??!
1 photo
G.J. Gardner Homes VIC, Geelong

G.J. Gardner Homes VIC, Geelong

4.9 from 36 reviews

Couldn’t be happier

From start to finish GJ have been great. They helped me choose a great design, walked me through the variation process and kept me updated at every step during the build. The quality of my build is excellent and my building supervisor was amazing. So knowledgeable and helpful. Every staff member that I dealt with was exceptional. I made quite a few variations and none of this was too hard for GJ. I achieved a 7.4 star rating which I was ecstatic about. I’ve been in my new home for over a month and it has been amazing. The handover went so smoothly and everything in the house is working so well. I highly recommend speaking to GJ Geelong if you’re looking to build your dream home. Thanks so much to my building supervisor Chris, who was on top of every detail of the build and all the other GJ staff who helped me with my build. All fabulous!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJuly 2019
1 comment
Hi Jasmine, We're thrilled to hear that G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong were great from start to finish, and that the quality of your build was excellent. Thanks for taking the time to write a 5 star review! Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

My experience with GJ Gardner has been overwhelmingly positive

Being a first homebuyer I was completely unaware & new to the building process. I initially thought this would be a hectic experience but found it was unbelievably simple through GJ Gardner.

From the beginning, completing the initial planning & design, I was professionally guided by Marcus, who went out of his way to make sure I had all areas of my build covered, he was more than happy to give up his time on multiple occasions to assist me with this, I can’t speak more highly of him.

On to the next step of contract administration I was introduced to Maddie who was there at all times to promptly answer all of my questions & help me put all the pieces together to create my home. Maddie & Renee worked tirelessly & constantly kept me updated through this entire process, I’m in awe of their customer service & work ethic.

Once my build was underway Paul kept me in the loop on all aspects of construction.

Jeremy my site supervisor was always there, at all times, to meet with me on site and guide me through all stages of construction. I found Jeremy to be a true professional who exhibited the ability to explain the process in great detail that was easy to understand. Construction of the property progressed seamlessly and on time, which I was extremely impressed with.

Before I knew it my house was built and just about ready to move in.

Jared the construction manager took me through a final walkthrough of my property & assisted me with the finishing touches.
On handover Jared explained all the information regarding my new property & made sure I was aware of all the important aspects.

I’m absolutely impressed with the quality of the finished product and the outstanding customer experience.

If you’re thinking of building a home I couldn’t recommend GJ Gardner highly enough.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2019
1 comment
Hi Ross, Thanks for giving G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong such a fantastic 5 star review. We're thrilled that the team made your first home build simple with a quality finished product and outstanding customer service. We hope you have many happy years in your new G.J. Gardner Home. Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

Amazing...the best choice

If there were more stars to score ...I'll give them 100...i do thank the GJ team from Geelong...Ronald...Rodney...Darren...Maddie...Gerald and the rest of the team for given us a cute, quality, stress free... house...We do appreciate their patience with us...and meeting our expectations...we wish them good luck...health and success...:)...

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateJune 2019
1 comment
Hi there, We're thrilled to hear that G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong provided you with a quality and stress free home. Wishing you many happy years in your new G.J. home! Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

Thank you GJ Gardiner for our Anglesea home

We are very excited and happy owners of a G J Gardiner home. We would like to thank all the people we dealt with at Gardiners who made this such a positive experience for us.

Our thanks to Rowan who was instrumental in getting our building started in difficult circumstances. Thank you to Ron who designed a home that perfectly suited our needs and made our home unique. Thank you to Maddie who cheerfully responded to our many, phone calls in a friendly and supportive manner. Nothing was too much trouble.

But we would especially like to say a BIG thank you to our building supervisor Chris Niblett who goes above and beyond his responsibility to make sure your build is as perfect as possible. The workmanship, finish, and speed of the build was managed expertly under his control and we couldn't be happier. There was not one aspect of our build that we are unhappy with and we could not recommend GJ Gardiner highly enough. However just make sure that Chris is your supervisor. Happy home owners!!

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateMay 2019
1 comment
Hi Sue and Daz, We're thrilled to hear that G.J. Gardner Homes provided such a positive experience and that the team went above and beyond to do ensure you were happy home owners! Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

Great Company for us who have never build a house before

We had strong support from idea to completion. Suggestions, regular updates. No real issues. If there was anything we needed to know they told us quickly. There colour designer was really helpful and they guided us well through the entire process.

