??!
3 photos
Volkswagen Golf Mk.6

Volkswagen Golf Mk.6 (2010-2012)

3.3 from 58 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.6 (14)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (14)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (13)
  • Braking
    4.4 (14)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (14)
  • Gear Shifting
    3.9 (14)
  • Suspension
    4.0 (14)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.6 (14)
  • Handling
    4.4 (14)
  • Interior Design
    4.3 (13)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (13)
  • Comfort
    4.2 (13)
  • Features
    3.7 (13)
Previous
Next
Bill

BillMelbourne

  • 32 reviews
  • 20 likes

My TDI is a great little car.

published

Purchased in November 2019 for $14,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ocean

OceanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Great to drive but going wrong a lot and hard to repair yourself

published

Purchased in May 2018 for $10,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Johnny

JohnnyMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

The best all-rounder hatch on the market.

published

Purchased in March 2018 for $16,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Wagons

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.6 compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Super cute

published

Bought about a year ago and have had no issues! Love it so much and is sooo zippy and good on fuel. Best hatch on the market by far and would recommend to everyone

Purchased in April 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Vanessa

Vanessa

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant small car

published

Diesel engine goes forever. Easy to park and feels as safe as a tank. Great city or country drive. Has plenty of power over taking. Even survived kangaroo encounters on country roads. Brilliant car. 10/10

Purchased in February 2010 for $37,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Mike

MikeMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 24 likes

Poorly engineered to fail

published

Purchased in April 2012 at Brighton Volkswagen for $47,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Fiona R.

Fiona R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Run for the hills #lemon

published

Purchased in July 2017 at NZ for $15,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Sebling

SeblingSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

2010 TSI 118 was good until the engine failed, then a write off.

published

Purchased in October 2016 for $16,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Grant

Grant

  • 3 reviews
  • 16 likes

75000km and then take it to the junkyard

published

2011 model. Beautiful to drive.....reconditoned engine needed at 67000km ($6000). New water pump 74000km...($1200). Other random coolant leaks....a dog. Seems these problems are pretty common, read the other reviews! Was never driven hard. I'll never buy a VW again. Don't buy one of these second hand.

Purchased in January 2012.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Wagons

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.6 compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Emily R.

Emily R.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Owner and driver of 4 years~!

published

Have owned my mrk6 GTI for almost 4 years and done 110,000kms since buying, only major issues I've had owning it has been the water pump needed replacing @ 60,000kms (which is VERY common) and new coil packs @ 100,000kms (also common VW issue), other than that, its ran perfect! No gearbox issues, very reliable on fuel doing over 700kms to a 55L tank. Very quick daily, good to have power when you need it and don't get stuck in trouble getting out of places. Love my little red rocket to the moon and back!

Purchased in September 2015 for $28,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
pomhall

pomhallGold Coast

  • 10 reviews
  • 2 likes

But its not a Golf GTI, mine is....

published

Car has commuted, school run, family holiday, camping, you name it we have Golfed to it. The car is used daily and the DSG has not missed a beat in 11 years. The car I used daily and is fantastic to drive, quick when required, comfortable sporty I love this car. Serviced initially by VW then by EMW it continue to go past 150K KMS. Its starting to get an oil leak and other problems on a ball joint but what service she has given me.

Purchased in June 2008 at James Frizelle's Automotive Group for $50,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Henry McK

Henry McKSydney, NSW

Car turned into a lemon overnight

published

Purchased in August 2013 for $34,999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Henry McK
Henry McK

It seems this is a common problem for Golfs of that era. You would think that VW Australia would do the right thing and compensate buyers of this model for what is quite clearly not worthy of the VW brand.

Kevin Hu

Kevin HuGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Very unstable and problematic gearbox

published

We just use the car for a regular commuting to work and home. 8 years only 60K km. But the gearbox has been mulfunctioned for a few times. Recently got a very serious problem

Purchased in September 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Keith

KeithHunter Region, NSW

  • 16 reviews
  • 17 likes

MK6 GTi, the perfect little hatch

published

Purchased in April 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers

Terrible!

published

Had this car for 6 months and the gearbox started to shudder going between 1-2 gears. The dual clutch system was diagnosed to be faulty and was quoted 5k to fix!! Also blew a lot of oil from the turbo! Would never buy from Volkswagen again as they refused to fix either of the problems!

BodyHatch
Badge118TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Wagons

Find out how Volkswagen Golf Mk.6 compares to other Wagons

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DodgyD

DodgyD

  • 5 reviews
  • 7 likes

DSG mechatronic and clutch pack issues are real

published

VW have scandalously got away with sub standard quality on the transmission on these vehicles and the ACCC seem to be toothless in forcing them to stump up for repairs.

