?
? !
1 photo
Holden Astra AH

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

3.4 from 99 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.2 (5)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (4)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (5)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (5)
  • Braking
    4.6 (5)
  • Acceleration / Power
    3.8 (5)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.3 (4)
  • Suspension
    4.2 (5)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.4 (5)
  • Handling
    4.8 (4)
  • Interior Design
    4.0 (4)
  • Boot Size
    3.6 (5)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (5)
  • Features
    3.2 (5)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Pandie

PandieCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

2009 Hatch

published

German design makes for lovely traction and handling.
Seems to be lacking some features my old 2006 Commodore had, although I haven't thoroughly searched through the manual properly:
No option for digital speed readout.
No switch for automatic headlights.
No sunglasses holder.
No Bluetooth in factory sound system.
Only one cupholder (although it will accommodate a wider cup that wouldn't fit in the Commodore's holder.
Otherwise, I'm happy.

Purchased in September 2020 for $3,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
BERnAced7

BERnAced7Perth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Top Car to roll tight in!

published

Purchased car @ Ventura Autos in Welshpool Western Australia.. James the owner is professional, accommodating and goes beyond expectation of service. Bought a CDX Astra 2006 and it's valued for the price!

Purchased in August 2019 at Ventura Autos for $2,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Byron N.

Byron N.Western Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrible car, noisy and unreliable

published

Purchased in May 2009 at Hyundai Dealers for $21,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Darion

DarionGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great little car...solid build

published
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2005 at Barloworld.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
perry

perryNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

family car

published

serviced twice a year used for visiting relatives around the state excellent on fuel economy sum long like to sydney or larger regoinal citys liks dubbo or mudgee shopping trips to larger towns mostly over an hour away or doctors appoinments eye or heart specialist, vacation driving to the coast

BodyWagon
BadgeCDXi
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nico

Nico

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Seriously disappointed

published
BodyHatch
BadgeSRi
Engine Size2.2L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Troy

TroySydney, NSW

A car from Germany with excellent design and engineering and SH$% Build quality!

published
BodyWagon
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
xtowen

xtowenwollongong

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

wonderful fora little car

published

this car is just enough for myself , small but is put down the back seat the room is big enough for any loading. I service the car once a year but never have problem , i can not believe this car allready been 11 years. never have any big issues,

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2013
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sam ADAM

Sam ADAMNowra

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

DON'T BUY THIS TRASH

published

Bought this car in 2014 for $7000 however, I had to spend another $4000 repairs
The car shakes/judders when driving at 60km or higher. The sports button makes the car undrivable. Another typical European Holden, nothing but problems.

Avoid at all costs especially L and P platers as we don't have that much money to spend.

BodyHatch
BadgeCDTI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2014
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cee

CeeAdelaide

Better now Holden dont touch it

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2009
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stacey J

Stacey JAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Favourite car!

published

My car got written off and I bought a second hand Holden Astra and have never looked back! It feels so good to drive it’s so smooth, not too big on the outside but spacious five seater on the inside and best of all it’s very cheap on fuel! It’s honestly the best car I have ever owned!

BodyHatch
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Crap car

published

Worst car ive ever owned. I cant believe there are reviews stating astras are great little cars far from it. I got the wagon 2006 model for 6grand. The horn stoped working after the first week. Then only 1 year later replaced the brake pads but there aas a major problems so from a $300 job it turned into $1000. And just only after that the coil pack went and the parts for the astra wagon are so expensive seriously guys this is the worst type of car and now i have a new problem and j dont know what has happened for ages it keeps cutting out after i try to turn it on and its not the starter motor or the alternator

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Abe

AbeAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Great reliable car

published

We bought this car when it was 10 years old. It has done 160,000km and has proven to be very reliable with no major issues so far. It is quite cheap to run for city trips, however on long highway trips it could really have done with having an extra gear, at 110 it's pushing close to 3000rpm. Overall it is a good car that we plan to keep for a while, I'd highly recommend them.