Customer Service
Site Admin
Timeliness
Structural Integrity
Plumbing & Waterproofing
Electrical & Lighting
Flooring
Transparency
Build StagePost-Construction
Construction End DateFebruary 2019
1 comment
Hi David, Thanks fro taking the time to provide a 5 star review of G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong. We're thrilled to hear that the team were helpful and supportive throughout. Wishing you many happy years in your new G.J. Gardner Home. Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

Our Dream Home - Amazing Experience, Highly Recommended!

Deciding on who we would contract to build our dream home was a tough choice. Working in the real estate industry it was always going to be hard as i had high expectations and we really wanted to get it right. Choosing GJ gardener was a fantastic decision, the worked with us with the design and really listened to us as the clients. They took time to change things when i changed my mind, which was often and i felt the end result showed the care and effort that was put into the build. The quality of the home is amazing and on the call back to fix any major issues there was very little to fix. It wasn't an easy build as we had no electricity connection so we build off grid and we were in the middle of no where but GJ Gardner worked around all the obstacles. Our build supervisor was Chris Niblett and he continually went out of his way to help where he could and I believe the home wouldn't be the same without his advise and attention to detail. We are in love with our dream home,I thank GJ Gardener for their patience and care and the time that it took was worth it, they even got us in a couple of weeks early in time for my sons birthday. Working in real estate i have always noticed the GJ Gardner homes are well built and are of a high quality and I am definitely recommending them to a number of buyers. Build with GJ Gardner and you will be impressed with the outcome. Thank you Thank you Thank you to the entire team. I am hoping to one day build an investment and i wouldn't even think of going anywhere else.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateNov 2017
1 comment
Hi Michelle, Thanks for taking the time to give G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong a 5 star review. We're thrilled to hear that the process and end result was of high quality. Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes, Vic/Tas

Thank you GJ Gardner Homes Geelong!

From working on the plans together, to doing our colour selection, or getting kept on track by the lovely Maddie, to meeting on site for regular updates, everything was so easy!
The end result is a high quality, custom built house which meets and exceeds our hopes.
An easy built from the very first to the very last, and any small hiccups were handled professionally at all times.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateMar 2018
1 comment
Hi Sophie, We're thrilled to hear that your new G.J. Gardner Home exceeded your hopes and that you received such fabulous customer service from G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong. We hope you have many happy years in your new home. Kind regards, Jess Morris G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

G J Gardner Homes Geelong

We cannot thank the fantastic team at G J Gardners Home Geelong enough for building our beautiful new home. The process was a breeze and The finished detail is perfect. Many thanks Rob Beattie & Matt Hallam for your amazing dedication on delivering the best. We wouldn’t hesitate to build again. Thank you also to Maddie Davis your did an amazing job.

Jane & Dennis

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateMay 2018
1 comment
Hi Jane and Dennis, Thanks so much for your 5 star review of our G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong team. We're thrilled to hear that they made the process easy and that you're happy with your new G.J. Gardner Home. Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

We couldn’t be happier

We have now been living in our GJ Gardner Geelong home for 1.5 weeks and couldn’t be happier. We went with a custom design and it truly is exactly what we had envisioned. We have many features that are not GJ standards but it was never a problem to include them in the design. We are super grateful to David Graham and Renee McKeon for taking us through the concept and planning stage - they supported and led us so well through the whole process. Also a huge thanks to our build supervisor Chris Niblett who kept us in the loop at all times and had a fine eye for detail throughout. It was definitely not the easiest build he has overseen but he has delivered us an amazing home that we look forward to growing old in! Thanks so much!

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateJun 2018
1 comment
Hi Kate, Thanks for your 5 star review, we're thrilled to hear that our G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong team were able to deliver your custom home as you dreamed it would be, and that the process was smooth. Wishing you many happy years in your new G.J. Gardner Home. Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes, Vic/Tas

Quality home without the headaches

This was my 5th house to build but the first with G.J Gardner and I must say it was the easiest build from start to finish. All the hard work was done for me and within my budget. The finishing touches look amazing and you can tell that highly skilled tradesmen have been used for the whole process. The customer service provided is also of a high standard with any updates or questions all answered or acted on promptly. I would definitely recommend them for a high quality stress free home and build.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateJun 2018
1 comment
Hi Bree, Thanks for your 5 star review. We're so happy to hear that your build was easy and you're impressed with the end result. Our G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong team are certainly known for their excellent customer service. We wish you many happy years in your new home. King regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

Fantastic experience

Being our first home, we did a lot of research for a building company, and we found GJ Gardner to have the best reviews. Our experience with GJ Gardner has been exceptional from the beginning. They kept us up to date and informed throughout the build and even accommodated some additional requests. Renee was fantastic and made the administration a breeze, and gave some great help and advice when it came to choosing our finishes. Any questions we had were always answered promptly. Our sight manager, Chris, was extremely knowledgeable and manged our build meticulously, allowing us to move into our new home well before the scheduled finish date, even with our additional requests. He communicated with us regularly and ensured the standard of work was high quality. We are very happy with our new house and a very big thank you to Renee, Chris and Matt. We will definitely recommend GJ Gardner!!

