1 photo
The Good Guys Kitchens

The Good Guys Kitchens Questions & Answers

3.2 from 542 reviews · View Statistics
Brand Manager for The Good Guys Kitchens? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

19 questions from our users

Anna M
Anna Masked

Has anyone had dealings with Good Guys Frankston when having their kitchens done???

2 answers
Useful idiot
Useful idiot

While I could elaborate I won't, it would take to long. Don,t go near them. It,s all there in the reviews.

Anna M
Anna M

Thank you...I ended up cancelling them

Tania M
Tania Masked

The good guys Fyshwick, ACT
Has anyone in Canberra bought a kitchen from the good guys in Canberra?

3 answers
Andrew
Andrew

I purchased mine from the Good Guys in Newcastle and it was supplied by the Kitchen Group in Sydney. (they also do Freedom Kitchens). Even though you are in Canberra, there may be a very good chance that your kitchen will be supplied by the Kitchen Group out of Sydney, Be Careful.

Sam777
Sam777

No matter where you live expect bad service and a poor quality kitchen with the Good Guys! Fair trading are keeping an eye on them and just need a few more people to come forward before anything can be officially done about them. I wouldn't waste your hard earned money on this company!!

Lyn
Lyn

Agree

WondaWendy
WondaWendyasked

There really are some big disparities between reviews for this company. I think it would be helpful for people leaving comments to mention the suburb they live in or the store they used as there may be a trend evident of where you might end up being able to count on good service and appropriately skilled people. Just a thought as I am very tempted - I live closest to the Capalaba store so if anyone has feedback on that, I would appreciate it.

6 answers
Not Happy
Not Happy

It does not matter which store you go through because the company is a separate entity - Courtsean Pty Ltd trading as The Good Guys Kitchens.- all the kitchens are managed by their Somersby NSW store. What I can tell you is that they take your money upfront and if anything goes wrong they don't take any responsibility to get it right. One of our benches was measured incorrectly and I have had to chase the Somersby office for a replacement. They do not call you to advise you of when it will be ready, the Customer Services Manager speaks to you in a moronic and robotic way and just keeps telling you that they cannot guarantee your delivery in a speedy manner. What should have taken a week has now become a month without a functioning kitchen. They promise to organise an installer, they do, but when things go wrong they basically don't care. I have had to take over the project management of my kitchen - the plumbers refused to bring the fridge inside the house - it was the The Good Guys Store/Thomastown Vic who came to my rescue and organised for their delivery drivers to do so. I cannot speak highly enough of the sales staff at the The Good Guys store. The Kitchen Group people do not offer any compensation for your stress, your time to follow up with them or your time to organise the plumbers, tilers etc. THEY HAVE THEIR MONEY!!

jota
jota

Ours was done through the Caboolture store Queensland. We have a faulty bench top and they are trying to blame us and every time I come back they change it to another reason why its us. Still fighting but its very frustrating. Wish we'd never gone near them.

Narelle
Narelle

Same for us; nothing to do with our local store who are fantastic and very helpful. Had to continually deal with the seperate kitchen entity over the phone; no showroom or office that you can have a face to face meeting. The only way to do that is to make an appointment and wait for a consultant visit. Always had to leave a message three or four times before we received a response. Didn't want to get angry with the lady who answered the phone; she was just doing her job; but in the end she was the one that coped our angry rant. Best way to get a reasonably quick response is to send your email to the management via their message system. Do not use this company! Started off great, consultant was lovely, then that was it. The design was wrong; luckily we thoroughly checked the measurements before the kitchen was ordered. Installation was supposed to take one week; ended up being 4 months. Intaller wasn't competent and he was doing it on his own even though we have a fairly large kitchen. Cost us over $25000 and we had to arrange and pay extra to finish the bulkhead. Now several of the soft close drawers are already broken; only 1 year old. Trying to get those replaced now but clearly they are poor quality.

tA79
tA79asked

Has anyone been successful in getting their deposit back? We initially put $800 down about a year for a full kitchen reno. Unfortunately, we ended moving house. Not wanting to lose the deposit, we called TGG back to install a bar at our new place. Added another $1000 deposit.

We didn't want all the bells & whistles for a bar. Thus, we've asked for 5 x 600mm cabinets only (no benchtops, no installation.. just the cabinetry). It's still going to cost us $3.5K!!!!

3 answers
KJ.
KJ.

.

Deb B
Deb B

You can get your deposit back but it takes some work. We downloded the template of a complaint letter from the ACCC and sent it to ManagementHelp@kitchengroup.com.au stating we expected response within a given time frame and it worked. Best advice is to document all communications so that you can note in in the letter.

