??!
5 photos
Mazda CX-5 KE.I

Mazda CX-5 KE.I (2012-2014)

3.8 from 115 reviews

Reviews

(42)
(41)
(11)
(8)
(13)
  • Build Quality
    3.6 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.7 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.7 (10)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (10)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.5 (10)
  • Handling
    4.1 (10)
  • Braking
    4.1 (10)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (10)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.8 (9)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.9 (10)
  • Interior Design
    3.9 (10)
  • Boot Size
    3.7 (10)
  • Features
    3.8 (10)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (10)
Maree66

Maree66Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 8 reviews

Never buy a Mazda!!!

published

Purchased in June 2014 at Mazda Dealers for $36,000.00.

Build Quality
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
See all answers
Predrag J.

Predrag J.

  • 2 reviews

Amazing car can not image life without it.

published

Extremely comfortable and easy to drive used in daily comutes, going to work picking up grocery etc, the car is serviced every 6 months. Have not had any issues tho when you turn the car off sometimes the monitor and ignition is still on having to turn it off twice.

Purchased in November 2012 at McGrath Mitsubishi Liverpool for $35.99.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

a79

a79Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 25 reviews
  • 9 likes

Such a great family car

published

We love our cx 5 it is perfect for our little family and has been very reliable and comes with such fantastic safety features
We have 3 children in car seats across the back so it’s a squishy fit but works for now
The boot space is enough for prams and such but for holidays we have found a roof pod is necessary for all the luggage
Fuel economy is pretty good and the car drives really well

Purchased in December 2012 at Mazda Dealers.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KE.I compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Delzey

DelzeyMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love my CX-5 and Mazda's customer service is second to none.

published

Purchased in April 2014 at CityMazda for $35,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2012
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Mick

MickGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Be warned

published

Purchased in July 2013 at Mazda Dealers for $38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2013
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
TT57

TT57Melbourne

  • 16 reviews

Great reliable car

published

This is our second Mazda. I find the car functional, reliable and looks good. I gave 4 Stars because the back doesn’t quite fit 3 baby seats comfortably so we now have to consider another suv which would.

Purchased in May 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Ali

AliMelbourne Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Terrible car ! Do NOT buy it

published

The only good thing about Mazda CX5 is that it is a beautiful sporty car. Otherwise, the maintenance costs are way too high! Maintenance costs are comparable to that of BMW or even Mercedes Benz specially after you drive over and around 100,000 kilometers with your car ! I hate my CX5 with passion! Would buy a proper reliable German car instead of buying a rubbish Japanese car !

Purchased in December 2014 at Max Kirwin Mazda for $40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Radio headset.

published

The entertainment unit whe n playing music from usb memory always restarts thebsame song every time the car is resarted.
Divers you insane.
Car is fantastic for towing our van. Economy is great.Good driving position. But the door closure warning light does not indicate which door is not closed properly.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014
Samantha M

Samantha MChisholm

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Decent car

published

We bought the CX 5 Max sport model for its ungraded features. We found that the tint that the installation team added was below par so I would recommend you do that aspect yourself.

Overall a smooth drive, not jerky with the breaks. We have owned it for over 5 years and with regular services we haven’t had a problem. In fact the low tyre pressure warning system saved my life on an outback drive one year, if this had not have gone off I would have been stranded heavily pregnant in the middle of nowhere.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2013
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KE.I compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Katym

KatymSydney

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Best Car I Have Ever Bought

published

Purchased my Mazda CX5 in August 2014 from John Newel Mazda - Alexandria. Comfortable, easy to drive, very economical on fuel. The interior is luxurious without the price tag. It is a medium size SUV, providing adequate legroom, boot storage and a feeling of being a sturdy safe car. After service at John Newel brilliant....high focus on customer experience. I will continue to purchase Mazda vehicles from this dealership in future as will my family.

BadgeAkera
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Jenny

JennyMackay

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Such a good mum car

published

I love this car. We bought it when we found out I was pregnant as an upgrade from my small Elantra. I love driving this car around, it is so smooth, comfortable and spacious. The pram fits in the boot with plenty of room to spare. I love having a reverse camera too. Very happy with this purchase!