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateMar 2018
1 comment
Hi Jaclyn, Thanks for building your first home with G.J. Gardner Homes and taking the time to give us a5 star review. We're so glad that you had such a wonderful experience. Our Geelong team are certainly well known for their wonderful communication and high quality finishes. Kind Regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Vic/Tas.

Worst experience ever!

We built with GJ Gardner homes Geelong in 2016. Should have realised there would be problems from the start as the draftsman continually made errors and the sales staff were required to continuously amend the plans by hand. The window specifications and locations were incorrect and constantly being changed. This led to us having to download the A&L Product Catalogue and amend the window specifications accordingly with the assistance of the sales staff. Through the initial design process we opted for hydronic slab heating and louvre windows to maximise energy efficiency with heating and cooling. This is where the fun really began. The day before the house slab was to be poured we had noticed the hydronic heating manifold was in the wrong location and had to rectified before the concrete was poured. Once the house frame was erected I visited the site to inspect the progress and noticed two walls had been erected in the wrong location. The carpenter advised me this was an easy fix and it was, but we had a "Do not mark or damage clause" in relation to the slab as we were to have an exposed concrete floor. This resulted in large holes in the floor surface as a result of the nails being pulled from the floor to enable the walls to be relocated to the correct locations. Further to this, had this not been detected, it would have caused major issues later on to the entry linen cupboard, study, kitchen and laundry. The windows in the minor bedrooms and bathroom wing of the house were fixed at a height of 2100mm whilst all other windows and doors throughout the house were at 2340mm height. We were then hit with a variation fee and labour costs for a carpenter to rectify this issue. The A&L windows where delivered to site with all but three being damaged from scratches in the powder coat finish to gouges and dents in the framework and badly dented timber reveals. I noticed on delivery of the windows that they had all been stacked flat on top of each other on a flat bed truck and not on a truck with an A frame designed for window deliveries. When this was pointed out to GJ Gardner and I later received a call from management of A&L windows and found myself being interrogated and had to prove that the windows were delivered incorrectly and had to justify myself. I felt I was being accused of lying. This created a 6 week delay in the build. A&L Windows had offered to repair some of the windows by touching up the paint finish by brush/hand. I refused this option as being in a coastal area I believe the powder coating was comprised and touching them up by hand would not suffice. All but 3 windows had to be either replaced or repaired. As our house was a custom build it consisted of a combination of light weight cladding products consisting of James Hardie Axon cladding, Scyon Weather Boards and brick veneer. We have a combination of large fixed panel windows, louvre windows and standard awning windows. GJ Gardner and the draftsman failed to accommodate the various building products and windows throughout the planning and design process. Window reveals to be fitted into external walls utilising light weight construction materials such as James Hardie products require a smaller reveal, whilst windows fitted into brick veneer walls have larger reveals. This then led to further delays as GJ Gardner were unsure as to how to fit the louvre windows into the walls utilising the light weight cladding. It was up to us to come up with a solution and after considerable consultation, these windows were boxed/framed utilising Structural Primed Radiata Pine. GJ Gardner decided to rip down the remaining windows. Prior to installing these windows, the carpenter ripped the reveals down using a circular saw. This has left a poor finish on the window reveals with steps on the corners as they weren't cut true and square. Once the windows fittedwere to the frame, the brickwork commenced. A parraparap wall was constructed above the garage roller door and I noticed that it was extremely low. When questioning the brick layers, I was advised that it was a standard 2100mm high as per our house plans. This was very odd as the front door was at 2340mm high and made the front façade look out of proportion. I also noticed there were two gutter overflows on the front feature wall of our house. One being in the fixed rain head and the other being a hole drilled through the brick work. I questioned GJ Gardner as to the necessity and requirement for two overflows within 550mm of each other on the front feature wall, near the front door. I was advised this was required to comply with plumbing codes. After much discussions with GJ Gardner the paraparap wall above the garage roller door was pulled down and reconstructed to a height of 2340 to correlate with the front façade, but this was at a cost of $2000 to me. During this process the brick layer had removed the overflow from the brick work, only to be instructed it was to be replaced. When this brick was replaced it was ill fitting and an eyesore. The mortar joints were required to be flush with the brick work, but when the brick was relaced, it appeared as though the mortar around this brick had been raked out with a finger ant the actual brick protruded forward of the surrounding bricks. It was replaced twice and still remains that way today. Once the house got to lock up stage we noticed numerous large stains on the bedroom floor. The brick layers had been using the master bedroom as their lunch room and we observed empty tuna cans, a sandwich maker and other rubbish on the floor. We have been left with an exposed concrete floor with large stains that we are unable to remove and are extremely unsightly. This was brought to the attention of GJ Gardner and we were advised the brick layers had been spoken to about this exact situation on previous job sites, but no action was taken or offered to rectify the matter. Just