??!
3 photos
Telstra Gateway Max

Telstra Gateway Max

3.9 from 35 reviews

See the Best Routers in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
13
4 star
10
3 star
9
2 star
2
1 star
1

Maharshian

MaharshianAdelaide

  • 8 reviews

Best router i have used until the day.

published

I have now been using this router for around 3 weeks and it is serving the purpose nicely. The interface for use is very easy and the number of ports are enough for the use for lan of 2 devices. Also, the range of this router is pretty good. Also, the setup is very easy and so anyone can do it.

Date PurchasedOct 2018

Sue

SueSydney

  • 4 reviews

Strongly recommend and is great and reliable!

published

I got this modem with my Telstra subscription and it is the best modem that I ever owned. The set up was a breeze as the modem came pre-configured and all I had to do is turn it on and connect. The connection is stable and it never drops out. My old modem use to drop out at regular intervals. The bonus is the mo is NBN ready.

Date PurchasedMay 2018

Made in Vietnam !!!

published

This modem was installed 16 months ago with the NBN package to my home. Thought i would get more out of it before breaking down.
The brand new one lasted four hours before i had to get Telstra tech`s involved in why it kept going off line, not a happy camper.
Gerry

Date PurchasedMar 2016
M H

M H

  • 2 reviews

Never have any problems

published

The model Gateway max is so efficient, never have any issues. Would recommend this product very highly, has good range and fast and reliable. We have had it for over a year now and everything seems to run smoothly, never lets anything interfere with the internal workings. Telstra modems are good.

Date PurchasedJun 2017

Soppro

SopproMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 10 likes

Pretty good - decent range and speed

published

I've had this for almost 2 years now, and I am quite pleased to say that it was definitely an upgrade over my previous Telstra gateway, providing much better range and speed, especially since it's dual-band now. It was definitely not worth the price, about $300 when released, and you'd be better off negotiating with the Telstra staff if you've had their service for a while. It is also a lot more reliable, however, it still may suffer a very occasional hiccup which then requires a restart. Other than that I don't think I can complain much about it at all.

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Jack Daniels

Jack DanielsMelbourne

  • 4 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Average - WIFI does drop out at the extreme end of the house

published

This modem came, as part of my bigpond cable package. Modem works fine, except there are some drop outs at the very extreme end of the house - this appears to be inconsistent - not sure what the issue is because if I move 2 meters closer to the modem all is okay and it reconnects immediately. Fast consistent speeds all throughout the rest of the house, barring this extremity. I wouldn't go out and buy this modem if I had the choice, based on the dropout performance.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

Abe G

Abe GHurstville

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rubbish router

published

Got this router from telstra as a part of the NBN deal, absolutely rubbish. Randomly drops out for no apparent reason and telstra blames my computer (which was doing fine on ADSL) then blames on the network cables. Don't know if its the modem or the company but stay away!

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Andrew B

Andrew B

  • 4 reviews

Very good WiFi signal in both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz bands.

published

This modem / wifi router does the job very well, however the gateway interface isn't that great and starts to slow down and needs to be rebooted if you access it a lot. The wifi works fine, great speeds and great coverage in both the 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz bands. Device is a little bulky so doesn't look good.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Prav

Prav

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Best value NBN FTTN modem

published

Very cheap and solid performing modem router device for nbn FTTN. I bought mine from Gumtree for $20.Can also be used as a modem only (i.e bridged mode) with other routers. Wireless performance is good too - have 4 devices connected without dropping. Good for a backup device for testing.

Date PurchasedJun 2017
Glen T.

Glen T.Sydney

  • 6 reviews

Required upgrade via warranty replacement

published

Had this modem for about 1 and a half years. It occasionally switched off or reseted itself without any notice. I did not realise that it was faulty all this time so I followed up with Telstra later down the line and the technician who visited suggested that I get a replacement because occasionally modems distributed may be faulty, as they are mass produced and randomly selected then tested.

Date PurchasedJan 2016

Lachlan S.

Lachlan S.Wyong

  • 4 reviews

Average product, average price, average satisifaction

published

You get what you pay for. Which is not exactly a bad thing when it comes to the Telstra Gateway Max. It gets the job done at a mostly reliable rate at a very acceptable price. Sometimes it has its issues, but on the whole it isn't a bad modem. It's good at the limited things it does.

