??!
3 photos
Volkswagen Golf Mk.5

Volkswagen Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

3.6 from 60 reviews

Reviews

3.6

60 reviews
5
(29)
4
(9)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(13)
  • Build Quality
    3.8 (4)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (4)
  • Noise Level
    3.7 (3)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (4)
  • Handling
    4.5 (4)
  • Braking
    4.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.8 (4)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (4)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.5 (4)
  • Interior Design
    5.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    4.8 (4)
  • Features
    4.8 (4)
  • Comfort
    4.8 (4)
Previous
Next
Lina F.

Lina F.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Extremely Disappointed!

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionContinuously Variable (CVT)
BoughtNew
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers

Economic and powerful

published

Ive used this 2007 tdi Sportline manual model for 4 years now, and I do 60K kms per year.
Apart from the normal wear and tear, its been a rock.
Only use premium fuels in VWs as I believe the hi spec engines need it.
The now outdated CD navi system packed it in a couple of years ago, but big deal.
Quality of interior is in a class on its own compared to its japanese/ korean competitors.
And I live only 300 meters from the beach, and no sign of any rust.
Im buying another one......

Purchased in July 2016 for A$10,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2007
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Smith

Smith

  • 3 reviews

Love them, best car I have ever owned

published

I own the volkswagen golf r32 and it is an amazing car. I like that it came with leather seats as a standard accessory. My golf it spec'd up with sat nav, parking sensors, sun roof and Bluetooth. For me, I like the sound, performance and handling of this car. I'm not impressed with the newer golfs though.

Purchased in October 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
BoughtUsed
Year2008
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.5 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GemmaG

GemmaGSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 8 likes

The TSI 1.4litre manual Golf 2010 brought brand new - complete engine failure in Feb 2019

published

Purchased in June 2010 for A$38,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtNew
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
1 comment
GemmaG
GemmaG

Further to this: Under Australian consumer law any product, including vehicles are expected to last the reasonable life time for that type of product.

Emz

EmzSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 8 likes

Love it little zippy r32

published

Always been skeptical of vws due to bad reviews from others. However I love my little hatch it's a powerful zippy bug, put your foot down and this thing roars! Keep the services up to date and up should have no issues. Dsg gearbox needs to be serviced every 60,000 kms which is a headache, but great car.

BodyHatch
BadgeR32
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size3.2
Date PurchasedSep 2018
Keiko Appleby

Keiko Appleby

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Most reliable car I ever owned

published

My husband bought me a MK5 Golf Hatchback (Pacific) for my birthday and I am absolutely pleased with this car being so reliable, tough, economical and good looking. I love the torque that she's got, DSG gearbox and the way she handles. I would keep this car as long as I can :) Thanks VW!!!

BodyHatch
Badge110TDI Highline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2012
Steven

Steven

  • 4 reviews

Amazing first car

published

Its a perfect car for a couple rather than a family the engine is very quiet compared to other cars and the windows and overall body are very soundproof and block out outside noise. The interior is very comfortable and the dashboard is easy to read. I dislike the manual winding that is required when adjusting the seat though.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Trendline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedSep 2016
Will

WillNewcastle

  • 7 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great Reliable Car.

published

Very reliable car. Haven't had to spend any money on it at all. Great safety features and uses no fuel at all. I would buy another one in a heart beat. Dream car. Drives very smooth and has enough power for all my needs. Quality built. Great car would recommend to anyone. You won't be disappointed.

BodyHatch
Badge103TDI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMay 2013
jlsta

jlstaMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Let down.

published
BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.6
Date PurchasedJul 2013
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.5 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
mumtoseven

mumtosevenvic, 3194

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

such a disappointment

published
BodyHatch
Badge118TSI
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedNov 2010
Wartai

WartaiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 10 likes

Never again will I buy a VW

published
BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedJun 2009

Let the buyer beware.

published

Had a 2007 vw golf 2.0fsi. Bought it 2015 Oct, won't change gear 3 weeks after. Had valve body changed, cost me $3500. 2 months after that, head lining fell. And then gear box had another problem... not a reliable car to buy.
I will not buy another VW golf again.