prior to completion of the build we noticed that one of the main hydronic heating pipes was exposed under the laundry door, the brick work had been removed from this area and one of the main hydronic pipes was exposed on the outer edge of the house slab. We were advised the pipe had been ruptured and it was now rerouted up the external wall from the boiler unit, through the ceiling and down an internal wall back to the manifold. This has now left the fitting of the external boiler unit as an unsightly mess as there is PVC capping fixed to the brick wall, leading up into the eaves and into the roof cavity. Inside were the pipe was cut from the slab the concrete had to be filled. Once the James Hardie Axon cladding had been installed we then noticed that an unsightly base board with metal capping had been installed. We questioned why it was used as we were building a modern and contemporary home only to be rudely advised that it was to meet building codes as the cladding had to be 50mm from any ground surface. We have inspected numerous other houses built in our area by other major builders that use James Hardie Axon cladding and none have used a base board. We believe this is an old fashion building system that was utilised in days of weatherboard homes. Prior to final inspection of the property we observed numerous faults. The front door was not double glazed and tinted and laundry door was not double glazed as per the building plans. We then had further conflict with A&L windows, being advised the front door could not support double glazing because of it's size. This then led to an onsite meeting where A&L Windows denied any such statement. This issue was eventually rectified with the replacement of correct glazing. We also notice that there were large bows in the entry hall walls. During the build process, we had several on site meetings with the construction manager to address issues. At one time, I believe it was during the A&L Windows issue, I advised this needed to be rectified ASAP as it was causing us financial hardship, paying high rent prices and a mortgage at the same time. I was bluntly reminded that the contract allowed them a further 4 months until completion and that they could use every minute of that time. I felt I was threatened by this remark and through other remarks and statements I was virtually advised to back off. Had he followed through with this threat, I may not have been able to see the build through to its completion as it had placed additional costs of $1,000's to an already stretched budget. On the 13th of May, 2016 I received the keys to our new house. I had a meeting at the Geelong GJ Gardener Office with the construction Manager and felt like I had walked into a school yard fight. He was aggressive and rude towards me. He called me into his office told me to sit in a chair. He then sat on the opposite side of the desk with his arms folded in an aggressive manner and stated "Have you got something to say to me". I had the Australian Building Standards thrown across the desk towards me. During the unpleasant meeting, I was told had I not kept such a close eye on the build that the issues would have been rectified prior to completion. I questioned, "How can you fix a heating manifold in the wrong location and walls in the wrong location after the build is completed?" To rectify the heating manifold they would have had to jack hammer the slab and completely relocate the manifold, so I believe they were lucky that I had been observant. The windows and garage doors being at the wrong height would have required extensive demolishing and rebuilding and more than likely, I would have burdened the costs. After this humiliating meeting and taking possession of our keys we finally moved in only to find many more faults. Moving into our new house was not a joyous occasion as you would expect. The entire build process was frustrating and unpleasant. We have built new homes in the past and never experienced anything like this. On our first night in our new home we noticed all downpipes fitted on the cladding walls were making a loud dripping sound. After investigation it was revealed that the downpipes were constructed with a bend in the lower section to facilitate the protruding baseboard causing the rain or even dew to make this constant dripping sound. This took considerable negotiations for action to be taken which led to a less than a satisfactory resolution. The down pipes have been removed so many times which has resulted in multiple fixing holes, some of which are no longer capable of supporting the fixings. We also noticed that two of our large fixed panel windows where not tinted as per the building plans. There were also faults with the front door. The door is fitted with a Multiple Locking System which allows for an additional Dead Bolt at top and bottom to be engaged when the door is locked. This is activated by lifting the handle once the door is locked. However, due to the door being misaligned and poorly fitted, to activate this Multiple Locking System, you need to push hard on the lower frame of the door with your foot, whilst pushing on the upper frame with your hand and then trying to push hard and inwards on the door handle whislt trying to turn it in an upwards direction. There was also an imperfection in the glass of the door. There was a visible mark at about eye height, between the double glazing and as a result unable to be cleaned. During a lengthy period of lodging complaints and extreme frustration I was advised that "if I had ordered an paid for tinted double glazed windows, I would have received them". It took approximately 9 months for someone to acknowledge that the windows where not in fact tinted and they were finally replaced. The front door glazing was also relaced. During the installation of the replacement glazing, I heard the installers questioning each other as to how the windows were to be correctly fitted. After the installation of the replacement glazing, the glass was left very unclean. When the front door was cleaned, we noticed the replacement glazing had about 5-6 marks and scratches on both the inside and outside of the glass. This glazing was again replaced, however the locking system remains unsatisfactory and the fitment of the glazing has left internal frame work exposed to the