??!
1 photo
Jeep Cherokee KJ

Jeep Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

3.2 from 34 reviews

Reviews

3.2

34 reviews
5
(10)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(8)
    Previous
    Next
    Tony

    Tony

    • 2 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Be aware

    published

    Be aware! My Jeep Cherokee 2002 sport airbags exploded when I was driving!!!!
    Was like a bomb!!!
    On driver side the airbag from fire exploded have fire burn spots!!!!
    The car not having any single scratch no accident involved !! I can’t find any recall for airbags on this model!!!!!!!

    BadgeSport
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJan 2018
    Stevo

    StevoSydney

    I still havent found anything good enough to replace it!

    published
    BadgeSport
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedJan 2012

    Jeep KJ Renegade CRD 2005 - Brilliant

    published

    It has never missed a beat. As long as you don’t neglect you vehicle you shouldn’t have any issues.
    The Turbo Diesel engine seems great, no complaints.
    The only issues would be my roof lining kinda sagging down and the rear window shocks not holding the window open.
    Great all round 4wd that seems robust.

    BadgeRenegade
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedDec 2005
    Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Find out how Jeep Cherokee KJ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all

    Jeep Cherokee CRD Renegade - Brilliant.

    published

    I have had the Jeep Cherokee CRD Renegade for a long while now. Other than the usual log book servicing I can fault it.
    Whilst I only do lite FWD on the sand & snow a few times it goes great. It has that good old fashioned turbo diesel feel & has never let me down.

    BadgeRenegade
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJan 2004
    Gra

    GraDENILIQUIN

    Great Car and Keeps going if you look after it

    published
    BadgeLimited
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedAug 2014
    Alex

    AlexMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

    • 9 reviews

    The worst car I've ever bought , expensive to run and repair

    published

    Awful to drive no take off up hills, noisy to drive and expensive to run and repair. Back seats very uncomfortable. In summer when it was very hot the back door would not open . The drivers seat had to be close to the under dash to reach the pedals so cramped.

    BadgeRenegade
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedFeb 2012
    Claire

    Claire

    • 4 reviews
    • 2 likes

    Handy vehicle

    published

    I purchased a 2003 Jeep Cherokee Sport and loved it! Manual transmission was easy to drive. Great visibility with no blind spots. Could park it anywhere and was nice to drive on road. When it got real, it could climb the steepest and roughest hills off road with no dramas. Towed without a struggle and felt safe. Whilst it had a few issues mechanically, I did drive it 140 klm's every day and it rarely let me down. Even my mechanic said "She just keeps on going doesn't she!". I would definitely have another one.

    BadgeSport
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedJul 2013
    Steve

    Steve

    • 11 reviews

    Poor Quality, continuous break downs, very expensive parts

    published
    BadgeLimited
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedDec 2013
    Ian Stewart

    Ian StewartSydney, NSW

    • 3 reviews

    Good car for us

    published
    Badge65th Anniversary
    TransmissionManual
    Date PurchasedApr 2007
    Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Find out how Jeep Cherokee KJ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    DeeTee

    DeeTee

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Solid performer

    published
    BadgeRenegade
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Date PurchasedJul 2015
    Phil T

    Phil TSydney

    Unstoppable but dealers are poor

    published
    BadgeSport
    TransmissionAutomatic
    1 comment
    Phil T
    Phil T
    Wombat

    Wombat

    • 4 reviews

    Still the best car I have ever experienced in 60 years

    published

    My second Jeep after 15 years. Even better than the XJ. Fuel consumption in city hopeless, in country a lot better. Happier to pay for fuel than tow trucks. Gas struts a common failure after five years, bonnet, tail gate etc.Still, cheap to replace. Found Jeep dealers service?(2) hopeless. Find a good independent mechanic and stick there.
    Still waiting 17 months for a part (tow bar) to be replaced under a world wide recall!

    BadgeLimited
    TransmissionAutomatic
    2 comments
    Wombat
    Wombat

    The long awaited tow bar was finally installed today. A very neat job by the Jeep dealer's workshop.