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2017
Kate

Kate

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Still loving my Mazda

published

6 years on Im still loving my cx5. Its economic on petrol and the big boot has been handy with the kids bikes and trips away. Its the second Mazda I've bought and they are so reliable and they drive well.

TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2012
Sad CX5

Sad CX5Darwin

Lemon is an understatement.

published

Long term review for anyone that wants to purchase a Mazda CX-5. Save your money and purchase something else. Numerous sensor faults causing the car to limp or stop. At 80,000 KM blew a turbo. Not a single service they pick another fault from ruptured common rail fuel lines at a cost of $1000 to repair. The car is just at 130000 km engine mount bolts have ruptured and power steering is about to go according to the service department. Nothing but drama with the CX-5 and all Mazda could offer was one free service and an extended 12 months warranty. Wasn’t really worth the year off the road over 5 years.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2012
JohnR

JohnR

  • 3 reviews

Superb service

published
BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
1 comment
JohnR
JohnR

Came back from Melb to Melbourne 27 Dec, towing 1.4 tonne caravan - aircon working really well, temp outside mid 40s much of the way through central NSW : this lovely diesel did not miss a beat!

Anna

Anna

  • 4 reviews

Comfortable family car

published

This is a nice and comfortable family car. For a medium sized car it’s actually quite roomy inside. The cargo area has lots of room and is easy to reach into. It takes a cargo barrier so you can transport your pets in the back securely. The leather seats are very comfortable and the heated front seats add an element of luxury.

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2018
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Mazda CX-5 KE.I compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sarah

SarahBlaxland

  • 4 reviews

Hate hate hate!

published

I had a 2013 MY14 CX5 and had problems from day dot. From a faulty battery, to a faulty sunroof button which meant I couldn’t close the roof to a faulty sensor which made the engine stall (it was an automatic!) to blowing a head gasket and needing a whole new engine! Mazda put me through hell and back and wouldn’t cover it under warranty because my car was serviced through 2 different Mazda dealerships!! I would never recommend nor would I buy a CX5 again!

BadgeGrand Touring
Engine Size2.2L Twin-Turbo Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014

Fab car no issues so far great small SUV

published

Great car highly recommended, no issues in 3.5 years great drive. Good quality, easy to maintain, minimal servicing . Good fuel economy, smooth driving ..

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.5L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2014
tommy

tommyBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good car

published

It handles very well for a SUV almost like a sedan but with the high driving position. The fuel efficiency is very good at about 7.6l per 100km. The features are very good for the price which is why it is so popular. The downside is there is not much room for rear passengers and there is no aircon for rear passengers.

BadgeMaxx Sport
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Mark

Mark

  • 3 reviews

Excellent car for families

published

Excellent vehicle. Not a fan of the auto though some times the revs kick in real slow and all of a sudden the car is screaming. I was able to hack the Live Traffic Updates for free using some online websites and replacing the software on the SD card so now the wife gets free live updates from Tom Tom. Very spacious. If they fix the auto computer that'd be a 5/5.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Satya

SatyaWestmead

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Super

published

I bought this more than 5 years ego. So far I love this. Can't leave this. You may see so many SUVs in the market but this one was more cheaper and better value for the money. A perfect family car. Pickup was good and I had no issues so far.

BadgeMaxx
Engine Size2.0L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2012
Page 1 of 6
See all Mazda CX-5 reviews

Questions & Answers

Kristen B.

Kristen B.asked

CX-5 KE.I (2012-2014)

I purchased my CX-5 second hand through a mazda dealership, buying a turbo diesel as i live in the Kimberley and it will be great for exploring. I recently was on a drive back to darwin where it looks like my turbos are not in good condition, The edges of the blades dont sit flush, with 80,000km on the clock they shouldnt be so worn. Anyone else experience the same issues??

No answers
LYAL

LYALasked

CX-5 KE.I (2012-2014)

What engine numbers were produced in what year for the cx5 2.2 diesel?

No answers
Carolyn

Carolynasked

CX-5 KE.I (2012-2014)

How do I find the model number?

1 answer
Kate
Kate

It was the only option for the year I purchased so it has to be correct I assume. In the manual I would say though. Or inside the door on the vin plate

Get an answer from our members and Mazda representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.