Hope you managed to get your money back.

Grakat
Grakat

Clause 3c in your contract is also your friend. Read it as it is an escape option as well.

Julie
Julieasked

How can I get my kitchen fixed and bathroom cabinets? I've left messages and phoned so many times, and on the off chance someone answers they can't tell me anything . It's always the same, I'll get back to you.

4 answers
Dean
Dean

Send a email to ManagementHelp@kitchengroup.com.au Hopefully someone will contact you

Nicole jones
Nicole jones

Go to their Facebook page. Their quick on there!! Furious at the way we have been treated .

Julie
Julie

I believe that there are to many hangovers to the next person. That is why information gets lost and one person thinks the other will do it Also I have found I was given false information, which at this point I'm looking into. As my kitchen is of very poor quality when I was lead to believe I was getting very strong material ,which is why I signed up.

Claire McVarnock
Claire McVarnockasked

Does anyone have an email address to cancel? We rang customer service to get email and either hubby wrote it down wrong or incorrect one was supplied... Thanks in advance!

2 answers
Deb B
Deb B

Hi Claire

We made comment about cancelling our contract on the customer portal that they register you on and want all communication to be logged on but rarely gets read by anyone at GGK. We also sent our letter based on the ACCC template to the email address below which resulted in a response from GGK.

ManagementHelp@kitchengroup.com.au

Good luck with it.

Deb

nrobinson@kitchengroup.com.au

nettie
nettieasked

I have just cancelled my contract with the Good Guys kitchens after paying $1300 deposit. I'm feeling nervous after reading all the bad reviews about getting my money back. Can anyone tell me if the received any of their deposit money back from them?

8 answers
chris
chris

I am not really answering your question....but I wish we had cancelled our deposit. It has cost us soooo much more than expected due to ALL the mistakes (our installer has today recognised/ acknowledged a major mistake , the bench top people and many of the trades have all said that it is not unusual to hear of problems with The Good Guys kitchens!). Cut your losses!

D J P
D J P

Yes I finally got my $7k back but only after nearly 6 months of heartache finally went with a private company who installed a custom built kitchen in 6 weeks and I also saved approx $2k and got lots of extras. I am thrilled with my new kitchen and very thankful that I dodged the good guys bullet. I dealt with the dfo store in Melbourne and highpoint city. Store personal were great. Sales consultant was excellent but it all ended there. Dealing with the company was dreadful.

D J P
D J P

Yes I finally got my $7k back but only after nearly 6 months of heartache finally went with a private company who installed a custom built kitchen in 6 weeks and I also saved approx $2k and got lots of extras. I am thrilled with my new kitchen and very thankful that I dodged the good guys bullet. I dealt with the dfo store in Melbourne and highpoint city. Store personal were great. Sales consultant was excellent but it all ended there. Dealing with the company was dreadful.

Reenie
Reenieasked

Hi, can you tell me about the cooling off period for the Goodguys Kitchens? I have just signed the contract and I am now feeling very nervous. Thanks!

7 answers
Sandy
Sandy

If you can get out do it don't make the same mistake I did . I thought going with the good guys was going to be a good thing , read the reviews get out even if you just lose your deposit, I put too much in before I could get out I had to go ahead with this crap, they don't help you its all an act , they only care about your money

Suki
Suki

Hi I think its 14 days. It should be on your paperwork

My experience has not been great. I think it would have been better if their contract took responsibility through to completion - it doesn't. Get your lawyer to check the contract if you are not sure (extreme? - not in this case, I wish I had), Their responsibility (in their view) stops at the first scheduled delivery whether that delivery is complete, damaged, incorrect, whatever. After that it is up to their contracted installer who is your employee not theirs. The ACCC and Consumer Affairs may have a different view, but hey, do you want to rely on going down that road? I think you will find some comments from me elsewhere.

belle amie
belle amieasked

After reading all the comments here I'm seriously having second thoughts. I have a design appt next week 11 April. Has any one used the good guys in chadstone Victoria to do their kitchens?

9 answers
Mark
Mark

It's not so much the in store kitchen staff that have been the problem; there isn't much that they actually do. For me it was more a problem of the lack of face to face time with in house designer, incorrect drawings and measurements, lack of communication, support, ect, ect. Ive seriously spoken up, and now everyone is doing their job, and not just palming it off to the Tech measure man ( installer) to fix all their mistakes.

belle amie
belle amie

Thanks Mark, I was also quite concerned about some of the time frames people have been reporting & lack of communication, quality etc.