    Wombat
    Wombat
    Bigdog51

    Bigdog51SYDNEY

    • 7 reviews

    Jeep Cherokee 2002

    published

    Our Jeep has 223,000 kms on it now. It has cost me next to nix in extra repairs from a used purchase at 20,000 kms and 12 months old (after it had already been around Oz as a lead tour vehicle). It has original everything and has never had the gearbox oil or air gas changed (and everything works). You can get duds, you can get beauties...I am a happy camper but I do change (the basic engine etc.) oils and filters personally and frequently.

    BadgeLimited
    TransmissionAutomatic
    MG

    MGSydney

    Over 10 years running

    published

    Bought 2002 Cherokee 3.7L in 2005 and 10 years later she's motoring along. Have only had to repair a few things over the years as you'd expect across the lifetime like a new battery (years ago) and wipers once in a while. I use public transport for work so only gets driven to football training and at weekends. Only problem I've had is water leaking in after heavy rain on front passenger side - which I can't figure out!

    BadgeLimited
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Amelia R.

    Amelia R.Coffs Harbour

    • 6 reviews
    • 3 likes

    Love my jeep

    published

    Love my 2007 jeep Cherokee, purchased a couple years ago and still going well. The only problem we've had is the back wiper stop working.
    It's reliable, feels safe, is affordable to run (diesel) etc. Cant fault it.
    I think I've been well and truly converted into a jeep fan.

    Badge65th Anniversary
    TransmissionAutomatic
    Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Find out how Jeep Cherokee KJ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

    Know better, choose better.

    Compare all
    tim

    timsydney

    dissapointed

    published
    dljacko

    dljackoRosny Park, Tasmania

    • 6 reviews
    • 7 likes

    MY05 Jeep Cherokee Rubbish

    published

    Everything fine (except for the normally excessive fuel consumption) until the oil warning light came on, and, half a minute later as I was pulling off the highway the motor seized. The wreckers all over Australia know how much trouble these vehicles are and want around $3500-$4000 for a motor in any condition as long as it is going. The problems I have had are less than my Laredo diesel (which I sold to the wreckers to save anyone having any more trouble with it), but are still numerous and expensive to fix.
    Easy for my wife to park in the city, good radio.
    Average 18L/100km, noisy transmission, expensive parts (which you need often), hard on tyres.

    TransmissionAutomatic
    1 comment
    dljacko
    dljacko
    Joerede

    JoeredeAU

    • 2 reviews
    • 1 like

    Brilliant and suited me. Work rest and play. Does the long haul, adventure and daily work and family

    published

    Only consumable required for a 2002 jeep sport. Batteries and brakes. Travelled with the family and work. Still going strong. As a note have had Toyotas, mitsubishi and VW as well as holden. Actaully a really well built car that does run heavy on fuel but in terms of carbon print and it durability and multi use the premium of $1000 fuel a year over a high pressure refrigerator or no use other than travelling to the shops is totally inconsequential.

    On a final note with the car over 12 years old and servicing the family all this time no matter what happens now it is memories for litre for all of the family.

    BadgeSport
    tezza

    tezzamelbourne

    • 3 reviews

    not that bad...

    published
    BadgeSport

    Jeep service what a joke.

    published
    1 comment
    evan
    evan
    Page 1 of 2
    See all Jeep Cherokee reviews

    Questions & Answers

    Brettski

    Brettskiasked

    Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

    Are the deisel models all have turbo ? 2007 model

    No answers
    Paul T.

    Paul T.asked

    Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

    i have a 2003 jeep renegade 3.7l v6 would like to know when is the service intervals. it has 97,000km which is low..i have put 2500km since imported..also i bought a new exterior door lock/unlock key from jeep but how do i program to work? it does not have panic button, only open close and back window.. there are no jeep garages in Mozambique so need online help with this..

    No answers
    John T

    John Tasked

    Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

    2005 2.8l turbo diesel - everything randomly shuts down when taking off after idling or parking but not while travelling.

    No answers

    Get an answer from our members

    ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.