outside of the door. Since the replacement of the glazing to the large fixed panel windows we have noticed extreme temperatures radiating through the glass. The glass is extremely hot on mild temperature days on the inside, but cool on the outside, yet an adjacent window only about 900 mm from this window is cool to the touch. This window is of the same construction, being tinted and double glazed. We have investigated this situation and made enquries with other window manufacturers. As a result, we believe the windows have been incorrectly installed. This was brought to the attention of GJ Gardner only to find the response being, the Australian Glazing Standards forwarded to me. This issue continues to this date. I have also noticed that the mortar on the brick work is very soft and crumbly. I can run my finger tip along the mortar joints and find the mortar falls out. On the east side of the house it is extremely poor. On the lower 2-3 rows of bricks, the mortar appears to swell, then crumble and fall out, The original mortar was a flush finish, however some areas has the mortar joint about 10-15 mm deep. There appears to be constant moisture in the ground along this side of the house, even throughout the summer period. This issue was brought to the attention of GJ Gardener and after much negotiations they offered to seal the mortar and brick work to prevent further deterioration. It has taken until February 2018 for the brick layer to make contact in order to address this issue. In the short time in my new home, I have also noticed the James Hardie Axon cladding has been pulling away from the walls, nails protruding and joints pulling apart. This was also brought to the attention of GJ Gardner. I was advised that it was my fault as I had painted the cladding in a dark colour on the west side of the house, yet this cladding is also fitted to the east side and is showing the same faults. I contacted James Hardie in relation to this matter and was advised this form of cladding was suitable for painting in either a dark or light colour. This issue continues to be unsolved. As we had moved into our new house in May during the cooler period, the hydronic heating was utilised only to be overwhelmed with excessive gas bills. My gas bills varied between $600-$700 per 2 month period. In fact my first gas bill was for a 3 week period and in excess of $300. I questioned this bill with the gas supplier and confirmed the gas meter readings. I was advised I needed to have a gas plumber inspect all the gas fittings as I must have a gas leak to use this amount of gas. I brought this to the attention of GJ Gardner and all gas fittings were inspected and found to be correct. I was then provided with various excuses from, Hydronic Heating is expensive to run, I had the temperature set too high, I was loosing heat through the exposed concrete slab. I had noticed hot and cold spots in the floor and had issues with the boiler unit shutting down and displaying error messages. I then had to contact Bosch directly the address the boiler unit issues. It got to the point that I had to almost shut down the hydronic heating unit and have the family wrap themselves in blankets at night to keep warm. After spending approximately $9,500 on what I believed to be one of the most efficient forms of heating, we were left feeling devastated. After almost 12 months of arguing and begging, the boiler unit was addressed with parts being replaced, one of the thermostats were relocated and portions of the heating zones were rezoned. This then led to a dramatic reduction in my gas bills, but was only after we incurred further $1,000's of unnecessary costs in gas bills. I still believe my gas bills are excessive as the only gas appliances fitted to the house are the hydronic heater and infinity hot water service. I believe this is due to one of the main hydronic pipes being rerouted through the roof cavity and walls. This pipe is now exposed in the roof cavity and not running through the slab where it would been insulated in the concrete, assuring a more constant temperature. As a result the exposed pipe allows the water to cool during the circulation process, causing the boiler unit to work harder to maintain the slab temperature. We also discovered the free standing bath was not secured or siliconed to the floor. When leaning on the bath to clean the tiles, the entire bath tipped up lifting one entire side off the floor, almost causing me personal injury. The vanity basins were also only partially siliconed in, not provided an adequate wet seal. During the colder months, there is excessive condensation and moisture, mainly on the windows to the south side of the house. This has led to us having to constantly clean and treat black mould from the window sills and fly screens. When this was raised with GJ Gardner, we were advised it was the building materials drying out??? We have found the aluminium doors to the front entry and laundry have poorly designed treads. They are not actual treads, but a protrusion in the walk way and are a tripping hazard as many people have discovered. The treads are approximately 50mm high by 100mm wide and there is a narrow raised centre section about 30mm wide, not designed tonstand on or be used as a tread/step. It is like having a piece of 4x2 sitting across the door. It almost appears as though these treads should have been recessed into the slab. I have inspected many other new homes fitted with aluminium external doors and they all have a low profile tread, similar to that of a timber construction. We feel the A&L Windows are of poor and substandard quality. Further to the hydronic slab heating, there are obvious faults that will never be rectified. There is insufficient heating in the ensuite floor. On a cold morning or evening, you have to stand about 400mm back from the vanity as any closer the floor is ice cold. It is obvious the heating coil was not situated near the base of the vanity. We also appear to have constant moisture along the east side of the house. We have become so frustrated and annoyed with the lack of cooperation and inaction by GJ Gardner, that we have had to resort to employing the services of an independent building inspector, again at further cost to us. Upon inspection of our home he has concurred with the faults described. We have