Our model had all the recall work done on it and yet the mechatronic still failed and cost me $4000 to repair. VW offered me a complementary service ~ $450...

Now there is the shuddering at pull-off from standstill. Don't know if this means the already replaced clutch packs (under recall) are gone again or not. VW want $187 to do a road test on it! That's customer service for you! NOT.

Why is Ford being slugged $10M yet VW getting away scott free? Go figure....

I think the key here seems to be get rid of a new VW before warranty expires.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Jim K

Jim KSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

mk6 gti perfect daily driver

published

great daily sports car thats not to thirsty and provides great fun for your dollar. I can average about 7.5L from daily commuting and can get over 600kms with a tank. This is great for a turbo 2L engine and the DSG transmission is a pleasure to use especially with the paddles.

BodyHatch
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Denis

DenisMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

good car but it does have its problems

published

Have had this car for a while now, and i can see why the dsg transmission is sucha problems for these.

Everything else is very good, ride quality, confort, space inside the car, petrol consumption anbd overall quality of trim.

The only problem is the DSG. taking of uphill and going at low speeds it is very stuttering and does not seem to know when to shift into 1st and 2nd gear. sometimes feels like it stalls the engine.
Also never leave it parked ona steep hill with not much fuel as you wilkl have problems starting the engine!

Other than the transmission, mechanically it is a very sound car. Perhaps get a manual instead or one after the dsg issue has been fixed.

BodyHatch
Badge90TSI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.2
Date PurchasedFeb 2015
Blanche R.

Blanche R.Perth

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Fun car to drive

published

No regrets purchasing the golf compared to some cheaper hatchback competitors. The interior has a well designed and quality finish - no cheap plastic dash or trimmings. Spacious as well - its seen a couple of camping trips, full of tents, a mattress, sleeping bags etc. Great handling around corners and very fun to drive in the city. Nicely grips the road.

BodyHatch
Badge110TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Orvis

OrvisSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Cracking good little car

published
BodyHatch
Badge103TDI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size2.0
Date PurchasedMar 2014
Page 1 of 3
See all Volkswagen Golf reviews

Questions & Answers

Metin

Metinasked

Golf Mk.6 (2010-2012)

Hi my golf 2011 tsi am having issues with remote not locking and unlocking doors have had it checked at a reputable key locksmith it is responding but still won’t allow for open and close of doors and also the radio doesn’t have any signal could the both be connected problem?
Please help

2 answers
Fired Up
Fired Up

Contact VW

Mr. Fix it
Mr. Fix it

I have a 2016 TDI and from the day I took delivery, it has told me 100 times to change the battery key. I check the battery, even put a new one in, and guess what? Still the same. Most times my key will unlock the car when I grab the door handle but often not, so I use the unlock button on the key case. This key has just died completely and VW want $620 for a new one, yes it's true !!

Metin

Metinasked

Golf Mk.6 (2010-2012)

I have a 2011 tsi 1.4 and when i get to 3000 - 4000rpm it gets stuck and no exceleration till i back off and try excelerate again 7 speed dsg what could be causing this a sensor or is the transmission on its way?Appreciate you’re feedback

1 answer
Metin
Metin

I can’t read the answer to my question how do I get into the information to read it? Please help

Abe

Abeasked

Golf Mk.6 (2010-2012)

Have golf 118 tsi ( the s and I are red in colour). There is oil coming into air intake pipe which then drips under the air filter. Have to top it up all the time. My model is 2010. The gear box shudders all the time on take off. However, it suddenly lost power on the Hume Highway when I was travelling at 110 km. Nearly got rammed at the back. Only has 103 000 km on it. What could it be?

5 answers
Jadzia
Jadzia

Sorry never had an issue like this so I would contact the manufacturer :)

Abe
Abe

Lucky you. Did some searching and found heaps of other people with engine and gearbox problems in this model. Recalls in most countries. Looks like the consumer protection and government have been asleep at the wheel. My most scary experience was the sudden loss of power on the highway.

Johna52
Johna52

Also owned a Mk 6 golf. Engines in that era were renowned for burning a reasonable amount oil, mine about 1 litre per 5000kms; VW has stated that this isn't problematic. Leaking oil is another issue that needs expert advice. Is it a manual? If so, the shudder at take off is symptomatic of a warped clutch plate, which is not uncommon at the km's yours has done and all clutches do have a limited lifespan. No cheap fix, may need a new clutch. The loss of power is concerning and sounds like the car has gone into limp mode due to a detected failure of some system. All these issues warrant a return to the dealer for testing.

Get an answer from our members

Details

Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf
CategoryCars, Wagons and Hatchbacks
Release dateJan 2010
Discontinuation dateDec 2012
Compare all 21 Volkswagen Golf

Other Wagons

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.