7/10.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

Chuyang Hu

Chuyang HuWollongong

  • 2 reviews

The router is fine for Telstra network, but almost useless for other ISP

published

The functions are strictly restricted to Telstra, when use it for other ISP, most powerful function, like DECT phone, are not operational. However, for Telstra, this router is totally powerful, most functions are configured automatically. The wireless signal can fully cover my town house, include the small garden, also part of the garage.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016

Roxy

Roxy

  • 5 reviews

Very good

published

This is easy to set up and although I had a couple of issues, everything seems to be resolved now and I can't imagine my life without it! NBN would be great but it doesn't seem as though my area has got that installed yet but no worries we can just live with how slow it is.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Kate

KateAdelaide

  • 4 reviews

The modem is good, but not state of the art

published

This modem is good, but it is not the best out there. It works fine but has poor range. We live in an old house with thick walls and it requires an extender for a short distance. It came with our Telstra contract and has not failed or required a service yet. It is easy to use and set up for someone who knows modems.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
battunga

battunga

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Works fine

published

I bought this from an advert on Gumtree, it was in as new condition. Simple to install, has 4 Ethernet ports and dual band wireless. Occasional dropouts, maybe due to being in a rural area, but that does not happen often. A very good, reliable modem. Can take a little over a minute to start (I turn it off at night), but they all take a while to boot up.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
bearman

bearmanLake Macquarie

  • 12 reviews

Almost perfect

published

upgrade to NBN July 2017 had to get this as new router due to old one not compliant.
Easy hook up and good signal strength throughout house
Takes a long time to reboot if NBN signal is lost,(go make a cup of coffee)
Usually have up to 5 people accessing at one time and no noticeable problems
stands upright, looks like part of the furniture

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Calen

CalenQld, 4131

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great router

published

Recieved as part of my previous internet connection is a very good router and i cant fault the performance never had an issue with it and would highly recommend it to anyone seeking a reliable modem that wont let u down u wont be disappointed with this product ever also delivers fantastic speeds

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Caz

Caz

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Not the best modem out there

published

This modem takes a while to restart when it drops out - which with Telstra NBN is regularly. Not impressed at all.
The set up is simple enough, but keeping all lights green is tricky and when it’s out it’s out completely. Think a stronger modem would provide a more robust experience.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Emma Welsh

Emma WelshCairns

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent modem

published

So simple to set up and super fast. Never drops out or has any problems and I always have at least four devices connected to it. Good range in a large house. Definitely my favourite modem I've ever used, would definitely buy again and I recommend it to everyone I know.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Gabe P.B.

Gabe P.B.Sydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent speeds, but reliability is sloppy from time to time

published

Using the Netgear cable version (C6300) - it's a bit pricy for what it is, but it's a worthy upgrade for an ageing modem router. Having upgraded to the Speed Boost pack, this is a great companion to fully take advantage of it - I get consistent 100mbps download to AC devices. That said, every once in a while, Telstra will push a dodgy firmware update to them automatically, and reliability goes downhill until the next update is provided, meaning you'll have to reboot time and again to ensure continuous access, which is incredibly annoying. That said, when it works, it works spectacularly.

Date PurchasedJun 2015

Page 1 of 2

See all Telstra Gateway Max reviews

Questions & Answers

Max

Maxasked

How to set up Guest WiFi?

No answers

Mark

Markasked

Can I plug in my Telstra cable into this modem to connect to the internet in place of my current Netgear modem, originally supplied by Telstra 2 years ago? If so, is it a better wireless station than the original Netgear unit?

2 answers
Derek
Derek

The cable should work fine - I would say for a 2 year old unit there wouldn't be too much difference in performance. Relative to older models though, there would be a noticeable improvement. Hope that helps!

Victor
Victor

The New Modem is for NBN Connections. Probably wont work unless you are Connected to the NBN. If you are Connected to the NBN Already your Netgear modem Probably would not work.


Get an answer from our members and Telstra representatives

Details

CategoryRouters and Modems
Price (RRP) $216.00
Frequency BandDual-Band (2.4GHz, 5.0GHz)
Wi-Fi Standard802.11 ac and 802.11 n
DSL SupportADSL, ADSL2+, VDSL and VDSL2
Number of USB 2.0 Ports2
Weight550 kg
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Replaced byTelstra Smart Modem Gen 2
Compare all Telstra Gateway Max

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.