been advised not to have the mortar sealed until a written guarantee can be provided. Proof of the fixing method for the Axon cladding was requested. It was also noted that the clad walls were on the border line for being within tolerances as the cladding bowed in and out at the joints. A glazing report was also requested as it was obvious the windows are not fitted correctly. He also questioned the reasoning for the use of base boards under the Axon cladding as he felt it could promote termites/ white ants. The Building Inspection Report was forwarded to GJ Gardner for attention, and surprise, surprise, I have not had a satisfactory response. I forwarded the report directly to the GJ Gardner Manager, got no response. I contacted the Geelong Office and spoke the receptionist. She unable to confirm whether or not the report was received and I was unable to speak to the manager, so I then forwarded a copy directly to her for transmission to the manager. A week later I still hadn't received any reply or acknowledgement, so I again contacted GJ Gardner. I again was unable to speak to the manager, so I left a message and was advised he would contact me. Several days later, the receptionist contacts me and advises the manager has received the report and would contact me after he has had a meeting with the construction manager. Weeks have passed and still I await any official contact or acknowledgement and no closer to achieving any results. This house build has cost me $1,000's and $1,000's more than it should have and I still appear to be no closer to resolving these issues. It has caused us extreme hardships, not only financially, but emotionally and psychologically. We have thought back so many times wishing we had chosen a different builder. Whilst waiting for a response from GJ Gardner, we have had some warmer weather so I decided to investigate the glazing issues further. I obtained a thermometer and recorded some temperature readings. The first day was a mild day, expected top temperature of 22 degrees. I took a screen shot of my weather zone app, showing the current temperature to be 20.9 degrees. At this same time the temperature recorded on the inside of the dining room window was approx. 33 degrees. I then recorded the temperature of the adjacent fixed panel window positioned about 900mm to the left of the large window and found it to be approx. 24.5 degrees. I then recorded the temperature of the louvre windows which are directly adjacent the first large window, fixed within the same frame to the right, and it was approx 24 degrees. I then recorded the temperature on the outside of the large fixed panel window and observed it to be approx. 25.5 degrees in the direct sunlight. These readings clearly indicate that there is something very wrong with these windows. There is one clear and obvious item that stands out. The water marks on the large window are on the lower left corners and on the other windows they are on the lower right corners. It is clear that the large fixed panel window has been fitted incorrectly causing the double glazing to work opposite to what it was designed for. Another sad thing to point out is that the louvre windows recorded a lower temperature than the other fixed panel window. The louvre windows appear to have a better energy efficiency, yet we lost energy rating points on our house build for having them. Several days later I decided to take further temperature readings from other windows, this time from the theatre room window on the east side and the master bedroom on the north side. It was around lunch time and the sun was shining directly on both these windows. A screen shot of my weather zone app showed the expected top temperature to be 27 degrees, with current temperature being 24.6 degrees. I recorded the temperature of the theatre room window to be 24 degrees. This window is a large fixed panel being double glazed, but of clear glass, not tinted. I then recorded the temperature of the master bedroom window and observed it to be 34 degrees. Again there was an obvious difference with the clear glass appearing to be for more efficient than the tinted glass. Again the one noticeable difference is the water markings being on the lower left corner as per the dining window and opposite to all other windows. To a normal person this would appear to be an obvious fix, but unfortunately it doesn't seem to be the case with GJ Gardner's we cannot speak to anyone, let alone convince them. It is apparent that the materials, goods and workmanship in our home is of poor quality and substandard. I have read some of the other GJ Gardner reviews from other offices and states where people are extremely happy with the build quality and support that they had received. I so wish I could have been one of these people, but unfortunately I am not and appear destined to have to continue my fight. We put so much thought and planning into our build and our home as we thought this was going to be our forever home, but now we don't know if it can be. I know I am only one person that appears to be very disgruntled and I have only posted this review after much consideration and thought as all other avenues have been fruitless at this time. For all those that have been satisfied with your build with GJ Gardner, I am happy for you and congratulate you on your success. For those contemplating building with GJ Gardner or any other builder, please take note of my tale and be aware of any early warnings signs as we should have. It is always easier to change builders than it is to spend years of your life fighting for what you believe is right and entitled to.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateMay 2016
1 comment
Hi Frank Sorry to hear your experience with G.J. Gardner Homes was below expectation. We have spoken with the Geelong office this morning and they advised they have been in communication with you and are keen to resolve the matter. They would like to arrange for a registered building inspector to inspect the property and the issues you have raised in order to move forward. The Geelong office will contact you to arrange this inspection. If you would like to discuss the matter further please feel free to contact our office on 03 9338 5588. Kind regards Daniel McNamara G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

