??!
4 photos
Honda Civic 9th Gen

Honda Civic 9th Gen (2012-2015)

4.2 from 33 reviews

See the Best Sedans in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

(12)
(16)
(3)
(2)
(0)
  • Incentivised Review Yes (0%) · No (100%)
  • Build Quality
    5.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)

Kim D

Kim DSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Surprisingly roomy

published

This was a great car, comfortable and surprisingly roomy. I hired this car when on holidays and am seriously considering purchasing it after the way it performed. Nice power when taking off and cruises smoothly on the highway. Economical and easily fitted our suitcases and us

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Noise Level
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2018
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Onases

Onases

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good car

published

Very good looking car on the outside
Comfortable seats inside
Good options
I have vtis version and somehow for a 2013 model it doesnt have auto lights.
Driver seat feels like its tilted back even when its not
Economical andcthe manual gear box is very impressive
Its not a speedy car for you who love their speed but it does okay

BadgeVTi-S
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2018
Bugsy08

Bugsy08Gold Coast

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Not a bad little car...

published

We bought this care second hand to use as our second car. It is used every second day mainly driving around the suburbs of the Gold Coast.
It’s relatively economical to run and we have it serviced when the car computer recommends. Our main disappointment is the visibility out of the rear window

BadgeVTi-L
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
chickens

chickensMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Lovely car

published

Daily drive, commuting, running kids around, driving around for work, its done everything asked of it and never missed a beat. It's nearly 5 years old, and the dealer just offered me a test-drive of the newest model, and I honestly don't see the point, its still humming along nicely.

BadgeVTi-S
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Veriveri123

Veriveri123Sydney

  • 6 reviews

Great car, love it!

published

Great fuel economy, a tank can last me over 700km. Although abit annoying I can only put 95+ in it. At first it was hard getting used to the blinker on the left side as the car was assembled in the UK and fog lights are in the back instead of the front. The wheel protectors get dust trapped easily because of the model so I have to clean it more than a usual car. Overall I am very happy with it.

BadgeVTi-S
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2014

Noddy

NoddyNT, 830

  • 10 reviews

A truly Great little vehicle

published

Outstanding economy - over 700k to a 55litre tank of fuel on the highway and about 680 around town. Amazing handling - goes round corners like it's in a slot. Incredible braking - If you have to hit the brakes hard, lights flash everywhere to let everybody else around you know they are about to hit you because you can stop so fast. lol. We bought it brand new just over 4 years ago and the only thing we have needed to do mechanically was new brake pads at about 60,000KM. Very comfortable. We drove Townsville to Darwin (2500km) over 3 days (about 8 hours a day) and experienced very low fatigue levels. I'm 186cm (6'2") tall and more legroom than I need. We just love it.

BadgeVTi-S
BodyHatch
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Engine Size1.8L

KDogg

KDoggPerth

  • 4 reviews

Diesel Power House

published
BadgeDTi-S
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedOct 2017

kishore

kishoreSydney

  • 4 reviews

Perfect family car

published

Positives:
- great interior looks with led lights on dash board. Stylish interiors.
- digital speedo meter is very attractive
- dash board tilted towards drives which is very ergonomic
- cant complain with drive quality. Too smooth and still maintain the smoothness even after 110000 kms
- good seat space for 3 in rear seats
- great mileage. Especially for long drives very economical 6L/100kms

Negatives
- no led display for maps or other setup screen
- pick up is that great in economical mode.

BadgeVTi-L
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Vic .L

Vic .L

  • 5 reviews

Great car

published

Great car for its price. The HUD is modern and sleek, comes with bluetooth, and the electronic speedometer display is a nice touch. The handling is smooth and the interior is very comfortable. I would recommend this car to anyone as it's a solid car, nothing stands out but no complaints either.

BadgeVi
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2014
Jeff

JeffVictoria, 3175

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable and well-priced

published

Purchased on Dec 2015. 38K on clock. Serviced by Honda all these while and the manufacturer found some oil leaks at 30K service, fixed with on drama.
Car has to send for service every 10K, which is very reasonable mileage.

8.1L fuel consumption per 100km as displayed on car dashboard. That's a mixed of freeway and city driving. My model is Vti-S, therefore nothing special about the performance. But sometimes I feel like it is underpowered when you have 3 other passengers in the car with you.

So far haven't got any other issue other than an oil leak that has been fixed easily without spending any dime. Will continue to update this review over time. Thanks for reading.

BadgeVTi-S
BodySedan
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2015

Great vehicle, very reliable

published

We have owned our Honda Civic hatch since we purchased it new in 2012.
Has been very reliable and handles exceptionally well, while I wouldn't call it "powerful" its zippy vtec motor has ample power for the everyday driver. (the paddle shifts are also helpful for overtaking and getting up steep hills.)

Very economical on the high way, makes a great commuter.
Highly recommend to someone who is after low maintenance, fun driving dynamics, and an economical car.

