??!
8 photos
Honda Civic 8th Gen

Honda Civic 8th Gen (2006-2011)

4.3 from 101 reviews

Reviews

4.3

101 reviews
5
(53)
4
(33)
3
(9)
2
(4)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (9)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (9)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (8)
  • Handling
    4.1 (8)
  • Braking
    4.4 (8)
  • Suspension
    4.1 (8)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (8)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (8)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (7)
  • Features
    4.3 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (7)
Previous
Next

Old faithful!

published

Bought mine second hand with 40 000 kms on the clock. Ive had it for 8 year now and has 170 000kms on the clock, has not missed a beat. Still drives exceptionally well and has shown me why Honda's have such a great name.

Purchased in June 2011 for A$20,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda
Adnan M.

Adnan M.Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Awesome performance

published

Honda has always been a class to drive. It's a low maintenance car with lots of benifits like smooth drive, low fuel consumption and high performance. Much recommended to the people

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
See all answers
1 comment
Honda
Honda HelpersHonda

Thanks for the great review Adnan. It's great to hear your feedback. on how much 'Joy' your Civic is bringing you. We do hope this journey continues for many more years of happy motoring. Thanks Kiara

Bergs

BergsMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2008 Honda Civic - Lots to like, if you can live with the really loud road noise and other irritating short comings

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$4,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Sedans

Find out how Honda Civic 8th Gen compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
corey

coreyboyne island

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Brought secondhand for $500. Been the best $500 I ever spent. Paint is quiet soft and clear pealed fairly quickly however it's never broken down and never given me problems which is what you would expect from a Honda motor vehicle.
Seats aren't as comfortable for longer trips but around town is great on fuel and with the manual transmission it is very zippy

Purchased for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lopezjose7

Lopezjose7Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Fun to drive !

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Honda Civic ticking boxes but not lighting up the sky

published

Family car, school run, work, city driving you name it the Civic does it all. It has plenty of space and fuel economy is great. The engine seems to lag a little when accelerating and runs longer when coming off the gas. Handling is good but not superb and just lets the car down a little. The spec inside with apple car play and other blue tooth devices is excellent allowing connectivity with the phone as well as rear view camera ability. Most of all the wife loves the car, however it just isn't a drivers car for me but does tick a lot of boxes very well indeed

Purchased in May 2008 for A$22,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Steve

SteveAlbury

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

So Reliable

published

Great car, purchased this car brand new in 2006. The vehicle now has travelled 170000 kms and have not needed any repairs and the only money i have spent is only on consumables and services. Great fuel economy 550-600 kms from 50 litres using 95 ron.

Purchased in October 2006.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
R.singh

R.singhSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car

published

Very happy with my Honda. More then ten years no repair. Only battery and windscreen wiper blades. Tyres lasted me more then 67000km. when I do short runs under 10km back it’s uses about 9.5 to 10.2 lites per 100km. for a little car it’s bit too much. I have asked to mechanic he said short runs car doesn’t heat up.
Went to Sydney from Brisbane amazing mileages 5.5 litres per 100 km. It’s been reliable car so far

Purchased in June 2008 at Southside Honda for A$23,700.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Danny

DannyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

One of the best medium-sized sedans out there

published
BadgeVTi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Sedans

Find out how Honda Civic 8th Gen compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vivek

VivekMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good one but a thirsty car.

published

I am using Honda Civic Sport MY07 for more than an year after purchasing a used one from Brighton Honda. It was 63000 on the clock and was in utter topmost condition even after 10 years, being used single handedly by a lady. Being an avid fan of Honda brand I bought it without giving a second thought. The car is an absolute pleasure to drive, super smooth and gives that confidence to steer around anywhere. The only disappointment which is not a deal breaker though, it gulps a lot of fuel. I drive around 400 kms on a full tank which is pretty massive for 2 Litre engine or may be I just do not drive in an ideal manner. Whatever it may be, I love my car for making me feel and the confidence it generates, which is all what matters to me.

BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Sam ADAM

Sam ADAMNowra

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

PERFECT

published

So far the car has been great as the leather seats, sunroof, Bluetooth and great engine at under $10k. Hondas are generally robust and reliable and the Civic is no different, It's well engineered and well built, which flows through to its use in the hands of owners. Few issues like the battery will run out if the aircon is on while the car engine is not running.

BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Janma

Janma

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car ever! I keep thinking I should update but...

published

Love this car. I can't believe how many k's I have done and no problems. It is a bit small for my adult very tall grandson but he manages. I would like to update but not sure I want to let this little beauty go so I can get another one.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2010
Steve A

Steve AWollongong

After 9 years still enjoying every drive

published
BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2008
Edy S

Edy SPerth, WA

  • 20 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good zippy sporty car

published

I bought this car brand new in order as I wanted the dyno blue colour.

It was fast zippy and the dashboard is like flying a jet fighter.

Probably the best car that I’ve driven.

The only bad thing is the blind spot in the front is pretty bad, as I’ve always run over kerbs.

