??!
3 photos
Volkswagen Polo MK5.I 6R

Volkswagen Polo MK5.I 6R (2010-2014)

3.1 from 31 reviews

Reviews

(11)
(3)
(3)
(6)
(8)
  • Build Quality
    2.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (1)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.0 (1)
  • Noise Level
    5.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.0 (1)
  • Handling
    5.0 (1)
  • Braking
    5.0 (1)
  • Suspension
    5.0 (1)
  • Gear Shifting
    1.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    5.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    4.0 (1)
  • Features
    3.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (1)
RMF

RMFSouth East Queensland, QLD

VW Polo cosmetically great, mechanically poor.

published
Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT)
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
ConsumerOz

ConsumerOz

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great car

published

Brilliant little go-cart.
Perfect for running around town but also super comfortable for long trips. Easiest thing to park. Great "go". Lots of fun. Responsive steering. Nothing went wrong mechanically in 6 years after which we updated to new model.
Loads of space. Huge boot - couldn't believe how much we could get in the boot. Deceptive in size. Lots of leg-room for a little car. Quality finish inside and out. I have no idea why people buy toyotas or mazdas at the same price when they now have such cheap finishes and are less practical.
Reliability +++++

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2012
ethan

ethan

  • 4 reviews

Great fun but sensible car!

published
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4 Turbocharged & Supercharged
Doors5
Date PurchasedAug 2018
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo MK5.I 6R compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jess

JessMelbourne

  • 5 reviews
  • 8 likes

Great little fast car

published

Great to drive and very low cost to run. This fantastic car is the best I’ve bought so far. The service VW offer is very good too. Although they are expensive you get warranty on al their work. I bought the car second hand but it’s in great condition and drives well

BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
Date PurchasedNov 2017
jme

jme

  • 4 reviews

little car that is a pleasure to drive

published

although it may look small on the outside, the inside is quite spacious for a person that is 6ft. it is really good on petrol, only 6L/100km which saves me alot of money in the long run. it handles really well in all conditions, even off road. the inside is very luxurious and feels alot more expensiv than it really is. the speaker system works better than most other cars i have been in.

Badge81TSI Comfortline
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Date PurchasedMay 2010
Kimt

KimtGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 7 reviews

2011 VW Polo 1.6tdi nightmare

published
Badge66TDI Comfortline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.6L Turbo-Diesel
Doors5
Date PurchasedJan 2015
Mia U.

Mia U.

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Love it!

published

Bought this second hand car a year ago and its still drives like a dream! It's a 2012 VW Polo TDI with the sports package and comfort package with panoramic sunroof. People mistake it as a Golf all the time... AND YES DIESEL! It has not failed me at all, even after the emission recall. Its zippy, practical and comfortable for city driving. Cannot fit five adults though - very crammed! Other than that, I am going to be keeping the car for a long while :)

Badge66TDI Comfortline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.6L Turbo-Diesel
Doors5
Date PurchasedSep 2016
RobinHood2349

RobinHood2349Sydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 9 likes

SAVE your Money Buy a Toyota or a Mazda

published
BadgeTrendline
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
Doors3
Date PurchasedJun 2010
Benn25

Benn25Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 22 reviews

Not The Best

published
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionDSG
Badge77TSI Comfortline
Doors5
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo MK5.I 6R compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Floater

FloaterAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Try not to speed.

published
BadgeGTI
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Rango1

Rango1Perth

  • 15 reviews
  • 10 likes

2012 VW Polo 1.4 manual trendline 5dr

published
BadgeTrendline
TransmissionManual
Engine Size1.4L Petrol
Doors5
Bwatir

BwatirSydney, Australia

Dissatisfied POLO

published
Tan

TanVictoria, Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 25 likes

Warning!! Please do not buy this car!!!

published
TransmissionDSG
Badge77TSI Comfortline
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
MissyR

MissyRMelbourne

Love my little red polo

published

My car is the 12.5 model and I've never had any of the issues people are talking about. Done 80000 kms. I think vw must have fixed the DSG problems in the older models because my car has never skipped a beat and I've done a lot of kms. only thing I can say is I guess all cars have the odd lemon, mine is great! Very happy! There will always be negative reviews online, time to even up the odds.

TransmissionDSG

Great quality economical run about.

published
TransmissionDSG
Badge77TSI Comfortline
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
Doors5
Hatchbacks

Find out how Volkswagen Polo MK5.I 6R compares to other Hatchbacks

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Happy Customer

Happy CustomerSydney

  • 2 reviews

Best car to date

published

Have had my VW POLO 1.2 tsi comfortline for 20 months and 31,000 km and the car has not a single problem to date - even after a minor collision - resulting in a small dent in the bonnet - there are no rattles or squeaks. The car does not use any extra oil - other than the regular oil changes. There are enough VW dealers not to worry about servicing. I feel sorry about the relatively few people who have had bad experiences but looking at the number of VW cars on Sydney roads there are many many happy VW owners.
Seats comfort styling economy power engine sound handing

Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionDSG
Badge77TSI Comfortline
Doors5

Volkswagen 77 Tsi with a lemon #2

published
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionDSG
Badge77TSI Comfortline
Doors5

Worst car I've owned

published
Badge66TDI Comfortline
Doors5
TransmissionDSG
Engine Size1.6L Turbo-Diesel
2 comments
hillbilly
hillbilly

Hello, which model of car is this one?

monnnnn
monnnnn

it was the 2010 tdi model

Dna

DnaBrisbane

Polo 77TSI

published
Engine Size1.2L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionDSG
Badge77TSI Comfortline
Doors5
rob77

rob77Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Quick and zippy, but at what cost?

published

We wanted a brand new little performance hatch so decided on the gti polo, what a little weapon, but a few months in, oil consumption was terrible, it goes back to the dealer roughly once every two months. now the air-con stooped working, cruise control plays up, and indicators are playing up as well.
Can't afford to sell as it is under finance but if things keep going wrong maybe we will have to.
Thinking about the pulsar SSS on 0.9% to cover some costs.
Quick, good looks
Oil consumption, constantly having minor irritating problems,

Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionDSG
BadgeGTI
Page 1 of 2
See all Volkswagen Polo reviews

Questions & Answers

Vern

Vernasked

Polo MK5.I 6R (2010-2014)

2010 polo
Had problems with dash cluster not working and wouldn’t start ,
Checked the fuses and started working again,
Now clock and fuel gauge not updating.
What could be the issue?

No answers
Lindz

Lindzasked

Polo MK5.I 6R (2010-2014)

Hi, I'm looking at a 2013 polo gti
It has 143,000 on the clock should that matter? services are all up to date With history

4 answers
ChrisD
ChrisD

The best thing to do is to take it into a workshop for a pre-purchase inspection; most mechanics or workshops can do these. They will be able to get a good idea on the engine's health and the overall car. It has saved me from buying the wrong car a few times (Even cars I thought were perfect). Kms are a good gauge on the health of the car, but if it's been modified or driven very hard it can wear an engine out a lot quicker, especially with turbo charged cars.

Hope that helps :)

Lindz
Lindz

Thanks for your reply!
how do I go about asking the selling about getting one of these done before buying it?

ChrisD
ChrisD

No problem!

The easiest way is to get in contact with a mechanic in your area that does pre-purchase inspections and check availability. Then ask if the seller would be able to drop the car in for a pre-purchase inspection at a time that suits them. Then you can pay the workshop direct. I've even had sellers let me take it down to a workshop myself when they didn't have time. I did leave them with a deposit and my details though. If the seller is confident in their car, they shouldn't have any issue with you wanting to get it checked out :)

Get an answer from our members and Volkswagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.