus of it being a Dyson makes me happy
10/10 recommend for all families, not overly loud either.

My kids are autistic and doesn't bother them.

Date PurchasedJul 2018

Amazing, how did I live without such a vacuum cleaner earliert!!!

This is an amazingly powerful machine. Compared to my standard stock cleaner, that mostly gives you a "psychological" satisfaction of cleaning your house, this one is a beast that literally sucks up all the dirt! Very expensive, but absolutely worth the price. If you have kids or someone that suffers dust allergy, this is a must!

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Decent Vacuum

Chose not to go with the stick vacuum, this one was on sale and couldn't go past it for the price. Really easy to set up and use. The design of the Dyson's are really something else, really like the big ball feature and haven't had any issues with its functionality. We have laminated flooring so the head that comes with this is perfect as more popular rotating bristle heads are not ideal

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Smells terrible after only 2 months.

Bought this vac 2 months ago an I cannot get rid of the smell from it. I have 2 dogs and whilst the suction is excellent the smell is terrible. Have cleaned the filter as per instructions and really don’t know what else I can do. Have cleaned the vac only as per the instructions.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Hi Hayley, Thank you for your query. We are sorry to hear a smell is coming from your Dyson machine. Should any form of liquid or damp enter the machine, this may cause it to harbour a smell. We recommend carrying out the following steps which may dispel any odour. After emptying you may rinse the clear bin in cold water as per the instructions in your user guide, ensuring that no detergents are used. Please don't the seals whilst washing the clear bin and most importantly ensure that the clear bin is completely dry before placing back onto the machine. Please note that the cyclone top assembly, which attaches on top of the bin, must be removed and is not washable. After washing your filter (as shown here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fN9MueZK8zY) please let it dry for 24-48 hours. We also recommend to let the hose, floor tool and wand of your machine air out for 24-48 hours, ideally somewhere safe, dry and sunny. This should help, however if we can assist further, please email auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to help. Best wishes, Shan

Love this!!

This vacuum has been my favourite cleaning product to date, it has a special feature to help stop it from tipping over it just flips itself back upright, has barely any filters to clean and has many many attachments to use for different areas of the house, eg carpet, stairs, dry floor, hard to reach places aswell.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Great

No regrets. Money well spent. We almost got talked out of it by a family member but decided to go with a Dyson anyway and couldn't be happier. We have 2 kids and pets and it does an amazing job.
Picks up kid crumbs our old one never could and pet hair.. oh it does great on that

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Dyson convert could never use anything else

My home is 3 bedrooms carpet,floorboards and tiles
Excellent sucking power, easy to maneuver around my home and clean up after mess my toddler has made especially playdough
The noise level on this is great my toddler sleeps through it
My previous model was the DC08 and in comparison the big ball runs circles around it

Date PurchasedAug 2018

Great

This is the first Dyson I bought. After using a cheap vacuum cleaner over 4 years, I decided to upgrade and the difference was seen immediately. So far, it has been quite reliable and it has cleaned extremely well. The only downside is that is not as maneuverable as they showed in the commercial.

Date PurchasedDec 2016

Wouldn't be without it

Very powerful vacuum cleaner, you get a lot of attachments with it. The brush in the head is brilliant for picking up dust. It is reasonably quiet and very easy to move around. Maybe the hose could be a bit longer. It works well on both carpet and vinyl floors, doesn't take long to clean our 3 bedroom home

Date PurchasedJun 2016

Absolute Waste Of Money

Dyson products made of cheap plastic that falls apart but still charge big $$. Wheel fell off, (which dyson addmitted to having a faulty part and did fix the wheel) but the wheels still dont turn properly making it hard to pull, the swivel head fell apart, plastic bends in connections of tube, handle broke, loss of suction, floor heads clogg up, barrell does not seal properly. Don't waste your money buying this product. I have owned dyson products previously to purchasing this vacuum but I will never purchase dyson again.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
1 comment
Hi Kerrie, We are sorry to hear that this has been your experience and we would like to hear from you to discuss this further and assist with your machine. Please email our Dyson experts at auaskdyson@dyson.com including your contact details, a description of the issues and the machine's serial number and we will be in touch as soon as possible. Best wishes, Mira www.facebook.com/dyson

AMAZING!!!

picks up everything on the floor. we have s house with carpet and tiles so cleaning the mess on the carpet is extremely easy with this vacuum cleaner! it’s quite pricey but definitely worth the infestations for a good long lasting vacuum that does the job right and doesn’t leave crumbs everywhere!!!

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

I have a Dyson Big Ball and while it sucks ok without the head on as soon as i put the head on it blows!! I end up with dirt spread all over the floor and none in the vacuum. What is the solution to this?
1 answer
Hi Sandra, Thank you for reaching out. Based on this, it sounds like there is a blockage or restriction in airflow through the machine which can cause this to happen. For a Big Ball Origin, please remove the floor tool and thoroughly check the airways for anything caught prior to retrying the machine. If you aren't able to locate any blockages or we can assist further, please reach out to auaskdyson@dyson.com and our Dyson Experts will be more than happy to assist further. Best wishes, Shan Facebook.com/Dyson

Details

Big Ball Origin
Price (RRP) $449.00
Weight10.6 kg
TypeBagless
Cord Length 6.6 m
Suction (Air Watts) 252 AW
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36293829
  • GTIN13: 5025155024034

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.