?
? !
7 photos
Kia Rio JB

Kia Rio JB (2005-2011)

3.9 from 38 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.0 (2)
  • Value for Money
    5.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    5.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    5.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    5.0 (1)
  • Features
    4.0 (1)
Previous
Next
Richard

RichardGreat Southern, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Engine misfire and labouring solved. Free

published

Appears many comments on these cars missing (misfire, running rough).

Commonly it’s the coil pack, which gets replaced solving the problem. Expensive though.

I just found that a small amount of engine oil can leak from the rocker cover gasket and get on the side of the coil pack, and penetrate the rubber boot. This causes a shorting, arcing of the spark.

Clean off the oil, remove the lower boot from the coil and clean that too. Also clean deep inside the chamber leading to the spark plus, with a rag.

My engine misfire was completely solved

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Edwina H.

Edwina H.

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

great first car

published

could not of asked for a better first car. she stuck by me through thick and thin, I definitely did not treat her right, typical female andeverything. not sure how I managed not to blow the engine up. came close, twice. just wish I had been as kind to her as she with me, as I could not afford the inevitable surgery she needed from lack of service and cheap dodgey repair work

Purchased in June 2011 for $9,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sayyed

SayyedGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Very good car

published

I am driving my kia 2009 from last 2 n half years as a Uber 6 days a week 12 hours a day with no problem at all just oil change break pads and tyres. Good on fuel. One tank gives me 500 kms. For engine using penrite 5w 40 . And that’s it

BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio JB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
AustraReviews

AustraReviewsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Good first car

published

I bought a second hand Kia Rio JB Sedan from a private seller when I was a university student and kept it for about 4 years, mainly for commuting to and from work. It is a good car to buy if it's your first car as it's economical to run and has enough space for adults at the back and a large enough boot.

The downsides of this particular car was that the paint started to wear out even though it was garaged every night and the seats are not that comfortable for long drives. Eventually, I upgraded to a bigger, better car.

BodySedan
BadgeJB
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Julie

JulieMelbourne

  • 6 reviews

Just Perfect

published

Great and economic car. It served me when i was single and after having family. Never stopped just run smooth. Even its ideal for long trips never let u down. Its a daily car that u can trust driving it. I do a regular service and never had any problems that cost u alot of money. Just regular service

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Digsy

Digsy

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great little car

published

Very happy with the car. We bought this as a first car for our daughter, read a few reviews about it and went ahead and bought it second hand with 145000 kms on it. Very smooth to drive, but was a little noisey. We discovered the seals around the rear windows was perished, we replaced them which made a huge difference. Nice and smooth in the gear box, fuel economy is great.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ken

kenPerth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Average little car

published

Compact car suited to maximum of two adults only, good on fuel not bad to drive, throw away car in terms of major maintance due to the work involved removing gearbox's etc.
No fill holes or level holes on manual transmissions , gearbox snouts wear easily, front wheel bearings don't last terribly long, insufficient lubrication on drive line parts from the factory so they seize or wear prematurely,
OK car if you keep them only along as the factory warranty lasts.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
M. Khaled

M. KhaledPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Good value

published

Overall Good performance.
Good value for money with a low maintenance cost.
Reliable car, I never had an issue with it (done 160,000 so far) , just doing the regular maintenance as per log book.
Fuel efficient and economic.
Good interior design, but it has a lot of cheap plastic in the dash board.

BodyHatch
BadgeSport
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Xiaochen

XiaochenMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Second hand Rio

published

we name our car as Cherry from the color. This does not have the enough storage space but it is much for two people the normal daily time. It is the automatic car and the power of the car is limited. The car has been served once from we bought it. Others are looks good.

BodyHatch
BadgeS
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio JB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
KG in Brisbane

KG in BrisbaneBrisbane

  • 18 reviews
  • 23 likes

I'd buy another, without hesitation

published
BodyHatch
BadgeLS
Engine Size1.4L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2008
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ramez

RamezMelbourne

  • 24 reviews
  • 17 likes

Reliable. Uses more petrol than it should

published

Purchased a clean example.
Did what it was purchased to do.
Everything works well.
The factory speakers sound so much better with an upgraded stereo system.

Easy to drive and maneuvre.

Unfortunately it uses ore petrol than it should. I was getting ~10L/100km for a 1.6L hatchback. On researching the issue, this seems to be the norm.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
Engine Size1.6L
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Passenger airbag faulty/speedometer stopped working.

published

This is an average small car for driving/comfort etc. However at about 100,000 km's the airbag warning light came on and would not turn off. Took it to Kia dealership, they said the passenger airbag was faulty, my problem-not theirs. Cost to me to repair $1200. Be very wary of lack of dealer assistance after warranty expires. In addition at 120,000 km's the speedometer stopped working. This is still a work in progress with the auto electrician. A search of the internet shows these are a common problem with the JB Kia Rio's. Kia would have been well aware of these problems but their silence is revealing. Remember, cheap comes with problems.

BodyHatch
BadgeLX
TransmissionAutomatic
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

2006 kia rio hatch 1.6 ltr

published

I bought the kia in 2006 so am the only owner of the car, ive done 300,000 k's and not an issue, runs as good now as when it was new, still the same battery, brakes and clutch, brakes are at 50 percent still, I have had to bar on it since new and cart 10 ton of wood each year with it, and other odd jobs, Cant fault it way better than my ford or holden with similar k's, don't under estimate these little cars they keep going and going.