BodyHatch
BadgeComfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Asher0612

Asher0612Sydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

R32 Practicality with Character

published
BodyHatch
BadgeR32
TransmissionDSG
Keith d.

Keith d.AU

  • 13 reviews
  • 16 likes

Let the buyer beware.

published

Have always driven German cars. VW Beetle, Mercedes, Kombi and VW Golf diesel. This, my present TDI 2.0, has been a disappointment.
Yes, good fuel economy: 1000 km from the 55 ltr tank but considering present resale value of just $10.000 for my "as new" looking Golf with just
80.000 km on the clock, bought new for $38.000 . . . . . . That makes it a very expensive car to drive.
The serious issues of the DSG gearbox and the latest fuel scandal seriously impacted not just the Volkswagen brand but also the "Made in Germany" logo. My VW Golf was never actually made in Germany but assembled in South Africa.
We all lost: The owners, the dealers, the Company. World wide. Not just in Australia.

BodyHatch
Badge103TDI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0 ltr
Al G

Al GSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Pathetic Reliability

published
BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.5 compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SLC2283

SLC2283Hunter Region, NSW

  • 44 reviews
  • 17 likes

Nice features, great economy, very dodgy electrics

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TDI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size2L
justzed

justzedGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 13 likes

You know the test of a good car is also its customer service VW when things go wrong!

published
BodyHatch
will12

will12BRISBANE

  • 12 reviews
  • 13 likes

Don't think your buying quality

published

From the first week I had the car (bought new) the AC played up with the vents closing off after a short while driving, it was terrible in summer. I kept telling VW over & over what was going on but they kept telling me it can't happen.

I'm an electrician & told them many times it was a sensor playing up & again they said it cannot happen. I even showed them video evidence of the air vents closing internally & stopping any air getting to the cabin.THREE AND A HALF YEARS LATER I get a notice in the mail its a recall due to a sensor ! They fix the sensor,air cond then works and 2 months later the compressor blows up & I've got a $1700 repair bill.

NEVER again VW...NEVER !

BodyHatch
James

JamesDarwin, NT

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2005 Golf MKV tdi

published

Driven 100K and averaging 900-1000km per tank (5-6L/100km). Been extremely reliable, done all the servicing myself.

Known issues:
Exhaust Gas Recirculator and Intake Manifold got clogged up with soot. Common problem with the 2.0L tdi.
+ fuel economy with tourqe
- expensive dealership repairs

Engine Size2.0 tdi
TransmissionManual
BadgeTrendline
BodyHatch
pixie

pixieSydney

Anxiety

published
BodyHatch
Page 1 of 3
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

George

Georgeasked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

2007 got sport TDI VW golf 2ltre turbo.
What does it mean when engine light comes on, than coil light flashes and exhaust light comes on???
Also since then my turbo stopped working

No answers
tashah__

tashah__asked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

Hi guys have the chance to buy 2007 Volkswagen Golf Comfortline V Manual MY08 with 167 full service history etc, are they cars reliable and will be used 95% highway driving for work

5 answers
Pablo
Pablo

Check out when the next cam belt change is due to be changed. It will attract a $1,000+ expense. Make sure it doesn't have a bad accident history. I think they're generally OK and reasonably reliable for a commuter car but I'd be going Corolla/Civic instead as I think generally they're more reliable, have identical performance and economy and will be easier on the wallet.

Mr_coz1
Mr_coz1

I'd go for a Japanese car

pomhall
pomhall

My Golf has been very reliable and is at 150K KMS. I did have the cam belt changed not sure on cost, services are reasonable outside of VW garages. The smaller engine golfs are great in a straight line and motorway driving does suits them. The Golf will feel far safer as the build quality is far superior to other cars in its class. Also once you have it I would look for a mechanic familiar with VW who is reasonable.

Francis N.

Francis N.asked

Golf Mk.5 (2004-2010)

Hello chaps, I'm looking into buying a golf MK5 2005-2008 and wondering which petrol engine is the best of them all(apart from the GTI line, as I don't have the finances to match it up). And please get me a heads up on the problems I'm bout to face and ways I can "maybe" avoid them. Thanks Alot!

Pss:I'm not contemplating btn it and any other type/brand for that matter. I'm all in golf. Just not sure of the best engine to go with.

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.