As usual Honda sales people is just annoying and always treat people badly.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2010
Hakan T

Hakan TMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Amazing car, never let me down!

published

Never had any mechanical problems, very roomy, economical 1.8L and fun to drive. This car has everything you need and is perfect for a first car or even a comfy and affordable family car. Stylish interior and still competitive with new cars on the market. iVTEC unit also makes it very nimble and agile

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2011
Sedans

Find out how Honda Civic 8th Gen compares to other Sedans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Derk

Derk

  • 7 reviews

Good all rounder

published

Decent sized engine and drives smoothly like most Japanese cars. Would recommend people picking one up for their first car, even today 2018, if you can get a good price on it obviously. The aircon is really cold too. The only problem with this car is the design where the left and right diagonal view of the driver is obstructed by the frame. You do get used to it after a while though, just be extra careful when you're turning corners, especially where there are zebra crossings.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Ravi B

Ravi B

  • 4 reviews

As reliable as Hondas get

published

I am on my 2nd civic sport. First one was rear ended and totalled. Bought the same model again. Like the handling, responsiveness, agility, ivtec performance for the 2 litre version. The car carries 5 people on a steep uphill with no issues. Engine likes to rev. Fuel economy could be better. Accepts e10 but it disappears quickly. Better mileage with 98 octane despite higher price. Cheap to run Honda. Parts are abundant. And very very reliable. Highly recommended.

BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Aaron

Aaronbrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Disappointed for a reputable brand

published

My wife bought this car from a friend with only 20k kms about 4 years ago. It currently has 75k kms. At 65k we had to replace 2 of the wheel bearings - front and rear. As a result we decided to do all of them. There was also a rattle in the gearbox when cold and engaging drive from reverse. Was apparently a loose transmission cover (assembly issue). Now there is a starter motor sound where it is not disengaging from the flywheel. Very disappointed as this car is never driven hard and serviced regularly. My suggestion is that if you are on a bugdet, buy Hyundai or if you can afford it, buy Toyota.

BadgeVTi-L
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Shelly

ShellyCanberra

  • 5 reviews

great car

published

This is great performance and nice looking car. very easy to maintain and very reliable. the only thing is the air bag needs to be recalled. but Honda is very responsible company and willing to follow up any issue of the car. Interior design is comfortable and functional. The parts are very durable. Love it.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
val

valIngleburn

  • 12 reviews
  • 11 likes

Perfect Car for me

published

This is a very good car, smooth to drive, responsive engine and cheap on petrol. Servicing is cheap as well and you can DIY it, it is so easy. I bought it second hand and used it for 5 years and the car still drives like new. Paint is still good except for some minor scratches and some fades but very minimal. Civic is still the best car!!!

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012
Page 1 of 6
See all Honda Civic reviews

Questions & Answers

Wayne L.

Wayne L.asked

Civic 8th Gen (2006-2011)

changed rear brake pads on 2011 honda civic one side breaks very hot. Any ideas?

No answers
Kyle

Kyleasked

Civic 8th Gen (2006-2011)

Hi everyone, I’m looking to buy this Honda Civic model and was wondering if anyone knows if the 2011 model has this engine mount problems that the older models are having?

No answers
John R

John Rasked

Civic 8th Gen (2006-2011)

Has anyone heard intermittent weird noises whilst driving their Civic?

3 answers
Samuel K
Samuel K

How bad is the noise? It could be a number of reasons but do not forget with the age of the vehicle these noises will emerge.

Louise
Louise

Is it like an intermittent low grinding that only lasts for a few seconds particularly when you’re either idling, about to take off from a red light or reversing down your driveway on a cold morning? That goes away once your car warms up and/or you accelerate? If yes and you’ve got an 8th gen Civic then you’ve got broken engine mounts - particularly the lower right hand mount. Google it, I’ve had about 5 now replaced and still they break, so have by the looks of what’s on google every single 2006-2010 civic owner worldwide. It’s a known design flaw, but don’t bother going to Honda to get it fixed they’ll just tell you you need it replaced but when you go back and back to them saying ummm it’s broken AGAIN and this are your hideously expensive $600 a pop OEM parts you’re gouging me for they’ll just pretend they don’t know why but due to the age of the vehicle its not covered under warranty...interesting how they can still claim that given there’s thousands upon thousands of owners reporting the same fault, I guess it’s all only “anecdotal” however, if the manufacturer doesn’t admit there’s a manufacturing flaw or compelled to provide transparent reporting of data about what problems a specific model and year vehicle is consistently presenting to their service centres then what do you do? Oh...if you were thinking hey maybe I’ll just get a non-OEM but compatible engine mount and fit that that should fix it, with any other part I’d say yeah go for it but not the engine mounts, fit a non-genuine Honda one of these you may find yourself with a bigger issue than just some cracked mounts

Dan G.
Dan G.

Also have the same engine mount issue. (Done 170Kms, Civic VTI-L 1.8 Sedan Manual) 2nd time its happen, but this time is not vibrating the whole interior when cold like it did before. But Honda dealer still says i need it replaced again. But it doesnt vibrate so i didnt bother. Got even bigger problems now though. Cant get it any gear while engine is running. It goes in gear when engine is off, and when i try to start it with it in gear and clutch all the way in, it tries to pull forward. So i think the clutch isnt disengaging when i push the clutch in. And also power steering fluid is leaking. Been leaking for last 6months. Just been topping it off. I think its just a worn O-ring, but still another headache to worry about. Not sure if its even worth fixing at this point. Cost to repair is probably gonna exceed the value of the car...

Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

Other Sedans

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.