BodyHatch
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dennis

DennisSouthport,Queensland

2006 KIA RIO Sedan Manual with 1.6L Motor

published

I bought this car in January 2006 and it has done over 155,000kms.It has been absolutely faultless ,no rattles,I get regularly serviced,economical. I did put on 185/15 tyres when the factory tyres were worn and I can't tell you what a difference to the ride and road handling. The CD player has finally gone so I'll be putting a new one in.The car is in great condition and I'll be keeping for a long time.
Perfect car for requirements!
Definitely put wider 185/15 tyres!

Engine Size1.6L twin cam fuel injection 16valve with variable valve timing. My little red rocket!
BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mardou

mardouMid North Coast, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good

published

I wanted a good cheap car,I got a value for money car that does what I want it to do. I think overall I got what I paid for.
Has everything I need to go travelling,have travelled 25,600 klms.in 12 months Cheap value for money.Kia are supportive.
When it rains or when I wash the Kia Rio the black plastic strips around the car fade to a grey,should be black,I have to repolish with Back to Black,but does not last. Knock in rear, the bush had to be replaced.

BodySedan
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hatchbacks

Find out how Kia Rio JB compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
honestruth

honestruthAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

Bad

published

I wouldn't buy a Kia again. I was impressed at the start but not happy with the after service. Very disapointing.
This car is well priced. Lots of cars in stock so easy to get hold off.
The after service was poor. I had an issue with the clutch which was clearly a warranty issue which two mechanics had confirmed. Kia refused to repair it under warranty. Their customer care centre was disgraceful and the person i spoke to was very rude.

BodySedan
1 comment
Jenny 1958
Jenny 1958
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
DONNA2452

DONNA2452AU

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Great car for the price

published
Engine Size1400
BodyHatch
1 comment
peterv52
peterv52
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
monaromonaro

monaromonaroMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 38 reviews
  • 27 likes

Would I buy another Kia vehicle? No!

published
Engine Size1.6 litre
BodyHatch
6 comments
Revealing
Revealing

The topic here is about the 2012 Model SlS and the like and not an older outdated version. Cars do improve you know? And at this stage at 2012 the Rio Reborn is well in and above even the likes of VW

monaromonaro
monaromonaro

Rainer, this section of the site is for "2006-2013 Kia Rio". Therefore, the JB model Rio from 2006 fits under this heading. Where does it state this topic is just for the 2012 Model SIS?

Revealing
Revealing

So it is! I stand corrected. It is rather unusual to show a current model and expand it back to old Bombs? Why anyone would want to expand to include old models is strange

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt56871354

Matt56871354South East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

KIA Rio Sport - annoying traits

published
BodyHatch
3 comments
monaromonaro
monaromonaro
Revealing
Revealing

Good point re the Button on Keyless entry. Must keep an eye on it ;-)

david hambleton
david hambleton

I have a friend who has a 2007 rio and I had a 2007 getz. if u bumped the button both if them would relock in 30 seconds. I now have a 2013 fiesta and it relocks in 45 seconds. I dare say yours would be very similar.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

OK

published
BodyHatch
1 comment
Stevenj32
Stevenj32

Our 2012 Rio uses outrages amount of fuel, 7.5lts per 100, our other car was a Mitsubishi Colt, Ralliart, non turbo, twice the power of the Rio, fuel use, 4.9lts per, no noise from mech either, Kia, very disappointing vehicle, never buy again.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all Kia Rio reviews

Questions & Answers

lloyd b.

lloyd b.asked

Rio JB (2005-2011)

Does a 2005 Kia Rio LS sedan have a fuel warning light

No answers
Tony N.

Tony N.asked

Rio JB (2005-2011)

Can I use a bkr5ek spark plug in my 2006kia rio

No answers
emmanuelotu

emmanuelotuasked

Rio JB (2005-2011)

Pls I need help my kia Rio 2007 model I bought from someone which was parked fr so longlong, so was getting it fixed to be ready fr drive ,the ecu got burnt and I replaced the ecu then I started driving it but I observed I spent much on fuel ,so I complained to my mechanic, he then serviced the injector nuzzles and bought brand new plugs but yet the plugs are still covered with so much carbon when I drive it and as such it consumes more fuel.the car is not smoking ,good engine, moves well wen the plugs r cleaned.pls I need help on how to fix this problem of having carbon filled plugs? thank you.

1 answer
Linda
Linda

Maybe you could get a gas analyser on the exhaust pipe which should tell you if it’s running rich. Also maybe get some hotter spark plugs. A really good mechanic should be able to sort your problem out.

See all Kia Rio JB (2005-2011) questions

Get an answer from our members

Kia Rio JB (2005-2011)

Details

Compare all 10 Kia Rio
CategoryCars, Hatchbacks and Sedans
Starting Price $16,490
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrol
Wheels15" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating3 Stars
Fuel Consumption6.6 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 45 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power71kW @ 6000rpm
Max Torque125Nm @ 4700rpm
Country of ManufactureSouth Korea
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Release dateJan 2005
Discontinuation dateDec 2011
Replaced byKia Rio UB
Compare all 10 Kia Rio

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.