Satisfied Customer

G.J. Gardner Geelong have built our new home, the quality of the build was of a high standard meeting our expectations. The management of the build was excellent with good communication maintained at all times. All staff provided us with professional customer service, supporting us with their guidance and transparency of information. Custom designing our home plan was no problem as the staff were extremely helpful. We are now enjoying our new home.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateOct 2017
1 comment
Thanks for reviewing your build with G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong Barbara, we're glad to hear you had a great experience. Kind Regards, Rhiannon G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

New Townhouse - Belmont

GJ Gardiner were great to deal with right from day 1 of our build. As this was a custom designed home we went through a lot of iterations to get to a final design, and they were happy to help.
The build went smoothly and we had plenty of opportunities to meet with the supervisor and to view the house during construction. The supervisor was always easy to contact and deal with. The build quality was to a good standard, and we're very happy with the result.
Thanks very much for all of your hard work GJ Geelong, and we would be happy to recommend to prospective clients/build through GJ again in future.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateAug 2017
1 comment
Hi Matt Thanks so much for the feedback. We are thrilled that you had a great experience with G.J. Gardner Homes and would recommend us to other people. We hope you enjoy your new home. Cheers Dan G.J. Gander Homes Vic/Tas

Beautiful home. Very happy with the building process.

We are very happy with our decision to build with GJ Gardner Geelong. The sales consultant Ron put a great deal of effort into making sure everything was exactly as we wanted. They were very flexible with changes and adding in our personal choices. The contract phase was thorough and everything covered well. The build phase was very smooth, fast, and our site supervisor was a pleasure to work with through the entire process. Communication and updates were easy and frequent. We always knew where things were at and had someone to speak to if needed. The end result is a home we are thrilled with. The build quality is wonderful and GJ Gardner have been a pleasure to go through this process with. We would highly recommend them as a builder. If we were to build again we would definitely use them again.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateApr 2017

Lovely home built by G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong in Point Lonsdale

G.J Gardner Homes Geelong have been very professional. They have designed and built a quality home. Once onsite the build moved along at a good pace, our Project Manager Lincoln made sure all trades and materials were onsite when required and he kept a clean site. Building a new home is always stressful. There are always items that you miss on the plan, the builder missed, the trades interpret differently etc. Yes, we had a few issues but we worked through them quickly. Handover was messy. We had large tanks that needed installing. They should have been installed a few days before handover. There was enough to install with appliances etc. We all got through the day!
We would like to thank Marcus for helping with our design, Renee in the office who did a fantastic job, looking after our contract, specifications etc, all support staff, tradespeople and Lincoln our Project Manager. We would recommend G.J Gardner Homes Geelong to anyone thinking of building in the Geelong/Bellerine area.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateFeb 2017

Superior builders. GJ Gardner Homes Geelong

Right from the start we were impressed with the courtesy and consideration shown by the staff of GJ Gardner Homes Geelong - from our initial contact with Marcus at the shopfront in Drysdale right through the signing of the contract, choosing materials, the commencement of building and finish. Renee and Kerryn in the Geelong office deserve special mention for their friendliness, enthusiasm and always being willing to help, and nothing was too much trouble for the construction management team of Paul and Rob to fix or sort out.

