??!
8 photos
Honda Civic 8th Gen

Honda Civic 8th Gen (2006-2011)

4.3 from 99 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(52)
(32)
(9)
(4)
(2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.9 (7)
  • Handling
    4.1 (7)
  • Braking
    4.4 (7)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (7)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.0 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.4 (7)
  • Interior Design
    4.4 (7)
  • Boot Size
    4.6 (7)
  • Features
    4.3 (7)
  • Comfort
    4.1 (7)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (7)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (7)


Bergs

BergsMid North Coast, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

2008 Honda Civic - Lots to like, if you can live with the really loud road noise and other irritating short comings

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $4,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

corey

coreyboyne island

  • 11 reviews

Great car

published

Brought secondhand for $500. Been the best $500 I ever spent. Paint is quiet soft and clear pealed fairly quickly however it's never broken down and never given me problems which is what you would expect from a Honda motor vehicle.
Seats aren't as comfortable for longer trips but around town is great on fuel and with the manual transmission it is very zippy

Purchased for $500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Lopezjose7

Lopezjose7Sydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Fun to drive !

published

Purchased in October 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews

Honda Civic ticking boxes but not lighting up the sky

published

Family car, school run, work, city driving you name it the Civic does it all. It has plenty of space and fuel economy is great. The engine seems to lag a little when accelerating and runs longer when coming off the gas. Handling is good but not superb and just lets the car down a little. The spec inside with apple car play and other blue tooth devices is excellent allowing connectivity with the phone as well as rear view camera ability. Most of all the wife loves the car, however it just isn't a drivers car for me but does tick a lot of boxes very well indeed

Purchased in May 2008 for $22,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2017
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Steve

SteveAlbury

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

So Reliable

published

Great car, purchased this car brand new in 2006. The vehicle now has travelled 170000 kms and have not needed any repairs and the only money i have spent is only on consumables and services. Great fuel economy 550-600 kms from 50 litres using 95 ron.

Purchased in October 2006.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2006
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

R.singh

R.singhSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great car

published

Very happy with my Honda. More then ten years no repair. Only battery and windscreen wiper blades. Tyres lasted me more then 67000km. when I do short runs under 10km back it’s uses about 9.5 to 10.2 lites per 100km. for a little car it’s bit too much. I have asked to mechanic he said short runs car doesn’t heat up.
Went to Sydney from Brisbane amazing mileages 5.5 litres per 100 km. It’s been reliable car so far

Purchased in June 2008 at Southside Honda for $23,700.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review


Danny

DannyMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

One of the best medium-sized sedans out there

published
BadgeVTi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Vivek

VivekMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good one but a thirsty car.

published

I am using Honda Civic Sport MY07 for more than an year after purchasing a used one from Brighton Honda. It was 63000 on the clock and was in utter topmost condition even after 10 years, being used single handedly by a lady. Being an avid fan of Honda brand I bought it without giving a second thought. The car is an absolute pleasure to drive, super smooth and gives that confidence to steer around anywhere. The only disappointment which is not a deal breaker though, it gulps a lot of fuel. I drive around 400 kms on a full tank which is pretty massive for 2 Litre engine or may be I just do not drive in an ideal manner. Whatever it may be, I love my car for making me feel and the confidence it generates, which is all what matters to me.

BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2017
Sam ADAM

Sam ADAMNowra

  • 4 reviews

PERFECT

published

So far the car has been great as the leather seats, sunroof, Bluetooth and great engine at under $10k. Hondas are generally robust and reliable and the Civic is no different, It's well engineered and well built, which flows through to its use in the hands of owners. Few issues like the battery will run out if the aircon is on while the car engine is not running.

BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Janma

Janma

  • 5 reviews

Best car ever! I keep thinking I should update but...

published

Love this car. I can't believe how many k's I have done and no problems. It is a bit small for my adult very tall grandson but he manages. I would like to update but not sure I want to let this little beauty go so I can get another one.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2010

Steve A

Steve AWollongong

After 9 years still enjoying every drive

published
BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2008

Edy S

Edy SPerth, WA

  • 20 reviews

Good zippy sporty car

published

I bought this car brand new in order as I wanted the dyno blue colour.

It was fast zippy and the dashboard is like flying a jet fighter.

Probably the best car that I’ve driven.

The only bad thing is the blind spot in the front is pretty bad, as I’ve always run over kerbs.

As usual Honda sales people is just annoying and always treat people badly.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2010

Hakan T

Hakan TMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Amazing car, never let me down!

published

Never had any mechanical problems, very roomy, economical 1.8L and fun to drive. This car has everything you need and is perfect for a first car or even a comfy and affordable family car. Stylish interior and still competitive with new cars on the market. iVTEC unit also makes it very nimble and agile

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedAug 2011

Derk

Derk

  • 7 reviews

Good all rounder

published

Decent sized engine and drives smoothly like most Japanese cars. Would recommend people picking one up for their first car, even today 2018, if you can get a good price on it obviously. The aircon is really cold too. The only problem with this car is the design where the left and right diagonal view of the driver is obstructed by the frame. You do get used to it after a while though, just be extra careful when you're turning corners, especially where there are zebra crossings.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Ravi B

Ravi B

  • 4 reviews

As reliable as Hondas get

published

I am on my 2nd civic sport. First one was rear ended and totalled. Bought the same model again. Like the handling, responsiveness, agility, ivtec performance for the 2 litre version. The car carries 5 people on a steep uphill with no issues. Engine likes to rev. Fuel economy could be better. Accepts e10 but it disappears quickly. Better mileage with 98 octane despite higher price. Cheap to run Honda. Parts are abundant. And very very reliable. Highly recommended.

BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013
Aaron

Aaronbrisbane

  • 4 reviews

Disappointed for a reputable brand

published

My wife bought this car from a friend with only 20k kms about 4 years ago. It currently has 75k kms. At 65k we had to replace 2 of the wheel bearings - front and rear. As a result we decided to do all of them. There was also a rattle in the gearbox when cold and engaging drive from reverse. Was apparently a loose transmission cover (assembly issue). Now there is a starter motor sound where it is not disengaging from the flywheel. Very disappointed as this car is never driven hard and serviced regularly. My suggestion is that if you are on a bugdet, buy Hyundai or if you can afford it, buy Toyota.

BadgeVTi-L
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013

Shelly

ShellyCanberra

  • 5 reviews

great car

published

This is great performance and nice looking car. very easy to maintain and very reliable. the only thing is the air bag needs to be recalled. but Honda is very responsible company and willing to follow up any issue of the car. Interior design is comfortable and functional. The parts are very durable. Love it.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014

val

valIngleburn

  • 11 reviews
  • 10 likes

Perfect Car for me

published

This is a very good car, smooth to drive, responsive engine and cheap on petrol. Servicing is cheap as well and you can DIY it, it is so easy. I bought it second hand and used it for 5 years and the car still drives like new. Paint is still good except for some minor scratches and some fades but very minimal. Civic is still the best car!!!

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2012

Mohit

MohitGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 9 reviews

It's a Honda, enough said !!!

published

Personally a big fan of the Honda's, particularly the Civic. My model is bit old now but still every bit as good, solid, reliable. Every thing inside the car is very neat, not posh but good, all the buttons are where you expect them to be, just good old sensible Honda design. Driving is smooth, a bit noisy now but that's just standard wear and tear.

BadgeVTi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Feliana

FelianaPerth

  • 6 reviews

I love it

published

I bought a second hand car Honda Civic last year because I had this car before and it never fails me. I like the look and also the digital dashboard and cruise control. It is good for someone that know less about car like me because it requires less maintenance and really reliable. Performance is very good. Haven't had any major issue since I bought it.

BadgeVTi-L
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2016

Page 1 of 5

See all Honda Civic reviews

Questions & Answers

John R

John Rasked

Has anyone heard intermittent weird noises whilst driving their Civic?

2 answers
Sam
Sam

How bad is the noise? It could be a number of reasons but do not forget with the age of the vehicle these noises will emerge.

Louise
Louise

Is it like an intermittent low grinding that only lasts for a few seconds particularly when you’re either idling, about to take off from a red light or reversing down your driveway on a cold morning? That goes away once your car warms up and/or you accelerate? If yes and you’ve got an 8th gen Civic then you’ve got broken engine mounts - particularly the lower right hand mount. Google it, I’ve had about 5 now replaced and still they break, so have by the looks of what’s on google every single 2006-2010 civic owner worldwide. It’s a known design flaw, but don’t bother going to Honda to get it fixed they’ll just tell you you need it replaced but when you go back and back to them saying ummm it’s broken AGAIN and this are your hideously expensive $600 a pop OEM parts you’re gouging me for they’ll just pretend they don’t know why but due to the age of the vehicle its not covered under warranty...interesting how they can still claim that given there’s thousands upon thousands of owners reporting the same fault, I guess it’s all only “anecdotal” however, if the manufacturer doesn’t admit there’s a manufacturing flaw or compelled to provide transparent reporting of data about what problems a specific model and year vehicle is consistently presenting to their service centres then what do you do? Oh...if you were thinking hey maybe I’ll just get a non-OEM but compatible engine mount and fit that that should fix it, with any other part I’d say yeah go for it but not the engine mounts, fit a non-genuine Honda one of these you may find yourself with a bigger issue than just some cracked mounts


Rod

Rodasked

Our honda 2007 civic's paint is failing in multiple places on the bonnet , roof & a few minor patches on other panels . After reading the usa forums where various models have been recalled for similar problems , i believe it to be a clear coat failure . Our car is always garaged & well maintained . A nice care with a very very poor paont job . Anyone else experienced similar ??

4 answers
Chrys
Chrys

My 2008 Civic has never been garaged and it's paint is still good. Perhaps they changed the formula for mine or yours was a unique case?? Either way I'm not sure if you can do anything about it now, I think paint warranties are very short.

Rod
Rod

Its unfortunate , because its turned me off buying another honda thats for sure .

NODEAL
NODEAL

Not experienced paint problem but fr equent flat battry with car under 1 yo


Jacqueline

Jacquelineasked

Hi
I have a Honda Civic 2006 Model sedan, 112,000km. Have had no problems, very reliable but over the last two weeks and after heavy rain have notice my spare tyre compartment has filled with water and my back seat - all my seat is wet. After researching I have discovered many other civics around this time are having similar problems. Is this something Honda will fix due to a manufacturing fault or do I look at getting it resealed and paying the cost myself?

2 answers
Rod F
Rod F

Not having experienced that problem (yet) I can only suggest that you contact the dealer where you purchased the vehicle to see what they can do-obviously the vehicle is out of warranty so I suggest all bets are off and it would depend on the good will of Honda. Is the water coming in around the window seal and if so it may just be a case of "old age". My Honda is only 4 yrs old so I hope I don't get any problems for a long time yet. Sorry I can't be more positive for you. Just have a go at them!

Tom C
Tom C

You will have to contact Honda or the Dealer that you purchased the vehicle from.


Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.