3 photos
Dyson DC19

Dyson DC19

Standard, Turbine
4.1 from 139 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Barrel Vacuum Cleaners in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Dyson

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.7 (7)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.2 (6)
  • Pet OwnerYes (3) · No (3)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (0) · No (6)
Previous
Next
Vicky
Vicky Perth, WA

Best vac I've ever owned

published

Bought this 2nd hand and it's never missed a beat. This vacuum is light to handle, runs and swivels smoothly from wooden and tiled floors to carpeted rugs picking up everything in its path including hair. Yes hair, have family of girls with long hair. Never had a blockage to deal with and no tangled hair to dislodge from a brush. Emptying it afterwards is the easiest thing ready to go for the next time use. The pressure trigger on the handle for lighter cotton blend rugs when I don't need full suction is great. It's powerful but quiet compared to previous vacuums and doesn't take up much space to store away. I hope this keeps running for many more years to come.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Bella
BellaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Best Vacuum ever!

published

I've had this vacuum nearly 12 years paid 399 for it at the time on special. Such a shame Dyson don't make them like they used to! Recently purchased the animal cincetic and return it, terrible quality. Great customer service but. Dyson please return to the way you used to make them!!

Purchased in May 2009 at Bing Lee for $399.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Lilani
LilaniCanberra 2600, ACT

13 years old and still running well bought from Harvey Norman in 2008.

published

13 years old and still running well bought from Harvey Norman in 2008. Just today purchased V12 exclusive to Dyson model and got a 15% discount with free shipping as an exciting happy Dyson customer. Looking forward to use new V12 model in my new house with timber flooring. Thank you Dyson !

Purchased in February 2008 at Harvey Norman for $700.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Belinda
BelindaCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews

13 years still like off the showroom floor

published

Have moved around a lot in 13 years. Used on carpet, tiles, wood, concrete, rubber and many more. Has never missed a beat. A little bulky and noisy but the suction is epic. Well worth the money at the time of purchase.

Purchased in October 2007 at Harvey Norman for $450.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson DC19 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mari
MariGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 2 reviews

11yrs old and going strong

published

Purchased in July 2009 at David Jones for $699.00.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Isif Chadwick
Isif ChadwickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect type of vacuum

published

Best for getting rid of babys crumbs on all types of flooring and carpets. Dosent lose suction and collects hair from the pets aswell. No issues with vacuum tipoing over as swivelling around

Purchased in January 2019 at Harvey Norman Online for $499.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Christina Toro
Christina ToroSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews

A great vacuum

published

I have mostly timber floors and so to have a vacuum be able to clean them well is important. The floor tool is a must for this vacuum - I brought mine separately. It's a little noiser than I would like and I can't get parts from Dyson anymore which is disappointing.

Purchased in July 2017 at eBay for $299.00.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
The top-rated kitchen appliances for 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-top-rated-kitchen-appliances-for-2020
How to be more eco-friendly when you're gifting this Christmas

Christmas seems to go hand in hand with consumption, but that doesn’t mean you can’t be eco-friendly with your gift giving. We’ve got tips for everything from shopping sustainably to zero-waste packaging, so that you can have a greener holiday season.

Clara V.
Clara V.30 Nov 2021
how-to-be-more-eco-friendly-when-youre-gifting-this-christmas
Next

12 Years & Going Strong

published

We Love our Dyson. Great investment that we can’t live without. It is great on carpet and on our new floor boards. We’ve used it inside and our outdoor entertaining area. It’s great with the attachments for the car as well. We purchased extra filters when we bought it so we can rinse and still use it without stopping.

Date PurchasedJune 2006
Lidman
LidmanSydney
  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Good machine but with no spare part it is useless!!!

published
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson DC19 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Doesn’t suit tall people

published

I find this machine excellent. However like most vacuum cleaners the “wand” or the bit you run over the floor needs to form a seal between the head and the floor to get full suction. If you’re tall, you have to bend over to achieve the right angle and get head in full contact with the floor to be effective. Otherwise, you’ll leave a gap around the head of the brush and air will leak in.
If you’re 150 cm tall then the length of the wand is perfect. If you’re 195cm tall, then this cleaner doesn’t match your body height. I dare say the latest models,would be just as bad.

Date PurchasedApr 2013
Lee
LeeSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Best vacuum ever.

published

Used this Dyson for 10 years now, and is still going strong. Never missed a beat. Would only ever buy a Dyson now if this one ever packs it in. It's fairly heavy and noisy, but can't fault the suction whether its on carpet or floorboards, and that's what its all about. I also do the venetian blinds and mattresses.

Date PurchasedNov 2008

Best vacuum I've ever had.

published

The only bad thing about this vacuum is that it has lifted my expectations and to this day I have not found a better vacuum.
If there was one single item I could bring back to life other than my pet fish Bill who jumped out of its tank when I was 4 it would be this model!

Date PurchasedMay 2011
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Dyson DC19 compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah
SarahBrisbane
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Can't live without my dyson

published

My Dyson DC 19 is still going strong after 5 years of daily use. I've used my dyson on both carpets, tiles and wooden floors. The filter only needs cleaning every 6 months or so and is so easy to do. The suction is still fantastic. I love my dyson.

Date PurchasedApr 2012

Highly recommend

published

I found my Dyson in a skip bin which had a burnt out motor. i replaced the motor for $45 which I found on eBay and 30 minutes to install. That was 5 yrs ago and still runs absolutely fine. The negative reviews I really don't understand as my Dyson is awesome

Date PurchasedFeb 2012

Planned Obsolescence?

published
Date PurchasedNov 2008

Questions & Answers

Graeme
Graemeasked
DC19

Bought in November 2008 with a turbine head, with all accessories.
In excellent condition. What would it be worth approximately.
Regards GRAEME

No answers
Graham R.
Graham R.asked
DC19

Why does the flat out head on my DC19 have red slides on the sides?

No answers
Trevor
Trevor asked
DC19

Hi , where can I buy a new or refurbished turbo head for my Dyson DC 19.
Thanks

1 answer
Dyson
DysonDyson

We do apologise for any disappointment, however due to the age of the DC19 range, the DC19 range of machines has been retired and we are no longer able to provide spare parts or accessories for this machine.

That being said, we do have an offer available for DC19 owners. Please get in touch with our Dyson Experts with the serial number of your machine handy to find out more. You can find our contact details here: https://www.dyson.com.au/support/contact-us

See all Dyson DC19 questions

Get an answer from our members and Dyson representatives

Dyson DC19

Details

Compare both Dyson DC19
Dyson DC19 Standard
  • Discontinued

Dyson DC19 Standard

4.1
(19)
Dyson DC19 Turbine
  • Discontinued

Dyson DC19 Turbine

3.0
(9)
CategoryBarrel Vacuum CleanersBarrel Vacuum Cleaners
TypeBaglessBagless
Power1400W1400W
Bin Capacity2L2L
Weight8.05kg8.05kg
Cord Length6.5m6.5m
Price (RRP)$599$799
Cleaner HeadFlat Out HeadTurbine Head
Replaced byDyson DC37CDyson DC37C
Compare both Dyson DC19

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.