We are very pleased with the finish on the house, and have had several people already remark on this when compared to other houses in our area. Having been professional builders ourselves, we set the bar high and GJ Gardner did not fail us in any aspect. Their construction techniques are far superior to those of many other builders. A few of the inevitable issues after we moved in with a leak and minor appliance fault were quickly resolved and we have no complaints at all.

We have no hesitation in giving GJ Gardner Geelong a five star rating for both quality of construction and the professionalism and can-do attitude of their employees.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
Construction End DateNov 2016

G J Gardner Geelong

We wanted a house that met our expandable family needs as well as being suitable for seniors and energy efficient. We tried one local builder - using one of their standard designs and heavily modifying it - they just couldn't handle the modifications, and communication/feedback was almost zero. So we tried G J Gardner, Geelong and it was the best move we ever made. They helped us with our own design. Assigned a person to be our contract developer, and once that was sorted, assigned us a building supervisor. All the way through the process - right from 1st contact to handover - we always had a person we could talk to - there was never any 'fob-offs'. Their communication was excellent and their staff were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, patient and good to work with.

We soon learned that building a house is a complex process, involving a lot of choices and a lot of contracted people and hence it is inevitable that there will be some glitches along the way i.e. poor workmanship or delays by a contractor. One of the things that impressed us the most was that G J Gardner Geelong always addressed any issues we raised, and fixed whatever needed to be fixed without any argument. We always felt our concerns were important to them.

We now live in our quality, custom-built, energy-efficient and senior friendly house. Thank you G J Gardner Geelong.

Build LocationVictoria
Construction End DateSep 2016
Office LocationVIC, Geelong

GJ Gardner Homes Geelong are brilliant

GJ Gardner Homes Geelong made me feel comfortable and at ease in my very first build. Their expertise, professionalism and customer service were supreme and I couldn't fault them at all.

GJ Gardner Homes Geelong's workmanship was superior. I chose them for their quality and I was never disappointed. Attention to detail was incredible and things were checked and re-checked so that I always had the best possible product achievable.

I was contacted along the way at all stages via weekly emails as well as phone calls and in contact with GJ Gardner Homes Geelong's expert team who were very knowledgeable in every aspect of the build and nothing was ever any trouble. Whether it was a carpenter, a painter or any other tradesperson, they were always friendly and cheerful and made me feel like I was building with friends.

If I had have known it would be such a pleasure with GJ Gardner Homes Geelong, I would have done this years ago. It was such a fantastic seamless experience with them.

I couldn't wish for a better team than Ron, Renee, Chris, Kerryn, Paul and everyone else at GJ Gardner Homes Geelong and I absolutely love my new house, it's perfect.

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong

"Simply The Best"

Having GJ Gardner Homes build our new home was the best experience.
From the beginning their professional approach and attention to detail was 1st class. Their office staff were so happy to assist to ensure you would have the best finished products and we did. They were patient, reliable and very friendly.
The management of the building was organised, professional and the site was very clean. We were updated on a regular basis of the progress of the building, we had ongoing meetings to go through our requirements, which were all meet and exceeded our expectations.
Communication between us and the builder was friendly, reliable and a prompt response. The Contractors were hard working, neat and tidy with the highest workmanship, They took pride in their work and it was obvious that they enjoyed working for GJ Gardner
My husband and I will continue to recommend GJ Gardner Homes

Build LocationVictoria
Office LocationVIC, Geelong
1 comment
Thank you Lynda for taking the time to highlight the first-class service and workmanship of our G.J. Gardner Homes Geelong team. Glad you are excited with your new home!

Page 1 of 2

See all G.J. Gardner Homes reviews

Questions & Answers

Do you do a knock down rebuild. We are wanting to build a double storey, reverse living.Our views are elevated and @ the rear in Rippleside Geelong
2 answers
I’m a customer of GJ Gardner so cant answer this question. You could contact them in their office. Look up GJ Gardner Gold Coast.Hi Virginia, Thanks for your enquiry, the Geelong team would be happy to discuss your requirements, please see their contact details below: 03 5221 1447 228 Moorabool St, Geelong, Vic 3220 Kind regards, Jess Morris, G.J. Gardner Homes Vic/Tas

Details

G.J. Gardner Homes VIC, Geelong
CategoryHome Builders
Compare all G.J. Gardner Homes

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.