BodyWagon
Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best of 10 cars I ever owned

published

Amazing handling like a sports car -solid build throughout- pretty reliable over 10 years - large boot space -perfect dimension vehicle and perfect size for parking - good road-holding dynamics -running costs fair- easily accessible engine- had to replace electric window control, boot lid struts and plastic coolant bottle in engine after nine years.

BodyWagon
BadgeCDX
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJune 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Naomi

NaomiSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Great car

published

Car is great
Reliable...zippy...good fuel economy
After time the interior door panels came loose.
The colour and exterior has withstood the elements well.
Strangely the clutch and brake pedals feel incredibly close together and I would prefer it had some cup holders. But generally a gregreat car. Although a manual car in the city can be tough going in the traffic.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.9L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2007
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Convertibles

Find out how Holden Astra AH compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
emma.w

emma.wMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Reliable, zippy and attractive model

published
BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Sandra

SandraDalwallinu

Best little car I have ever driven.

published

Bought our Astra2005 new . Best little car ever. Handles like a dream seems to hug the road . Best fuel consumption I have ever had. Only issue is the paint work is now getting sunburnt and patchy

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Ok car

published

Bought second hand 2009 model in 2012 done 57,000K

Run like dream until 2016 at 100,000K. I am a light user

Last year, It has timing belt replace in Jun, air conditioner replace in November. I feel costly then

Other than that it is just fine , I have tyres replaced, always stick to service plan.

So far so good. hope there won't be any major job in the near future.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSept 2012
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Hobart

HobartHobart

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Coil pack misfire

published

Bought it in early 2011 in Pickle Aution OD: 41000km, running very well for small car, happy with the fuel consumption. full tank 42-45L can run 520 - 560km.

2015 found it engine misfire, change the coil pack at Motors, cost around $600 and fixed problem.

2016 replace new battery.

Will keep this car till new born baby arrive, thinking to upgrade to SUV or bigger family car.

BodyHatch
BadgeCD
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2011
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Nitro

NitroMelbourne

  • 18 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great car and hard to find any comparative with half the options..

published

CDX Coupe! great looking car 2006 even now still looks modern and drives like new.

Many features even in high end luxury cars don't match. eg. both front seats are fully adjustable for high AND tilt!

No issues at all.

Great car and no issues. would be perfect if rear suspension was independent and had a toe adjustment but for the price and at the time it was the best.

BodyCoupe
BadgeCDX
Engine Size1.8L Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2006
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 5
See all Holden Astra reviews

Questions & Answers

Arch H.

Arch H.asked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

Cooling fans come on when engine is cold and key is turned on without starting car.

No answers
Measan

Measanasked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

My battery died in my remote(I replaced it) so I had to open the manually with the key that works fine but when I insert my key into the ignition my car alarm starts going off and my key won’t turn to start the car

No answers
Wayne

Wayneasked

Astra AH (2004-2009)

Got a new switch as it seemed the old one would not work after I checked it makes a very slight noise with new switch I dont know if the little electric engine in the latch might be faulty

No answers
See all Holden Astra AH (2004-2009) questions

Get an answer from our members

Holden Astra AH (2004-2009)

Details

Compare all 17 Holden Astra
CategoryCars, Convertibles and Hatchbacks
Starting Price $24,290
TransmissionAutomatic and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypeDiesel and Petrol
Wheels16" Steel
ANCAP Safety Rating4 Stars
Fuel Consumption7.8 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 52 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.8L
Max Power103kW @ 6300rpm
Max Torque170Nm @ 3800rpm
Country of ManufactureBelgium
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)
Release dateJan 2004
Discontinuation dateDec 2009
Replaced byHolden Astra PJ
Compare all 17 Holden Astra

Other Convertibles

Previous
Mazda MX-5

Mazda MX-5

4.3
(37)
BMW M3

BMW M3

4.7
(15)
Audi TT

Audi TT

4.3
(14)
Next

See all Convertibles

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.