Chris5221
Chris5221

Hi There
it does not matter which store you go too they are manufactured in the same manufacturing facility
you will receive the same incompetent unprofessional service no matter which store you use
you have been warned keep away from them
Regards

Ann-Marie Donnelly
Ann-Marie Donnellyasked

Just signed and given Credit card details for the 10 per cent deposit. Just hating the corner cupboard I was given. What's my chances of getting the deposit back?

6 answers
Klowe
Klowe

Not very good! We're in QLD and we have had nothing but issues with them and it's still going on 5 months later!

Deb B
Deb B

Egads...I am going into conflict resolution to get my deposit back as nothing has happened in 6 weeks! Hope we all get our $$ back!

Dolly Thapa
Dolly Thapa

Read my kitchen nightmare on product review you will see just what it was like dealing with good guys kitchen from Artamon. Horrible pressure to sign the contract. To get your deposit back fair trade and the tribunal is the only way to go. I got $700 back for my $1200 deposit for a dodgy kitchen plan. Good luck i hope you have more sucess than me.

Bonnie Boo
Bonnie Booasked

Has anyone used the Good Guys at Geelong?

4 answers
Anne M.
Anne M.

Hi, I have on several occasions - both for a kitchen and white goods - great service!

Hine. M
Hine. M

Hi Not that I know of.

SAB
SAB

Anne M you are a liar please go away this is a site to give honest feedback to potential customers. How do you sleep at night?

Col
Colasked

Has anyone used Good Guys Kitchen on the Gold Coast? What was your experiences?

5 answers
Patty
Patty

No l used Campbelltown NSW who were not interested in any concern .

Donna C
Donna C

Did you find out. I had them come out spent two hrs at my house then took the plans away still no plans and that was 4weeks ago???

FranForest
FranForest

Hi Col,
did you end up using good guys as I am considering using them. I live on the gold coast.

nelljay
nelljayasked

Has anyone had success cancelling the contracting and having their deposit returned by the Good Guys Kitchens?

1 answer
Grakat
Grakat

Clause 3c is your friend in their contract. This states that if you can't have something the way you want it the contract can be voided. No good if your old kitchen is already out, but prior to delivery is definitely useable.

Be quick as TGGG will no doubt close this loophole.

Blondie66
Blondie66asked

Has anyone had kitchen installed from Good Guys Frankston Vic?

3 answers
Tim
Tim

I am in sales, work with online portals and well accustomed to inconsistencies in logistics. I understand it is difficult to be perfect in all these areas. The "Good Guys" fail miserably in each and all of these areas. The Salespeople are good "at sales" the after sale service is contemptible. "The Online Portal" specialises in minimalist replies and are deliberately short on enquiries. They told outright lies regarding the price of The Stone Bench Tops, The Cabinets fell over during transit causing a long crack for which I can get no decision on. This is despite sending them videos of the toppled load. I did receive an email saying they would rectify the problem (They Haven't) ... I could go on but in short ... if I were you I would seek out a kitchen supply company where you deal with one person who will take responsibility during the process. "The Good Guys" absolve themselves of all and any responsibility once they have you signed up. I could go on but it is Friday afternoon and I have to work on my kitchen as I would like it finished before Xmas.

Fact
Fact

Ditto to all stated by Tim. Avoid the Good Guys AT ALL COST. Misleading from the get go - once they have your deposit you are in for a wild ride. I'm left anxious, frustrated, angry. They promise you the earth and, as soon as a challenge arises, they totally ignore you. They behave as though they are doing you a favour. Filled in their survey and they were 'appalled' that I would not recommend them!! Their newly appointed "Director of Customer Service" offered compensation but has now gone awol!!! Their 'communication' website is the absolute pits. Their 'installers' are as bad as they are. Six months on and I still have an unfinished kitchen and was told "as far as we are concerned we are done"!!! Really? My cabinet doors don't have handles on them, the cabinet doors are not aligned… STAY AWAY!

PS
PS

Dont go with bad guys kitchens - get out of it ! Go to Fair Trading...

Bluedogs
Bluedogsasked

Has anyone used the Good Guys in Canberra ?

2 answers
sparkesy
sparkesy

I am currently using Good Guys Campbelltown. Everyone has been great from the store staff, trades (so far) and the Installer. The problem is the production of our cupboards. They put a different colour on the edges of the panels and it is 4 weeks since our kitchen was installed. Since they are so busy we have been waiting for our panels to be reinstalled? We have had to cancel the installation of our stone bench top. We have been told they will come and replace our panels next week.

