?
? !
1 photo
Jeep Cherokee KJ

Jeep Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

3.3 from 36 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (2)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
  • Features
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
Joshua P.

Joshua P.

  • 10 reviews
  • 20 likes

2003 Jeep Cherokee KJ Limited (4x4) Blue 4 Speed Automatic Wagon

published

Purchased in August 2020 for $5,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Joshua P.
Joshua P.

one of the window regulators has gone on the back drivers side. just needs a new regulator but nothing that is not fixable

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best jeep I’ve ever had

published

Love it. 2005 automatic. 115,000 miles on the clock. Smooth, classy, solid and very comfortable. As they say; look after your car and it will look after you. Get it serviced, don’t hammer it on the roads, enjoy the ride. I’m smitten

Purchased in May 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony

Tony

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Be aware

published

Be aware! My Jeep Cherokee 2002 sport airbags exploded when I was driving!!!!
Was like a bomb!!!
On driver side the airbag from fire exploded have fire burn spots!!!!
The car not having any single scratch no accident involved !! I can’t find any recall for airbags on this model!!!!!!!

BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee KJ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stevo

StevoSydney

I still havent found anything good enough to replace it!

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Jeep KJ Renegade CRD 2005 - Brilliant

published

It has never missed a beat. As long as you don’t neglect you vehicle you shouldn’t have any issues.
The Turbo Diesel engine seems great, no complaints.
The only issues would be my roof lining kinda sagging down and the rear window shocks not holding the window open.
Great all round 4wd that seems robust.

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2005
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Jeep Cherokee CRD Renegade - Brilliant.

published

I have had the Jeep Cherokee CRD Renegade for a long while now. Other than the usual log book servicing I can fault it.
Whilst I only do lite FWD on the sand & snow a few times it goes great. It has that good old fashioned turbo diesel feel & has never let me down.

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2004
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Gra

GraDENILIQUIN

Great Car and Keeps going if you look after it

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex

AlexMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

The worst car I've ever bought , expensive to run and repair

published

Awful to drive no take off up hills, noisy to drive and expensive to run and repair. Back seats very uncomfortable. In summer when it was very hot the back door would not open . The drivers seat had to be close to the under dash to reach the pedals so cramped.

BadgeRenegade
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Claire

Claire

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Handy vehicle

published

I purchased a 2003 Jeep Cherokee Sport and loved it! Manual transmission was easy to drive. Great visibility with no blind spots. Could park it anywhere and was nice to drive on road. When it got real, it could climb the steepest and roughest hills off road with no dramas. Towed without a struggle and felt safe. Whilst it had a few issues mechanically, I did drive it 140 klm's every day and it rarely let me down. Even my mechanic said "She just keeps on going doesn't she!". I would definitely have another one.

BadgeSport
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJuly 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee KJ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve

Steve

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Poor Quality, continuous break downs, very expensive parts

published
BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian Stewart

Ian StewartSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Good car for us

published
Badge65th Anniversary
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DeeTee

DeeTee

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Solid performer

published
BadgeRenegade
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJuly 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Phil T

Phil TMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unstoppable but dealers are poor

published
BadgeSport
TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
Phil T
Phil T
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Wombat

Wombat

  • 4 reviews
  • 4 likes

Still the best car I have ever experienced in 60 years

published

My second Jeep after 15 years. Even better than the XJ. Fuel consumption in city hopeless, in country a lot better. Happier to pay for fuel than tow trucks. Gas struts a common failure after five years, bonnet, tail gate etc.Still, cheap to replace. Found Jeep dealers service?(2) hopeless. Find a good independent mechanic and stick there.
Still waiting 17 months for a part (tow bar) to be replaced under a world wide recall!

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
2 comments
Wombat
Wombat

The long awaited tow bar was finally installed today. A very neat job by the Jeep dealer's workshop.

Wombat
Wombat
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bigdog51

Bigdog51SYDNEY

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Jeep Cherokee 2002

published

Our Jeep has 223,000 kms on it now. It has cost me next to nix in extra repairs from a used purchase at 20,000 kms and 12 months old (after it had already been around Oz as a lead tour vehicle). It has original everything and has never had the gearbox oil or air gas changed (and everything works). You can get duds, you can get beauties...I am a happy camper but I do change (the basic engine etc.) oils and filters personally and frequently.

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Jeep Cherokee KJ compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MG

MGSydney

Over 10 years running

published

Bought 2002 Cherokee 3.7L in 2005 and 10 years later she's motoring along. Have only had to repair a few things over the years as you'd expect across the lifetime like a new battery (years ago) and wipers once in a while. I use public transport for work so only gets driven to football training and at weekends. Only problem I've had is water leaking in after heavy rain on front passenger side - which I can't figure out!

BadgeLimited
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Amelia R.

Amelia R.Coffs Harbour

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my jeep

published

Love my 2007 jeep Cherokee, purchased a couple years ago and still going well. The only problem we've had is the back wiper stop working.
It's reliable, feels safe, is affordable to run (diesel) etc. Cant fault it.
I think I've been well and truly converted into a jeep fan.

Badge65th Anniversary
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
tim

timsydney

dissapointed

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
dljacko

dljackoHobart, TAS

  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes

MY05 Jeep Cherokee Rubbish

published

Everything fine (except for the normally excessive fuel consumption) until the oil warning light came on, and, half a minute later as I was pulling off the highway the motor seized. The wreckers all over Australia know how much trouble these vehicles are and want around $3500-$4000 for a motor in any condition as long as it is going. The problems I have had are less than my Laredo diesel (which I sold to the wreckers to save anyone having any more trouble with it), but are still numerous and expensive to fix.
Easy for my wife to park in the city, good radio.
Average 18L/100km, noisy transmission, expensive parts (which you need often), hard on tyres.

TransmissionAutomatic
1 comment
dljacko
dljacko
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joerede

JoeredeAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant and suited me. Work rest and play. Does the long haul, adventure and daily work and family

published

Only consumable required for a 2002 jeep sport. Batteries and brakes. Travelled with the family and work. Still going strong. As a note have had Toyotas, mitsubishi and VW as well as holden. Actaully a really well built car that does run heavy on fuel but in terms of carbon print and it durability and multi use the premium of $1000 fuel a year over a high pressure refrigerator or no use other than travelling to the shops is totally inconsequential.

On a final note with the car over 12 years old and servicing the family all this time no matter what happens now it is memories for litre for all of the family.

BadgeSport
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Jeep Cherokee reviews

Questions & Answers

Damien

Damien asked

Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

is a 2007 diesel with 240,000kms on it with full service history still have life in it? as in how many km's can you usually get out of them?

No answers
Damien

Damien asked

Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

what are the biggest problems with a 2007 jeep limited auto cherokee?

No answers
Joshua P.

Joshua P.asked

Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

has anyone had issues with petrol consumption on the 3.7 limited that only gives you 250km to the tank on 2WD mode?

No answers
See all Jeep Cherokee KJ (2001-2007) questions

Get an answer from our members

Jeep Cherokee KJ (2001-2007)

Details

Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee
CategoryMidsize / Medium SUVs
Release dateJan 2001
Discontinuation dateDec 2007
Replaced byJeep Cherokee KK
Compare all 7 Jeep Cherokee

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.