BadgeVTi-L
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2012

aziz

aziz

  • 5 reviews

Perfect car

published

Perfect car both interior and exterior are excellent when u drive it u don't feel ant noise it is so quiet car. Navigator is plus point . Very good on fuel. Push start button and many other features which makes it a perfect car. Very economical on fuel. Excellent overall

BadgeVTi-LN
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2016

Peter

PeterSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Best Car ever

published

This car is excellent. Great on fuel.
So many extras on the VTI-L.
Has the eco mode. Has power when you need it,
Has paddle shifters for when you need more power.'
handling is great. Has seat warmers. Dash board is excellent.
Plenty of leg room.
Very reliable car. Not really noisy.
Suspension is a bit stiff though.

BadgeVTi-L
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2015

Supreet

SupreetMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Perfect small car

published

How good is the driving experience?
-performance is good for every day drive. I do around 50km everyday.
Handling is nothing to write home about but not bad.
Noise is there a bit. But not audible when you have audio on.
What do you like or dislike about the interior? (Dashboard, legroom, etc.)
Dashboard is decent looking and angled for driver, east access to things.
Legroom is okay, me being 5'7, that really can't be bad.
How is the reliability and what are the running costs?
Good reliability, never had any issue.
Service is 6 months or 10k. Cost around 250-300

BadgeVTi-L
BodySedan
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
dipali.p89

dipali.p89Melbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Civis drives smooth and looks cool

published

Thanks you Mitsubishi Heidelberg for giving great deal on Honda Civic. Car is as new from outside and from inside. Everything is as per advertisement on car sales. Car is very economical. Interior gives premium feel with reverse cam, sun roof, ipod connectivity, leather seats, keyless entry, enough storage space. Leg room can be bit problem for tall people specially on rear seat if driver is tall as well.

BadgeSport
BodySedan
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
The Oracle

The Oracle

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

A practical hatch that looks like a coupe

published
BadgeVTi-L
BodyHatch
Engine Size1.8L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2013

Mr J D Hose

Mr J D HoseBrisb

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Honda hatch British manufactured Brake Issues..

published

Disappointed in flat spot on accelerating from slow start.Buyer beware they are very hard on brakes. Just spent 1K replacing rotors and pads front and rear after 2yrs 60K...Honda is aware of the issue but Fail to mention it when selling.(also reported in RACQ Road Ahead magazine October 2016.They also fitted the same kit so will be back in two years or sell the car prior...
Poor form Honda from a four car Honda owner now looking for another brand to align with..

BadgeDTi-S
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Jun Tuazon

Jun TuazonBrisbane

  • 8 reviews

Honda Civic Hatch rear brake pads wearing out prematurely

published

I also have a Honda Civic VTI-L 2013 model, having the 2 years service done recently I was advised that the rear brake pads needs replacing soon. I was gobsmacked as the car has only travelled 30Ks . The dealer service personnel gave the reason for being built in Europe the cars have softer brake pads. In my forty years of driving Hondas this is the first time I have encountered such a thing, where the brake pads wears out even before the tires. This does not bode well for Honda's claim of good quality vehicle build, specially coming from England.

BadgeVTi-L
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Jun Tuazon
Jun Tuazon

bartie

bartieSydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Brake dust on the wheels

published

My car is great after 2+ years but the brake dust on the wheels annoys me badly every day. After about a week after washing the wheels are black again, I don't think I could buy another Honda after this one. My Euro was almost as bad.
The car goes well and is of good quality.

BadgeVTi-S
BodyHatch
Engine Size2.0L
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
bartie
bartie

Just had brake pads front and rear at 27000 KMS for Honda Civic hatch 2013. Rotors required next time. Honda couldn't care less . It's a disgrace


my pet!

published

This sporty car is a dream because it feels luxurious with its leather heated seats and the trim and finishes are not thin plastic.it is quiet in the cab and feels like one is in the cockpit of a small plane.the back seats are comfortable also and the lift up seats enables one to carry a quite large item home from the shop.the technology is amazing,we were told to put our seatbelt on and also advised about ice on the road. I love my fuel efficient honda x

BadgeVTi-LN
BodyHatch
TransmissionAutomatic

Page 1 of 2

See all Honda Civic reviews

Questions & Answers

Bikerboy

Bikerboyasked

I've just bought a 2013 Civic VTiS hatch and find the radio will often change from the station it started on to some other station, it's really annoying, anyone else find this or know the cause? Thanks!

2 answers
MCG823
MCG823

I have the exact same issue with my 2014 Civic Hatch VTi and this was reported to Eastern Honda Doncaster (AUS) who told me that I needed to have the Traffic Announcement (TA / RD) settings on / off. I had already tried this before then, and needless to say it had no bearing on the matter. In the six months to date, the problem has become worse and now the radio hardly sits on a station for longer than a few mins before changing to another station. I have booked my car in for a service next week and asked them to have a look at it, and again am being told it's probably the RD / TA settings, which I have trouble believing. I have had many cars in the past (incl. Hondas) and driven many rental cars too, and never come across such problems with the radio!!

Bikerboy
Bikerboy

Hi, my dealer Collins Honda said the same when I checked it in for a service and so they turned off TA/RD and it worked for me, apparently it's only used in the UK as that's where the hatchbacks are built, good luck. Also had a problem with rear seat belt indicator coming on even when no one was in the back, or anything at all, so they reset the chip, was ok for a while but it still happens.


Get an answer from our members and Honda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.