Lobster
Lobster

Just had a kitchen done through them in August 2016.
The dishwasher is broken after being bought through them and installed by their plumber, into their kitchen.
No responsibility is being taken. Some of the doors don't open properly in the cupboards. They didn't put the kick panels in to meet the edge of the existing flooring so we have a 2mm -5mm gap running around which is great at catching water and food.
Also the pull out cupboard that was installed ripped out of the floor and had to be fixed. But that was at least fixed very quickly.

The idea with going with the Good Guys was to get the kitchen and trades and appliances all done through the same place so there couldn't be any blame shifting if something needed to be fixed.

There was no checking done by anyone after it was "Finished" being installed.

Eloo
Elooasked

I have signed with Good Guys kitchen and paid 10% deposit. Everything withgood guys yse standards size. We can use custom made measurement with other company. So would like to termnate the contract with good guys. In the termination contract clause 13, it says will deduct $800 expenses. But area manager said we will lose the 10% deposit. Which one is right? Thanks

10 answers
Maureen Clarke
Maureen Clarke

that's impossible to say everything is standard
size as my kitchen was not standard size and I know for a fact it was made to fit my kitchen as it is rather small and I had to wait for it to be made. So stick with the good guys and you will be well looked after.

Eloo
Eloo

But if I still decide to terminate with Good Guys, what is the cancellation penalty policy and how much if you know. Thanks

Grakat
Grakat

Hi there

Clause 3C in your contract is your friend. Go through your design and find a way to get out of it using clause 3c, which covers fit for purpose.

DO NOT stay with the Good Guys. Go find a smaller kitchen makers and work with them. I'm now finishing my kitchen myself after 9 months!

micmichael
micmichaelasked

i have been considering using good guys for our kitchen renovation and based on the reviews on this site i will definitely go ahead to design stage. the question i have is on price ? how do they compare to other comparable big kitchen companies ? would knebel and harvey norman be comparable in price ?

13 answers
rod c
rod c

hi
don't know yet as they did not turn up . They have apologised and organised another time

Medula80
Medula80

I would seriously reconsider your choice of going with good guys.. We are still without a functioning kitchen after 4 months , Xmas ruined . Have to take them to court now!

Sara L
Sara L

Please Don't you will regret buying a Kitchen from the Good Guys.....I did the Designer uses very aggressive tactics, the Installer will do a terrible job, and the good Guys will refuse to fix the defects.....we have a hearing date at court, because they refuse to accept all the defects recognise by an expert report.

MAMAof3
MAMAof3asked

Since this is so wrong and misleading on their part has anyone taken it further ? went to consumer affairs ?

5 answers
rohansharma
rohansharma

To be honest - I personally didn't as I wasn't keen to take any action further - have just ignored the follow up calls.

angry customer
angry customer

yes I have and Im waiting to see what they have to say they took a deposit of $2002 off me and I want it back

Sara L
Sara L

Yes....Fair Trading first and now we have a hearing in court.....if you buy a kitchen from the Good Guys you will regret this.....the quality of the cupboards are shocking the Installation is the worst...the dividers between the cupboards are longer then the cupboards and make sure you look for holes left between cupboards and wall etc...they will not tell you about this.

Eastern Syder
Eastern Syderasked

This is an interesting thread about Good Guys Kitchen renovation. I'm just about to have a designer look at my kitchen and am feeling a little skeptical now. It's interesting the management from Good Guys said to email ManagementHelp@kitchen-net.com.au. Does it mean that Good Guys outsource the work to a different Kitchen renovator? Would it be better for me to go straight to Kitchen-net.com.au to cut the middleman cost? Would be interesting to hear from the Good guys.

10 answers
Sally6
Sally6

Hi,
the designer told us they outsource from sydney kitchens which is a good company and they charge a lot more.
the quality of the kitchen is good but be very careful with what they include for you, they use a lot of codes in the quote.
The service in the stage after the designer I found terrible. if you change anything afterwards (eg handles) even before they start construction they will charge you a huge admin fee. Also, their doors are not soft close unless you ask for it (it is only their drawers they use soft close) so get them to include it if thats what you prefer.
Good luck with it :)

Eastern Syder
Eastern Syder

Thanks Sally. That's very informative. It's comforting to know that the quality of the kitchen is good. That is very important. I will definitely be very careful speaking with the designer and making sure all the inclusions are clearly indicated. Cheers. I really need the good luck. Thanks for that.

angry customer
angry customer

my answer dont have anything to do with them yeh the block TVshow got me in also how many kitchen companys tell you to wait 3 weeks after your kitchen done till the bench top goes on they went straight on on the Block

Get an answer from our members

Other Kitchen Renovators

See all Kitchen Renovators

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.